We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool Exellent, Food Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Access Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Access Resort & Villas
Ranked #49 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Matkoilla
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pool Exellent, Food Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend spent 2 weeks in this hotel. The pool was really nice, during hot weather it was total relief to jump in water to cool down, and that there was no children to disturb you most of the time. The room service worked excellent and the food orders to room were tasty, but at the breakfast buffet the food was pretty bad, all the food stayed warmed up for hours if you didnt come to eat it at 6.30am, so if you wanted your stomach to ache, go eat at 9.30am.

If you have problems with your back i do not recommend this hotel, the beds were really hard to sleep on. Almost like stone floor before u get used to it. Mosquito net was available on the bed but was not that useful as it was hard to keep on (safetypins etc. would have been useful), lots and lots of ants in the room and a gekko (which kept the mosquitos away), but those didnt do harm if you didnt leave anything eatable on the tables.

And about the cleaners, not once but twice they left our door open after cleaning the room so be careful with that if you stay at this hotel. The hotel staff didnt know much english, if you needed to know something else than "taxi" or "give me my key" they didnt understand. There were 1 or 2 servicers that knew bit more language.
And from this we come to worst part of the hotel: we stayed at this hotel during a tsunami warning on 11.4.2012. We were at the hotelroom as the tsunami warnings came on, one of the cleaners came to knock our door and asked "Is everything ok?" (we had some issues with cleaners earlier so we thought that it was somekind of routine check that no things were missing or doors open etc.) So we said "yes, everything's ok" and they closed the door. After few hours we got a text message from our home country that there is a tsunami warning going on, and we didnt know about it. We ran to the service desk to ask about "whats going on?" they said: "nothing, just stay in the room for another half hour"... Of course at this point no way we went back to hotel room but on the hills next to the hotel where everyone else from the hotel already waited..

After the whole episode was over we counted that the alarm of the tsunami reached us AFTER the first wave would have stricken the coast... You can all choose what to think about the staff in the hotel as we were not warned at all for the tsunami which (thank god) didnt come as hard as 2004...

Altho all this bad feedback i give, the hotel was nice. The rooms were nicely decorated, the pool was always clean and also the streets of the resort. Wetbar made excellent drinks and the staff was mostly kind to customers. The hotel itself was far away from the beach but if you like to shop and eat good; best places were on the way to the beach, more near the hotel!

Room Tip: Around the main pool area you have straight access to the wetbar and the "jacuzzi". No nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    167
    55
    29
    19
See reviews for
83
258
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

we stayed here for 9 nights, with our 1.5 year old son. We booked a blue wing room with a king size bed, ended up with 2 twins put together and nothing in the middle so it still felt like 2 seperate beds. We hoped to sit out in the balcony at night whilst our son slept but we realised after the first night after mosquitos had fested on us this was not possible, which was a shame, but everywhere on the resort was full of mosquitos one eveing I went to the 711 closeby and returned with 6 different bites on my feet (obviously didnt put the replellant on properly).

I wouldbt say that it was a child friendly place, the pool access is a bit of a hazard as we had steps leading to the pool which our son wanted to go up and down constantly causing him to slip on the steps and falling on his head and the bridges seemed dangerous when walking on them the sides were not tall enough.

We have been travelling for 3 months and we have never come across such miserable fellow guests a huge percantage of them were russians! one rude russain lady also had a go at me for sitting at her pool side seat, even when she was no where in sight! just because she left her half drunk drink there and decided to go away and come back! so abrupt and rude!!! our son usually makes some people smile but we felt as though no one liked children here!! lighten up people its a HOLIDAY no one forced you to come here !!!!

Anyway on a good note the breakfast is lush with lovely ripe fruit!

The location is a bit out of the way we hired a motorbike which was ideal for us and saved us getting ripped off by taxi drivers.

Room Tip: we were in room 242 which was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeps79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Accommodation were two delux rooms twin share. I have never stayed in a 4* double room where the beds were single! I have travelled many times and this would be a 2* maximum. foI have also had my own double bed in a twin share and photos of resort were misleading. Suppose to be 150 metres to beach and walking distane to markets shops etc. 150 meters if you cut through another resort and on the 3rd attempt was told by the guards would get into a lot of trouble if did it again - beach about 2 kms away otherwise! Shots was a corner stoore, a massage place and a tailor ohterwaise again about 2 - 3 kms away and $15 - $25 tutt tutt or cab whoever wanted to charge the most! I have a back history I mad known and said I could not be far from the services I was looking forward to for my holiday - I couldn't have been further because behind Access Resort and Villas is a huge Mountain full os shrub so obviously we were at the end of their building lin!
Looked beutiful fromoutside with own private pool area which was part of the general pool. The tree dining areas were not self contained and open to mosquitos the entire time. I would suggest a dining area which was enclosed and airconditioned to give guests a pleasant dining experience. Staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The resort is no where near the amenaties it said it was around (including the beach) so it cost you a minumum of 15 - 25 Aust dollars just to get anywhere. And the drivers knew they had the bargaining power because if you refused you were stuck. The resort put on a bus twice a day to take you to Karon Beach but the times were strickly adhered to you went when they said and came back when they said. When you are on holiday who has an Agenda of where and when to go???? I am totally disgusted. I will NEVER RETURN TO THAILAND AGAIN! I took my 3 adult children for a trip of a lifetime - my memories and experience are filled with anger and regret. The worst experience of my life!!!!
This was the one opportunity I had to take my 3 adult children away on a holiday of a lifetime - Thanks Access Resorts and Villas - You made my holiday of a lifetime an absolute nightmare. I hope you are proud. What an absolute rip off and disappointment. I hope you have great difficulty in the future selling your resort packages to poor unsuspecting customers - because you certainly don't come up to expectations according to your website or brochure and you have obviously falsely advertised with your suppliers. What rip offs!!!!!!!! I took a total of 28 phots normally I would take in excess of 200. TOTALLY TOTALLY DISGUSTED AND WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND IT.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights over Feb/Mar. For starters be aware that the location is not beach front (which we where when we booked this resort) and I do agree that beach access is not easy. It is a good 20 minute walk to karon beach which should not be attempted in the heat of the day unless you want a good sweaty detox! The hotel provides a bus service to Karon beach twice a day at 10am & 1pm (I don't think this is a return service). While the location is not beach front it's pretty much in the middle of karon and kata beach areas. For restaurants and night life we really enjoyed both areas. They are quiter and less crazy than the likes of patong while still having lots of things to do at night like shopping and bars. It's also a central location for the whole island making touring around a lot easier as it cuts down travel time.

The hotel taxi prices are displayed on a board at the front of the hotel. I'm sure if you pre-arrange a driver for your holiday it would be a lot cheaper. We found we probably spent more money on taxi's & tuk-tuk's than food and drink!

A tip for taxis: taxi & tuk-tuk drivers know this resort as "Access Pools" if you say you are staying at access resort you tend to get confused looks.

The guests in the resort are generally couples, which makes this a very quite and relaxing resort. We had dinner at the hilton down the road which is a huge resort but very crowded with conferences being held there.

We stayed in a private suite with our own pool. We were 3 friends travelling so one of us slept on a roll-away. In hind-sight the room was pretty small for 3 people & it would have been better having 2 bathrooms and we probably should have opted for a 2 bedroom apartment or at least adjoining rooms - but it proved near on impossible trying to book this without it being extremely costly. The roll-away bed was comfortable but due to the king bed being a 4 poster you couldn't watch tv from the roll-away bed easily. The king bed was very hard but we asked for matress toppers which seemed to solve this problem. The cleaners always did a good job & we didn't have a problem with items going missing & complimentary water bottles were topped up each day.

There is a 7/11 store right out the front of the hotel, convenient for buying water, snacks and alcoholic drinks. There is also a great massage parlour out the front of the hotel called "On-Lee". It's bright pink - you can't miss it. We were here every second day or night (it's open til 2am) getting foot scrubs, massages and nails painted.

The girls on the front desk of the hotel were very helpful and check-in and check-out was quite straight-forward.

Breakfast is not a huge spread (which is why i think they get so many comments about it being same-same) but there's enough hot & cold selection to keep you well fed. They have an omelette station and the hot food changes daily based on a weekly menu - so stay longer than a week and you'll see the monday menu back from last week.

We ordered room service (ours wasn't delivered by boat as we had a private pool suite) only becuase we had to as one of us wasn't well and we stayed in for the day. The room service menu was probably my only complaint. There is hardly anything on the menu and most of the items are not that appealing. We ordered a ham and cheese sandwich and BLT's both were ok BUT we were told to leave the tray outside our room for them to collect later and that's were it stayed for the next 2 days! even after our room had been cleaned twice?

We used the pool bars a couple of times and the cocktails were lovely. A little tip if you are using the bar at happy hours - you get 30% off of drinks but then you need to add back service taxes of 17% and you can only pay with cash (can't charge to the room) - which is a bit inconvenient when you don't have pockets or a bag because - you're in the pool.

It's a good hotel - feels secluded in the midst of crazy phuket. Definately reccomend for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for "Access Pools" when you jump in the taxi or tuk-tuks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Access for 10 nights from the 10th February. We travelled with our 5 month old baby and we found the staff very helpful and accomodating.
Breakfast was lovely with hubby having an omelette each morning and the Chef seeing him come in had it ready for him in minutes of arriving.
Having the baby and a pool at your door was wonderful. In the heat of the day whilst she was having a sleep we could stay in the pool and have full view of her. It was also very convenient not to have to 'pack her up' to go to the pool, which is the case in many other hotels.
The Hotel is a fair distance from the beach but we enjoyed the walk each evening to go for dinner then the walk back helped settle dinner before bed. A tuk tuk each way cost 200 TBH which was about $6AUS.

Mostly, when travelling we used 'Mr Ducky' the taxi driver at the front of the hotel. He is a lovely gentleman, very helpful, has great english and was wonderful helping with the baby getting in and out of his cab. Mr Ducky you rock, you made our trip extra pleasant :D
There is a 711 next door which is really convenient for drinks, beer, snacks etc. Don't have your washing done by the hotel its expensive but walk out the front and there is a lady to the right that does a wonderful job. I think she even ironed my underwear.

Hubby did a couple of dive courses but be careful who you choose to dive with. There are a few dodgy ones around. Also, if they are run by Thai people the language can be a barrier when you are learnig to dive. Hubby went through ScubaCat Dive in Patong and they were awesome. He was taught by Ozzy and irishman with a wonderful sense of humour and a passion for diving and the aquatic environment.

Late one evening we came back from dinner and our air conditioning wasn't working. there was a person at our room fixing it within 5 minutes and they didn't go until it was fixed.

Lessons learnt from our first trip were not to bother with 'Airport Transfers' we paid approximately $80AUS each person from Australia, next time we have Mr Ducky's number we'll be calling him and booking him for our airport transfers for 1000 TBH each way equals $30 each way. Take less clothes and stuff. Travelling with a baby I took everything, next time I'll be taking the basics and buying t-shirts, dresses etc as they are as cheap as chips. Late check out is a must when travelling with a little one. Access were very accomodating to us for this. It is HOT, very HOT so we tended to do our activities either first thing in the morning or in the late afternoon, the middle of the day was spent around the pool and napping.

The only negative was that the beds are sooooo hard. We had pillow toppers added but they didn't make much difference for us.

We are heading back in October, so hubby can do some more dive courses. We'll be staying at Access because for us it worked really well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesigno4
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed 7 days blue wing room. We booked through Agoda got a great price asked for a transfer to be arranged, but unfortunately arrived at Phuket Airport at night and no one there to pick us up! Rang and with the language barrier being an instant problem eventually got told it would take 1 hour for someone to get there and 1000 baht. Ended up on a bus that was dirt cheap. Got there, no apology even though I showed them the paper they were given which specifically asked them to organise. Make sure you confirm the transfers have been organised! No welcome drink was offered, we were clearly flustered and upset, no cool towel, nothing. Our room was lovely, the 4 poster bed was beautiful (be warned, the mattress is very hard) and the room was a decent size. The bathroom was basic, the bathtub a bit old, but clean. The air conditioner is very noisy especially at night, but you have to have it on the heat is stifling. TV good, varied channels. They supply 2 free bottles of water a day. Balcony area leads straight into the pool, very nice, although the deck chairs are so uncomfortable, really need something soft on top. I couldnt lie there. It is funny to have room service delivered in the gondola, that is something you dont see every day! There is a 7 eleven right next door which is handy, also a great massage place right next door as well, all pink, so cheap and amazing massages. Although if you are expecting a gentle one, make sure you ask. She jumped on me and used her elbows!!!! The grounds are lovely, pools are unique, lounge chairs much more comfy. Hardly anyone ever uses the main area, the really need more entertainment. The pool area closes at 6:30pm, it would be nice to be able to hop in a bit later, have a drink around the bar and socialise. Free Wi-fi was fantastic to have. Breakfast included in the price, I would have liked more cereals and less heavy foods that I consider to be lunch or dinner, and a lot of flies around. My worst experience was the fact that people can smoke inside the restaurant, disgusting, should be allowed only outside. Dinner was okay, nothing to brag about and entertainment good for over dinner, but gets boring. They need to rethink a bit. English a big problem, most of the staff in the restaurants/bars have no idea what you are talking about, but always have a smile. A couple of the reception staff come across arrogant and not very helpful and then there were a couple that spoke better english and were always willing to help. I dont expect them to know English, I suggest you make sure you have handy phrases ready. We asked for a late checkout from 12:00pm to 5:00pm and they wanted to charge us 2000 baht. I thought that was robbery and then all of a sudden they said we could only stay till 3:00pm so the room could be cleaned for $1000 baht. When we paid our final amount, they asked us what we did with the ashtray, firstly we dont smoke and secondly there wasnt even one in our room!! Then the 2 girls turned to each other started chatting, didnt bother to say goodbye, hope you had a pleasant trip, come back, anything!!! That was as disappointing as when we arrived. Things we did: BIG BUDDHA a must do free to get in, but cost us 1200 baht from Access return, FANTASEA - we booked through a tourist company, a long drive from Access, ate at the buffett which seats 4000 people, very ordinary buffett, but there is a seafood one you can have instead, the place itself is like a theme park, no big rides though, mainly shops etc, then the main show starts at 9:00pm, some bits boring, I liked the elephants and the acrobatics. ELEPHANT TREK - we went to Amazing Bukit safari, booked directly through them, very scary bumpy track!! not flat ground that I expected, they hit you up for photos, food for elephants etc so be prepared, the baby elephant was amazing, so smart, so cute, loved it. I wouldnt do the trek thru them again though, owners friendly, just didnt like track. SIMON CABARET - loved it!! very entertaining and colourful, not sleezy, kids were there too. We got there 1/2 hour before, paid for VIP seats and got the best view. More expensive to book through organisers. SHOPPING: Loved Jung Ceylon, bit like all the markets, but in comfortable air conditioning. Bartering is tiring, but remember to be friendly and smile and you can usually get a great price. You get really good at it as time goes on. Central festival Phuket - a bit like a main shopping centre here, one big shop just like Myers or DJ's, no room for bartering, more upmarket, some stalls, I probably wouldnt have bothered to go if I knew. Weekend Markets, the night we went got rained out, I was disappointed cause I thought it would be different stuff to what I had seen in the roads, but not really. On the way back, make sure you stop in at the temple, beautiful to see. I though Patong, main street and side streets great to shop at. Heaps to choose from and good bargaining. TOURS - Phi Phi Islands - we went to about 5 islands, fantastic, would do again and highly recommend. Dont be disappointed if Monkey Island doesnt have a lot of monkeys!! I saw more at the Big Buddha!! KARON BEACH - Takes about 10 minutes by car, definently much longer to walk, but a beautiful beach. You pay a couple of dollars for the hire of the beach chairs and umbrellas and we relaxed all day. Water beautiful, apparently can be a bit rippy, there are activities such as parasailing etc available. People selling things to you all day long, pretty funny what they sell, flutes, clothing, you name it they sell it!!! I hope all this has helped, hard to squeeze everything in. It is a bit far from where I think the main action is which is Patong, it cost us 500 baht each time with a taxi to get in there, depends what you want I suppose. There are not really buses and tuk tuks cost more than taxis. It all adds up, I would stay closer to Patong next time, but I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesigno4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sax, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife an I spent a month at this wonderfull hotel between the middle of January 2012 and February 2012. In this fabulous hotel all rooms have access to the pool. The rooms ( blue wing ) are large and luxurious and very well appointed. Tropical plants enhance the peaceful and beautiful surroundings. The staff are friendly and generally very efficient. Breakfast is brilliant with everything you could wish for, perhaps a slightly larger selection of cereals and the availabilty of tomato juice and Lea & Perrins sauce would make it a perfect breakfast. Food and service in the very reasonably priced restaurant is very good. Try the rock lobster, fabulous. This hotel does not have the best location, it is a good 20 minutes walk to the beach or take a taxi at £3.50 each way. If you stay at this hotel you should rent a car or motorbike for the duration of your stay, this gives you easy access to the beach but also lets you explore the wonders and beauty of Phuket. A word of warning the matresses are the firmest I have ever experienced but I slept like a log for the whole holiday. A minor negative, a cold towel and a welcome drink on arrival would have been nice. If you order room service your food is delivered to your terrace by boat, a nice unique touch. If you want luxury, peace and a room with pool access at a very reasonable price, give this hotel a try, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The blue wing rooms are larger and restricted to adults only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#27 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Village Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Access Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Access Resort & Villas

Property: Access Resort & Villas
Address: 459 / 2 - 3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#27 Spa Hotel in Karon
#33 Family Hotel in Karon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#45 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Access Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel offering direct pool access from all rooms, where room services serve by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Access Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Access Resort And Villas
Access Resort & Villas Hotel Karon
Access Hotel Karon
The Access Hotel
Access Resort & Villas Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing