We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise in the middle of Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Access Resort & Villas
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little paradise in the middle of Phuket”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived here for three nights as we travelled around Thailand. We arrived in Phuket and got a taxi to Karon Beach. On the whole we weren't really keen on the area. The beach was ok but it was a little too touristy for us. The hotel however was beautiful. It's only a 10 minute walk from the coast and when you arrive you wouldn't think the hotel was going to be nice at all. You walk a minute or two off the road and when you get to the reception you see it for what it is. It's total paradise. The reception area is really nice, the staff are very helpful. We were shown to our room and this was also gorgeous! Very spacious, clean and elegant. The window to the bathroom was a bit of a gimmick but nonetheless lovely. We closed the blind. You walk out to the pool area straight from your terrace. We noticed people complained that the pool area was a little on the sad side needing a lick of paint. To be honest there was nothing wrong with it at all, yes it was a little worn in places but it didn't deter from the fact it was a little oasis. We loved it. The room service is delivered by boat which is a nice touch. The prices were very reasonable and the food was lovely. I went into the spa to look at the prices and again they were reasonable though I didn't use the services it all looked lovely. The pool bar was great. We really liked this hotel and though we wouldn't visit Phuket again we would certainly recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coons1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Khun Coons1974,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Refer to your comments, we've well received and will approve for our best service in the future.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    178
    58
    29
    19
See reviews for
85
275
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Access Resort for 8 nights in April. We stayed in the Blue Wing. Our room was great. Very clean. The direct access to the pool from our patio was fantastic! Room service delivered to your room by gondola was awesome. Breakfast was very good - great variety. The resort staff were very friendly and helpful. The resort is only a 15 minute walk to Karon Beach. Overall, we were very happy with our stay. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Blue Wing rooms are apparently slightly bigger than rooms in the Green Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumpig69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Khun Rumpig69,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed 7 nights in April 2014. We stayed in a Blue wing room and enjoyed our stay immensely. The breakfast was good enough options to keep us happy. The staff very friendly room clean and pool excellent. We made sure we had one lot of room service to experience the delivery by boat.

Highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: Blue wing slightly larger with bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBarnes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Khun SteveBarnes58,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed 9 nights in a Blue Wing Room.
What we enjoyed:
-breakfast had enough options to keep everyone happy and changed daily
-cocktails well priced at 180baht
-well maintained grounds
-relaxing winding pools that were rarely occupied
-clean and spacious rooms with day bed
-quiet resort with no screaming children
-spa was very good, lady friendly and reasonably cheap (compared to Aust)
-housekeeping was good
-some staff (particularly waiters) were very good

What could be improved:
-shower design is old and needs an update (not a fan of shower curtains either)
-bath also tired and stained
-food could be hotter at breakfast
-restaurant has average food
-some staff on reception werent overly friendly
-small pool tiles need replacing
-balcony roof had a hole so couldn't use it when raining

Overall a great option for people looking for a quiet getaway (which we were). About a 10 minute stroll to the main Beach and restaurants but smaller places along the way. Massage place at the front (On-Lee) was great!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Khun AliKeane,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Refer to your comments, we've well received and will approve for our best service in the future.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is really a hidden gem! Every room has pool acess and it is just a great place to stay. Everything was just lovley.. The food the service the room! We can't wait to go back next year. It's about a ten minute walk to beach and there are lots are lots of places to eat and drink along the way. It's also about the same distance walk to kata beach too so its perfect. I can't fault it. The staff just so nice and loved talking and playing with my 18 month old. Best hotel stay we have ever had in karon and we go evey year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Khun Francesmansfield,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Hotel has a taxi counter inside the lobby area, very close to check-in counter, right from check-in to every single time you cross the passage to go out or come in back to the hotel, there are taxi drivers standing on your head, you don't request you but they order you with clear WARNING THAT YOU CAN ONLY BOOK TAXI FROM THEM TO TRAVEL AROUND KARON BEACH AND PHUKET.

They are exceptionally rude and they bother you every single time, as a matter of fact you cannot have a conversation with the hotel staff, because they always all around the lobby area.

I wanted a private taxi to Krabi, and there was this man who was one of the taxi driver, once he came to know, he used to stop me every time i go and come to inform me that i can only book taxi from him or else it won't be good for me, i informed hotel staff and the manager also but they said they cannot do much about it. They said its the Taxi Mafia, which is not in there hand.

I mean how they can be so daring to bother a guest in hotel lobby? every time you go and come and you are bother by them.

I had to check out a day before, despite the fact that i was already paid for 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yatri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Khun Samji9,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

We've well received for your comments and would like to take this opportunity to clarify as following details;

1. You booked the hotel via Online Travel agent under Non-refundable policy but you had early departure by your own reason and the hotel had right to charge full amount of your stay as non-refundable policy of your booking, on your departure date you'd informed my team that you want to stay another hotel with other area that far away from Karon Beach.

2. Please be informed that the hotel provided transfer from hotel to everywhere by outsource company and we do make sure that every taxi driver must not disturb the guest by asking to use their car or taxi if the guest had not requested by themselves but for your case you had request to ask the taxi driver go to somewhere in Phuket and the price had not match you satisfy that why you start to complaint and request taxi from outside instead. So the hotel will assure that we do provide the best service for transfer in and out from and to our hotel to somewhere under the guest pleasure as our main point.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 by complete accident, as our travel agent had originally booked us into another resort which turned out to be 'unavailable'. We really loved Access, the rooms were nice and the staff were great. Having pool access from the room and a swim up bar was perfect for a relaxing holiday! We had a room quite close to the restaurant but it wasn't noisy at all, we had a really great stay. Doors to the rooms all seal so you don't have to worry about critters (e.g. lizards!) getting in to your room. Unfortunately the bed was very hard and after a week I wasn't really sleeping that well. Air con works fantastically which you need when it's 33 degrees outside. It is about a 20 minute walk (slowly, weaving in and out of scooters) to the beach which isn't ideal, but you get to see a lot on the way in. Restaurant is nice, cocktails are even nicer! Cheaper to get cocktails in town for sure, but how can you argue with a swim up bar!? Breakfast is great too, a range of pastries, fruit, cereals and waffles/pancakes/french toast etc and noodles and stuff if you prefer. Definitely recommend Access Karon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hospogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Khun Hospogirl,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

We've well received for your comments and will improve our service do better in the future. But for the point of your comments about your bed are hard and may not comfortable during your stay, normally the hotel had the soft matress for top up on the bed to make bed softer and we didn't had record for this comments during your stay.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 133 in Karon
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.4 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#29 of 133 in Karon
1,791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Access Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Access Resort & Villas

Property: Access Resort & Villas
Address: 459 / 2 - 3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#26 Spa Hotel in Karon
#33 Family Hotel in Karon
#39 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#45 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Access Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel offering direct pool access from all rooms, where room services serve by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Access Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Access Resort And Villas
Access Resort & Villas Hotel Karon
Access Hotel Karon
The Access Hotel
Access Resort & Villas Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing