We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Poisoning”
Review of Club Med Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Phuket
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wife and me both got diarrhea / food poisoning after eating at the resort after the 1st day. Called the reception to see if there is any room service.... apparently there is none. No offer of medication or doctor service. Luckily there is a pharmacy down the road, struggled there, get some medicine and struggled back. next 2 days spent recovering... did not eat at the main restaurant anymore.... somehow we cannot take the smell there anymore. Witnessed some hygiene issues in food handling and preparation.

We are frequent travellers to Thailand and ate at all places including road side stalls. Never before did we get stomach upset. So this hygiene thing here must be really serious to affect us.

Rooms are average... with a strong stench of baygon (insecticide).

The plus points are the activities, we did archery and having a go at the trapeze on the 1st day. ... unfortunately we are not well to do any more activities due to the food poisoning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Seebehsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    848
    345
    146
    123
See reviews for
1,713
557
107
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would definitely recommend it! We went there for our honeymoon and what a wonderful experience. The food was great! The activities were fun! Their day tours (bit pricier than on the street) was worth every penny, with a good tour guide as well as a well planned itinerary. I definitely would like to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleenv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not knowing what to expect of my first ever Club Med experience, I must say I was blown away.. From the people to the activities and the meals.. the GOs were a fun bunch and so many of them were so talented.. bartenders, servers, yoga teacher by day and by night, they transform into acrobats and perfomers.. really awesome people! I was stuffed the entire 5 days I was there.. so many activites, so little time..(Muay Thai, Water polo, Archery, golf, board games etc..) I guess the best tip is to strategise and pick up what activites you want to do the night before and plan ahead so you don't miss out on activities like snorkelling (first come first served basis). Food wise, nothing much to comment, most of the dishes were edible and international. Room was cosy, but could do better with the room decor but I figured that I was only in the room for a few hours a day so heck with the decor, a good bed was all I needed. Stay on for the night activites it's really fun. First night I was there, it was limbo rock night... GOs and guests were good spot and participated.. it was hilarious and entertaining.. Tip: There's a good and reasonably priced massage just outside the property. (Green signboard)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A friend treated me to a couple of nights here last November. We also met up with friends and their young family. As this was my first experience of ClubMed it came up to expectations. Staff great and surroundings lovely. Lots to do, esp sports. Great bar area. Access to beach just over road but this wasn't an issue. Buffet food ok, but apparently can be better. Rooms could do with a bit of a freshen up in general. Would definitely go to another ClubMed hotel again.

Room Tip: Near reception- otherwise its a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsforthhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was my 2nd time staying in Club Med Phuket. The first one was in 2010 with two of my friends. What I love about staying in Club Med is of course the GOs and the fun activities they offer to the guests ! Few of them are really awesome, very energetic, friendly, but unfortunately there was no GO ambiance around the bar at 7.15pm, looked so empty ( or maybe the GOs were having dinner in the restaurant ). And what I expected to see was the second show that normally Club Med has after the main show, unfortunately it was just crazy signs and the musicians singing. So it was quite boring after the show. The food wasn't so good, but still a great place I’d love to recommend if you’re planning to bring your family on your holidays. With their all inclusive concept, you can send the kids to Mini Club & Teens Club, the GOs / staff will organize fun activities for your children from sports, flying trapeze, archery, dance, arts and many more.

For more reviews and other budget & travel info feel free to check out : travelagys.blogspot.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rendy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We just returned from a 14 night stay - our first at Club Med and our first trip to Thailand. What can I say, it was amazing and we were so well looked after from the moment we arrived at the airport until the time we left.
The teens club was amazing, thank you to the GO's - Mark, Diego, Nelson and the GO's that looked after our 16 & 11 yr old; Thankyou to the GO's that looked after the adults - Ainslie, Aron, Morbeen, Brendan - water aerobics, ultimate fitness, power walk, golf - all the staff were terrific and certainly made our holiday.
The band - thank you for letting our daughter, Madison sing and gain experience; the chef's, unbelievable food and the bar staff - amazing open bar, cocktails and fun every day.
I highly recommend the rooms (fridges, daily fresh bottled water), nothing is too much trouble for the Club Med staff. We checked out at 11am in the morning and did not leave the resort until 9.30pm that night and we were still welcome to enjoy all the food, activities, bars and shower at no extra cost until we were transferred in private air conditioned comfort to the airport. Thank you Club Med, we will see you again! Collins Family Oct 2012

Room Tip: Connecting rooms when travelling with kids, 2 large rooms, 2 bathrooms, great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was the 2nd time I stayed in Phuket club med. The 1st time was back 10 years ago, that time i was with my boyfriend, two of us spending few days in the resort. This time I went with a group of 7 including my baby girl (11 months). I was abit worried after i read some of the review here, and now I can say that Club Med did a great job to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

I can understand why some of the review saying it does not worth the money as their facilities are old. Since they charge such as high rate, they should have at least a great rooms, and everything should be new. Yes, the rooms are old, one of my bathroom door knob was missing, room amenities are basic etc. But, when you look at the soft service, their GO team has work extra hard to make your stay as enjoyable as you can. At least, my 11 months old baby was very happy, enjoying herself evey minute, she was being invited to petit club med activities, also fashion show activities.

Food was average, serving Buffet for every meal. As an adult I will find it average and abit bored. But, it was great for the baby, as I dont need to worry about what food to order for her, what can she eat and whats not. She have alot of options at the buffet, including fish and meat.

After all, club med create experience, especially great for families with kids. I will definitely consider club med as my priority when I plan my next trip with my girl. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonbon1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Phuket

Property: Club Med Phuket
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Karon
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#20 Family Hotel in Karon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#39 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kata Bay, the Club Med Village on the island of Phuket stretches out under palm trees caressed by the breeze. Bungalows, built in the style of the local "long-houses" and decorated with teak, silk and marble, exude a Zen spirit in this idyllic garden where you can practice yoga beneath the frangipani trees. A warm and clear sea opens up its underwater depths, filled with colorful fish and abundant flora. Adults and children alike can find tranquility and discover the Thai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Phuket Hotel Karon
Club Med Karon
Phuket Club Med
Club Med Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing