We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a word: unsuitable !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Phulin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phulin Resort
Ranked #128 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In a word: unsuitable !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

On the advice of a travel agent, we booked here. There is no dollar value that would make this a reasonable lodging. The rooms (we tried two before leaving - at our expense - and going elsewhere before spending even one night) are musty and mildewy. No matter how busy your day, you still have to spend the night, and the smell was miserable.

On an additional note, though we had booked a "Deluxe" room with double bed, they only had a room with two singles available. But they were willing to push the two singles together to make the double, at the Deluxe room charge. We were changed to a Deluxe room, which opens to the pool, but the smell was no better than our first room.

Room Tip: Other hotels, at comparable cost, are across from the beach. This is up a small side street a block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zes-Tril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Zes-Tril,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the
issues that you have encountered during your stay.

We assure that we have communicated all issues with
our team so improvement can be done.

We hope you could give us the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    39
    22
    44
See reviews for
39
91
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We've visited the hotel from 5 to 19 of April 2011. Phulin Resort is well situated, on Patak Road 10 minutes from Karon beach. Lots of small cafes on the road to the beach. Also there's a small temple 50 meters away from hotel.

We got a Studio number 2403 with 2 rooms, kitchen and bathroom (including shower and bath). The room was pretty clean but a little bit darker then we expected. No balcony. There was also a freezer, safety box and a teapot. From time to time we got online, Wi-Fi had costed us about 100 bahts for an hour.

We've heared a lot about burglary incidents in this hotel. But for couple of times we forgot to lock the safety box. When we get back, nothing was missing. So i believe it's the question of luck.

The service was good. Towels and beds were always clean and tidy. Were leaving 20 baht a day of tips.

The area around the hotel is very green but small. The pool is okay but a little shallow.

Breakfast was quite good but not much various. The same food goes for every day. But you can easily find a lot of good thai and european food on the way to the beach by Patak Road, so it's okay.

Karon beach is a true miracle, it's gorgeous. The sand and the Andaman (Burma) sea gives a tremendous feeling of relaxation and peace.

Don't stay in Phulin Resort for too long and you will be satisfied by everything. Have a nice vacation!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Serge_Rush,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are glad that our team members and the service had made your stay a good one.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, in, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

the hotel is tucked away in a corner road quite some distance away from the local attraction of karon beach abt a 15 minutes walk, patong beach is abt 10 kms away on a 20 mins ride on a tuk tuk. but the tuk tuk guys ask for abt 250 bath for one way to patong so its better to pay up soimething extra and stay near patong beach unless you are travelling with family in which case you could stay on one of the better resorts at the karon beach itself. also someone stold abt a 100 SGD from one of my bags at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAdapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear TrippieDvisor,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
It is very unfortunate that you had this incident with us.
We deeply apologize for the experience that you had
we have taken all issues seriously and has provided
all measures for this not to happen again.

We hope you could give us a chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karon hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at the Phulin in January for 11 nights with a 100% prepaid and very pricey tour package, so when we got to the hotel and saw what it actually looked like, we had no choice but to stay there. The moment we walked into our studio-room, we felt not only shock and disgust, but also cheated by our travel-agent, and by the hotel's pics - it was NOTHING like it was advertised to us by both parties. So without any lyrical preludes, I'll just go through all the things that made our stay disappointing and uncomfotable.
1) ROOMS - as I said we had originally booked a studio, thinking that it would have more space and comfort. In reality we were able to stay there for only 1 night, because it was simply terrible in all respects: it had a old, stale smell of a space unused for a while + there was a definite plumbing stink about it. The already small rooms, felt even more claustrophobic because of really LOW ceilings, there was no balcony, definitely no view - another building of the hotel was a mere 2-3 meters away from our bedroom window, horrible sound isolation - we could hear water moving in the pipes, our neighbors flushing their toilet, their speaking. BOTH SINKS DID NOT WORK - the bathroom one immediately backed up and flooded the floor. The bathtub still had past visitors' hair on it, the shower looked unclean. The utensils that the hotel provided were not washed well - there werу definite stains of coffee or whatnot. We complained and after we'd been given a choice of another studio or a deluxe room, we chose the deluxe.
Ironically, though it costed less, the room was better - bigger, brighter, had a balcony with a pool-view , the same size kichenette with a microwave, a nice fridge and a toaster. Definitely better, but this room still sported the same badly painted cracked floors, an old cracked and unclean bathtub, so we always took showers with our flip-flops on.
2) BEDS &SHEETS&SLEEP: our bed was hardly queen-size, the mattress was NOT comfortable - we had backaches like an older couple. Sheets were dated, in their prime they were probably white, had holes in them, and what was worse the sheets were almost always damp. Now, I understand that Thailand has high humidity, but we had stayed at Marina Phuket, and there was never this problem. Also, there were these wind chimes by the pool - a part of the Thai decor - when windy, even a sturdy sleeper will have a problem tuning the constant ringing out.
3) LOCATION - about a 15-minute walk through town to the beach, unless you are comfortable to cut through Movenpick grounds and guards.
4) No TERRITORY - this hotel is located on the road, there is no place to lounge: you have to go outside to find a place to relax other than your room.
5) SMELL - as you walk through the hotel there is always a smell of plumbing mixed with garbage fumes. This smell is omnipresent - we felt it in our bathroom regularly.
6) POOL - small, not nearly enough loungers, water really really cold! Towels were old faded.
7) Room Cleaning - almost satisfactory, but the floor was never washed, we had the misfortune to look under the bed - I dropped my tiger balm - it looked like it was never swept - dust-bunnies, dried insects...
8) INTERNET - not free and very slow!!! you have to buy a card at reception (100 baht for 70 minutes, 200 baht for 150 minutes).
9) STAFF - friendly, but only 3 of the people speak English.
10) BREAKFAST - artificial juices, variety is not bad, though not all edible. Scrambled eggs and fruit are good though. A fair number of flies present at all times.
11) RECOMMEND - for a good price-quality ratio check out "Red Onion" - they 1/2 portions, which are excellent for lunch. "Pappaya" - a little more expensive, but very good food, and friendly English-speaking staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trini69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Trini69,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are really sad that you had this situation during your stay.
Please accept our apologies for all that has happened.

We are confident to that we have already addressed all the issues
that was raised and improvements has been done in all areas
of the resort.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort so you could see the changes that we have done.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with the inlaws for 8 days a had a great time. Ok so the location is 15 mins away from the main strip but we really enjoyed out nightly strolls to the main strip. The staff were very friendly and tried very hard to speak English the fact that they do not speak English very well did not seem a big deal to me as if they travelled to our countries of origin would we be able to have hotel staff that can speak Thai. Our room was on the ground floor very clean and serviced every day when we first got there the room did smell musty but this soon passed after having the doors open. Didn't notice the temperature of the hot water as I live in a tropical climate and we are accustomed to showering in very Luke warm water.

Over all we had a very pleasant stay had everything we needed I will come back here to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ianrosh,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you had a great stay with us.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We really look forward to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

The hotel was really nice and as we were on a budget was brilliant value!We had the basic room which had beds, bathroom, safe (free), wardrobe, desk and fridge (with complimentary water each day!) The room also had free air con which is always a plus. Our room had a window but no view....
The pool was lovely, always clean but not many sun loungers. There is a cafe which sells food and drink all day and there is a 7/11 down the road. The main resort of Karon is about a 10 min walk away where you will find cafes, the beach, shops etc. Make sure you go and eat at the 'Red Onion'-lovely food and great prices!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelqueen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Travelqueen83,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are happy that you had a really nice stay with us.
We will pass all your message to our team members
so they would know we have served you well.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We've stayed in this hotel for 10 nights in April 2010. Being not very exacting travellers we like this place. The distance from the hotel to the beach is nearly 800 meters and it is located quite within Karon. We've been on Phuket in April and it was really HOT outside (+37 C), so we haven't even thought about walking ^)) But we've rented motobike and had no problems with transportation.
We've stayed at Deluxe room - it was big, bright and clean, with microwave, kettle, toaster, small fridge. There is also a balcony with pool view. Air-conditioner of course (it was a bit noisy)!
Be ready to meet there a lot of russian tourists :)
Breakfast buffet is ok for 2+ star hotel. Not various, but always tasty (exept juice).
The staff is friendly and heplful, with good english.
I agree with another reviews - the main problem in the Phulin Resort is water in shower. It is either hot or cold.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussianGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear RussianGirl78,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you find our resort a nice place to stay.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Rattana Beach Hotel
Rattana Beach Hotel
#101 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karon View Resort
Karon View Resort
#125 of 132 in Karon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#97 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
1.1 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#68 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phulin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulin Resort

Property: Phulin Resort
Address: 10/2 Patak 18, Patak Road | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phulin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phulin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulin Hotel Karon
Phulin Resort Karon
Phulin Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing