We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phulin Resort
Nearby Hotels
$106
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
$145
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyond Resort Karon(Karon)(Great Value!)
$167
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$255
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
64
75
44
28
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
75
44
28
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaron beachhot waterbasic hotelminute walkstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 262 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at the Phulin in January for 11 nights with a 100% prepaid and very pricey tour package, so when we got to the hotel and saw what it actually looked like, we had no choice but to stay there. The moment we walked into our studio-room, we felt not only shock and disgust, but also cheated by our travel-agent, and by the hotel's pics - it was NOTHING like it was advertised to us by both parties. So without any lyrical preludes, I'll just go through all the things that made our stay disappointing and uncomfotable.
1) ROOMS - as I said we had originally booked a studio, thinking that it would have more space and comfort. In reality we were able to stay there for only 1 night, because it was simply terrible in all respects: it had a old, stale smell of a space unused for a while + there was a definite plumbing stink about it. The already small rooms, felt even more claustrophobic because of really LOW ceilings, there was no balcony, definitely no view - another building of the hotel was a mere 2-3 meters away from our bedroom window, horrible sound isolation - we could hear water moving in the pipes, our neighbors flushing their toilet, their speaking. BOTH SINKS DID NOT WORK - the bathroom one immediately backed up and flooded the floor. The bathtub still had past visitors' hair on it, the shower looked unclean. The utensils that the hotel provided were not washed well - there werу definite stains of coffee or whatnot. We complained and after we'd been given a choice of another studio or a deluxe room, we chose the deluxe.
Ironically, though it costed less, the room was better - bigger, brighter, had a balcony with a pool-view , the same size kichenette with a microwave, a nice fridge and a toaster. Definitely better, but this room still sported the same badly painted cracked floors, an old cracked and unclean bathtub, so we always took showers with our flip-flops on.
2) BEDS &SHEETS&SLEEP: our bed was hardly queen-size, the mattress was NOT comfortable - we had backaches like an older couple. Sheets were dated, in their prime they were probably white, had holes in them, and what was worse the sheets were almost always damp. Now, I understand that Thailand has high humidity, but we had stayed at Marina Phuket, and there was never this problem. Also, there were these wind chimes by the pool - a part of the Thai decor - when windy, even a sturdy sleeper will have a problem tuning the constant ringing out.
3) LOCATION - about a 15-minute walk through town to the beach, unless you are comfortable to cut through Movenpick grounds and guards.
4) No TERRITORY - this hotel is located on the road, there is no place to lounge: you have to go outside to find a place to relax other than your room.
5) SMELL - as you walk through the hotel there is always a smell of plumbing mixed with garbage fumes. This smell is omnipresent - we felt it in our bathroom regularly.
6) POOL - small, not nearly enough loungers, water really really cold! Towels were old faded.
7) Room Cleaning - almost satisfactory, but the floor was never washed, we had the misfortune to look under the bed - I dropped my tiger balm - it looked like it was never swept - dust-bunnies, dried insects...
8) INTERNET - not free and very slow!!! you have to buy a card at reception (100 baht for 70 minutes, 200 baht for 150 minutes).
9) STAFF - friendly, but only 3 of the people speak English.
10) BREAKFAST - artificial juices, variety is not bad, though not all edible. Scrambled eggs and fruit are good though. A fair number of flies present at all times.
11) RECOMMEND - for a good price-quality ratio check out "Red Onion" - they 1/2 portions, which are excellent for lunch. "Pappaya" - a little more expensive, but very good food, and friendly English-speaking staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trini69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Trini69,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are really sad that you had this situation during your stay.
Please accept our apologies for all that has happened.

We are confident to that we have already addressed all the issues
that was raised and improvements has been done in all areas
of the resort.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort so you could see the changes that we have done.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with the inlaws for 8 days a had a great time. Ok so the location is 15 mins away from the main strip but we really enjoyed out nightly strolls to the main strip. The staff were very friendly and tried very hard to speak English the fact that they do not speak English very well did not seem a big deal to me as if they travelled to our countries of origin would we be able to have hotel staff that can speak Thai. Our room was on the ground floor very clean and serviced every day when we first got there the room did smell musty but this soon passed after having the doors open. Didn't notice the temperature of the hot water as I live in a tropical climate and we are accustomed to showering in very Luke warm water.

Over all we had a very pleasant stay had everything we needed I will come back here to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Ianrosh,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you had a great stay with us.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We really look forward to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The hotel was really nice and as we were on a budget was brilliant value!We had the basic room which had beds, bathroom, safe (free), wardrobe, desk and fridge (with complimentary water each day!) The room also had free air con which is always a plus. Our room had a window but no view....
The pool was lovely, always clean but not many sun loungers. There is a cafe which sells food and drink all day and there is a 7/11 down the road. The main resort of Karon is about a 10 min walk away where you will find cafes, the beach, shops etc. Make sure you go and eat at the 'Red Onion'-lovely food and great prices!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelqueen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Travelqueen83,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are happy that you had a really nice stay with us.
We will pass all your message to our team members
so they would know we have served you well.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We've stayed in this hotel for 10 nights in April 2010. Being not very exacting travellers we like this place. The distance from the hotel to the beach is nearly 800 meters and it is located quite within Karon. We've been on Phuket in April and it was really HOT outside (+37 C), so we haven't even thought about walking ^)) But we've rented motobike and had no problems with transportation.
We've stayed at Deluxe room - it was big, bright and clean, with microwave, kettle, toaster, small fridge. There is also a balcony with pool view. Air-conditioner of course (it was a bit noisy)!
Be ready to meet there a lot of russian tourists :)
Breakfast buffet is ok for 2+ star hotel. Not various, but always tasty (exept juice).
The staff is friendly and heplful, with good english.
I agree with another reviews - the main problem in the Phulin Resort is water in shower. It is either hot or cold.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussianGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear RussianGirl78,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you find our resort a nice place to stay.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 13, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews