We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   516/20 Patak Road | (Opposite Centara Karon Resort), Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 140 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chalong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Never stayed there, being local, but I pop down there often as its one of the best sports bars in Phuket. Numerous screens show all types of sport, with two projector TVs. My beers are always very cold and the food delicious. Excellent bar and menu selections. The staff are very friendly and Maurice and Tiger always seem to be around to keep things friendly and efficient.
I recall one day when there was a false tsunami scare and every restaurant in Kata and Karon had closed because the staff had fled. But not O'Tool's, They were still serving with Maurice working the kitchen.
I also like to read the English papers which they get daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had Sunday lunch at O'Toole's and was quite happy with the food, however, the service wasn't very good at all, even with there being 6 staff on hand to serve. No problems taking my order or serving lunch, once I finished I couldn't get the attention of any of the staff. I wanted desert so asked for a menu, I sat idle for 20 mins trying to get someone's attention and just gave up, paid and left. Again, happy with the food, but they need to address the staff issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first trip to Thailand. I have a friend living on Phuket, but wanted to stay slightly independent & not encroach too much. He suggested Angus O'Tools in Karon.
The only downside is that all of the smaller hotels don't have stairs but hey, it's done me good and after the first couple of days they're not a problem. (I'm a lazy Westerner!) I'm staying on the 2nd floor in a room called Galway. Lovely outlook with great aircon, an excellent shower in the en-suite with plenty of hot water, good water pressure and you could have a party in the shower room it's so big :-)
The rooms are cleaned and linen changed every day, and you're supplied with a litre of fresh drinking water that's put into your refrigerator. There's a kittle and TV (if you want to watch TV when you're on holiday....) plus sofa in the window alcove.
The beds are enormous, and I've slept like a log since I've been here.
O'Tool's is literally a 5 or 6 minute walk from Karon beach, and couldn't be in a better location - within travelling distance of everything on the Island although Karon beach has everything you could want from a beach holiday.
Plenty of sun loungers at 100 Baht for the whole day, and lots of little bars dotted along the beach every 10 metres or so.
The food at O'Tool's is superb - English based - their omelettes are to die for and the best chips I've ever tasted. There are so many restaurants and street vendors within metres of your door though, that you're spoilt for choice - from English to Thai, Indian and Italian. A gastronomer's delight and perfect location.
My room is big, airy and has everything I need. At 1000 Baht (about £20) per night, you really can't go wrong.
The staff are all very friendly and for me, I couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telthepensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ate my one and only hamburger while in Thailand here, and it did not disappoint! Good beer, good food, friendly staff. What else could you ask for? Prices are reasonable. There was Austrailian rules football on, so it was a little rowdy. But I don't mind rowdiness in a pub anyways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkjones89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've just returned from two weeks in Phuket, and while I stayed across the road in Centara, it's fair to say I was a "regular" here, the reasoning why was very simple - this is quite simply a very well run pub.

The staff are friendly, helpful and the place is spotless and very reasonably priced. It has a wide range of drinks and the food was very tasty. If watching sports is also on your agenda then you cant go wrong here with regular events live which will appeal to the Aussies, British and Irish customers that frequent the bar.

The top man here though was Maurice. A friendly chap that went out of his way to make sure you were being looked after, so much so that he took time out from hosting a party of his friends to ensure that a few of us got to see Ireland's qualifier against Kazakhstan,

I strongly recommend this pub, without hesitation, to anyone hitting Karon beach.

Peadar. S. (Ireland).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Peadars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was staying across the road in the Centara and being Irish I went straight to this pub on my first night and I was there every evening after that. Had my meals there as well most days,food was excellent and competitively priced. Tiger and his team were tip top and always had a smile.
Coming back next year but will stay here instead of the Centara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlin591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for 14 nights, everything about it was brilliant. Location, Service, Food, and the bedrooms. Maurice and his staff always make you feel welcome and the band on Friday nights were a highlight as well as the constant sport on the 4 large tv screens around the pub. I will be visiting again next year and i am certain to stay at Otooles again, and recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Chanalai Hillside Resort
#51 of 128 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#52 of 128 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse

Address: 516/20 Patak Road | (Opposite Centara Karon Resort), Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing