We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Access Resort & Villas
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Access Paradise!”
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We stayed at the Access Resort during October (end of the low season, so bargain prices) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The manager, having led us to the wrong area and then to our room which hadn’t been made up yet was extremely apologetic and upgraded us to a Blue Wing room even though we assured him it was "mai pen rai" (no worries!).

Don’t know what our original room would have been like but the one we had was beautiful. Nicely appointed, airy, comfortable and clean. Bed was firm which suits me fine. Loved being able to walk out onto our private deck and straight into the pool or sit on the deckchairs and relax. Our wing of the resort was virtually empty for the 8 days we stayed there so lovely and quiet.

Buffet breakfast every morning was enjoyable with plenty of choice and we also had room service delivered by boat and a delicious lunch special in the main area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we liked chatting to them on our way in and out. The resort is not on the beach but set back from the main road so it’s quiet and relaxed, if you want buzz and nightlife – stay in Patong Beach.

We like walking so were happy to stroll down to Karon Beach (15 minutes) and surrounds every day. We also like to see wildlife so spotting geckos, frogs and lizards in the grounds was nice for us.

Would love to come back and stay again.

  • Liked — Pool access, peace and quiet, staff, room
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    178
    58
    29
    19
See reviews for
85
275
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent who had personally stayed here. We were not disappointed.

If you don't have hotel transfers arranged I would recommend that you have the address of the hotel handy to give to your taxi driver just in case he's not sure where to go. We got a taxi (mini 4WD) to the hotel for 800 Baht (about $30) which is heaps cheaper than pre-paying for transfers. Organise with the driver to take you back to the airport when you are leaving and get his number to call him the day before to confirm. Once again, heaps chepaer as the hotel quoted us 2000 Baht ($85).

After a 45 minute trip from the airport we were greeted with a cool drink and refresher towels. Check-in was very smooth. We had booked for 5 nights in the Blue Wing. We arrived at our room and were overwhelmed by how lovely it was, so lovely in fact, that we felt compelled to take photos ! (see attached)

The hotel facilities were good and the pool was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was great with a selection of both Western and Thai food. Eggs and omlettes made to order, heaps of fruit and fresh juices. Coffee wasn't that great but we found that this was commom at most hotels throughout Thailand. If you are that desperate, you can get instant Moccona or Nescafe at the Seven-Eleven right outside the door to the hotel ! We didn't use the Spa so we are unable to comment. We did have a pizza at the pool bar and also ordered room service (I can highly recommend the Beef Burger). The beds were quite hard but once again, this is common throughout Thailand. I tried to get an iron and ironing board for my room however it is against hotel policy to provide this. They did offer to iron our clothes for a small charge but we decided it really wasn't that importannt and ventured out in creased clothes ! After an hour the humidity smoothed out any wrinkles anyway.

It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach and about 10 minutes to the heart of Karon. We would highly recommend eating at 'The Little Mermaid' - really good food and really cheap ! The four of us ate there (entree, main and a drink for about 500 Baht ($21). Patong is about 10 minutes in a Tuk-Tuk and cost us between 250-300 Baht ($10-12) depending how hard you wanted to bargain.

We plan on going back with our children next year, so I asked to see rooms in the Green Wing which are cheaper. They are just a little bit smaller but equally as nice so we plan on booking these cheaper rooms on our next visit. I also had a look at the Deluxe family rooms (1 queen bed and 2 x single beds) which are good if you want to share with your kids and the Pool Villa Suites which are totally enclosed and private (but expensive).

Overall our stay was fantastic and staff were friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — The facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank justlisa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

To start, here are the positives of this property:
Breakfast buffet had a good variety and restaurant staff were always very pleasant and made an effort to be friendly.
The concept of having your room right by the pool was nice when you were tired of being hassled on the beach and just wanted to relax. Rooms in the newer sections were ok. Rooms were clean, with a mini-fridge and we were able to get wireless access no problem.

Now, the negatives: Beds were very uncomfortable. The mattresses were hard as rock, as a previous reviewer has mentioned. We are not talking firm mattresses, but hard like bales of tightly packed straw and not conducive to a good night's sleep.

Beach is not 5 minutes away - rather a 20 minute walk. We didn't mind walking, but it really isn't very close.

Our biggest problem was with the hotel reception. They need a refresher course in customer service to learn how to make a customer happy. It all started when we had to make some changes with our booking. I booked online, with what I thought was the resort webpage. We ended up having to change travel plans to Phuket, so we arrived 3 days earlier. We wanted to alter our booking to leave 2 days earlier, and this caused all sorts of headaches. Reception said this would not be possible. We could leave 2 days earlier, but we would have to pay for the full amount. They did not acknowledge that we booked to stay 3 days earlier. In total, we were staying 8 nights in the low season and I had not anticipated having such incredible difficulty in changing our booking. The resort was virtually half empty, so I can't figure out what the problem was. On top of that, with the earlier arrival, we were actually staying ONE night extra than our original booking, so the hotel was making more money than they originally planned for. It was not like we cancelled altogether - but after having to escalate the problem to the manager, we certainly didn't feel like we were dealing with a four-star organisation. The reception staff didn't seem to understand the nature of what we wanted and kept insisting that we could not change our booking. We had to pay and we could not check out earlier. Imagine our surprise when we received a letter for check-out after 3 nights! This was the 'earlier' arrival booking and the folks at reception had not figured out that we were the same people who were staying on for another 5 days- booked under the same name, but the dates were different. It started to become a bit of a circus and was getting very irritating. I requested to speak to the manager, who was in a meeting. Then reception called to apologise for initiating our checkout, which was fine - but they still wouldn't let us change our original booking, after just telling us we were checking out. ??? I asked to speak to the manager again, and finally he called me back. I explained that there was definitely some confusion - and all we really wanted was to stay a total of 8 nights - I mentioned the nights - and could we please sort that out. It was then that I found out that the site I booked on was not actually the hotel's website, but a separate booking company. The manager suggested I go to the website to change the booking. I was perplexed by the whole complicated process and could not understand why it was so difficult to change the days of our booking!! To his credit, the manager organised the change without us having to go back to the resort's webpage to figure it all out. All this back and forth took 3 days. We did appreciate the manager's efforts to sort this out, but I still don't understand WHY it was so complicated.

In the end, we spent approximately $2900 at this resort for our stay. One night we accidentally broke a wine glass - and upon our final checkout, we were charged $4 for the glass. My travel companions looked at the final bill and questioned our favourite receptionists about it - but they did not react, or even offer a reply.
Fair enough, we broke a glass, but it seems very petty to charge your customers for it. That same morning someone broke an egg cup during breakfast. I wonder if the broken egg cup was put on their bill as well?

In a separate instance, the safe in my room had not been left open by the previous occupants. Reception said they would be by the following day to fix. This took 3 days to be fixed.
Another request for some additional toiletries in the bathroom took 2 days to be fulfilled. Again, the resort was no where near full - but there just was little interest in making us happy.

The morning of our departure, as we waited for a taxi to the airport, reception asked us to wait 5 minutes while they checked our room's mini-bar. Ten minutes later they kept us waiting - and didn't really bother to say, thanks, you can go now. We asked if everything was alright and we were allowed to go, and they said ok.

Yep, that's not really the best experience we' ve ever had at a hotel. There is such a huge selection of similarly priced accommodation in Karon that I would urge tourists to try to stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank glossymatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Trying to arrange accomodation for our honeymoon was a nightmare. All these bad reviews. Even Access had a few but I thought I'd bite the bullett and go for it anyway.
Wow was I surprised! This hotel was sensational! The staff very friendly and accomodating and the rooms clean the the pool.. well.. you'd have to see it to believe it!
You think the photo's look great? It looks even better in real life!
We stayed for 9 nights and are hoping to return as soon as we can.
Karon beach is a wonderful place. Away from the hustle and bustle of Patong but still close enough (10 mins) if you still want that party time, but honostly for us 2 nights was quite enough.
There are many restaurants and bars in Karon only 7 min walk from the hotel, a beautiful temple and wonderful helpful locals.
Kata beach is really close too and there is heaps or bars and restaurants there too.
If you go stay at the Access I am sure you'd be just as wrapped as we are with our stay.
100points Access.. see you again soon!

  • Liked — Access from the bedroom directly onto the pool then a quick swim to the pool bar!
  • Disliked — The television.. but if your watching TV your waiting looking at Thailand!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultrablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We stayed at the Access Resort over Easter and were very impressed with the hotel. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. It takes just under 10 minutes to walk into town and the beach, but slightly quicker if you cut through Movenpick resort, which I would recommend as it is like a rainforest.

The Bathroom has a separate bath and shower, the shower being next to a window with a small fernery which gives a nice feel. There is a window between the bathroom and bedroom with a wooden blind.

There were 2 complementary bottles of water per day and the mini bar was stocked well and regularly- prices not too bad as well. There was also nice robes and flip flops available for use during the stay.

The bed was huge but rock hard (better than too soft in my opinion!), nice furnishing with a window seat overlooking the terrace/pool. The terrace was small, but big enough to fit 2 wooden loungers and a small table. The pool was accessed via the terrace and each room had 2 seats in the pool. Some rooms are more private than others, but there are sufficient window coverings to ensure privacy.

Room service comes in a Thai boat rowed by the staff!! Great cocktails and drinks in the pool bars (drinks in pineapples and coconuts).

We also did a cooking class, which we all enjoyed thoroughly. I think we had a total of 10 staff between the 4 of us to help and everyone was extremely cheerful and helpful. We made Green Chicken Curry, Tom Yum Soup and a spicy salad. An explanation of the ingredients and demos were given and we each had our own work station. The food we made was fantastic- best green curry ever! You also get a cook book and certificate afterwards. If you do the cooking class, don't bother eating lunch because there is so much food!

All in all, I would definitely stay there again and recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Liked — The pool access, cocktails and cooking classes
  • Disliked — No direct beach access
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twisty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2008

From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel special.. The breakfasts were good, service was excellent. The pool is beautiful as was the wetbar!!! Happy hour 30% off drinks!!! Definately will go back there!!

  • Liked — Pool Access
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank avago63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayend at this hotel for ten days.
Having Access to the pool from our room was good. The breakfast was fine, the staff were nice... full stop.

The bed was hard and we complained twice only to get extra blankets put on the base. We both like a firm bed but this we think was the base of an ensemble because it lacked springs.
The wooden bed base was bigger than the mattress and this caused us to bang our legs every time we got in and out of bed .

The wooden balcony chairs were very, very uncomfortable and hard to get in and out off.

They charged us 100 Baht for a broken cheap water glass, they also charge for extra coffee in the room.

It took 20 minutes to walk to the beach because the shuttle bus was cancelled when we were there for some reason.

The bathroom was ok but the shower was very high and the water flow poor. There was a large glass sliding window from the bathroom to the bedroom and this took away ones privacy.

There were quite a few insects and spiders that came into our room of a night time.

Pity about this hotel because it was a good setting.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank lynAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 133 in Karon
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.5 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#31 of 133 in Karon
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Access Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Access Resort & Villas

Property: Access Resort & Villas
Address: 459 / 2 - 3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#26 Spa Hotel in Karon
#33 Family Hotel in Karon
#38 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#45 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Access Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel offering direct pool access from all rooms, where room services serve by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Access Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Access Resort And Villas
Access Resort & Villas Hotel Karon
Access Hotel Karon
The Access Hotel
Access Resort & Villas Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing