We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 142 Karon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice food, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had Sunday lunch at O'Toole's and was quite happy with the food, however, the service wasn't very good at all, even with there being 6 staff on hand to serve. No problems taking my order or serving lunch, once I finished I couldn't get the attention of any of the staff. I wanted desert so asked for a menu, I sat idle for 20 mins trying to get someone's attention and just gave up, paid and left. Again, happy with the food, but they need to address the staff issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    55
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
63
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first trip to Thailand. I have a friend living on Phuket, but wanted to stay slightly independent & not encroach too much. He suggested Angus O'Tools in Karon.
The only downside is that all of the smaller hotels don't have stairs but hey, it's done me good and after the first couple of days they're not a problem. (I'm a lazy Westerner!) I'm staying on the 2nd floor in a room called Galway. Lovely outlook with great aircon, an excellent shower in the en-suite with plenty of hot water, good water pressure and you could have a party in the shower room it's so big :-)
The rooms are cleaned and linen changed every day, and you're supplied with a litre of fresh drinking water that's put into your refrigerator. There's a kittle and TV (if you want to watch TV when you're on holiday....) plus sofa in the window alcove.
The beds are enormous, and I've slept like a log since I've been here.
O'Tool's is literally a 5 or 6 minute walk from Karon beach, and couldn't be in a better location - within travelling distance of everything on the Island although Karon beach has everything you could want from a beach holiday.
Plenty of sun loungers at 100 Baht for the whole day, and lots of little bars dotted along the beach every 10 metres or so.
The food at O'Tool's is superb - English based - their omelettes are to die for and the best chips I've ever tasted. There are so many restaurants and street vendors within metres of your door though, that you're spoilt for choice - from English to Thai, Indian and Italian. A gastronomer's delight and perfect location.
My room is big, airy and has everything I need. At 1000 Baht (about £20) per night, you really can't go wrong.
The staff are all very friendly and for me, I couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telthepensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ate my one and only hamburger while in Thailand here, and it did not disappoint! Good beer, good food, friendly staff. What else could you ask for? Prices are reasonable. There was Austrailian rules football on, so it was a little rowdy. But I don't mind rowdiness in a pub anyways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkjones89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've just returned from two weeks in Phuket, and while I stayed across the road in Centara, it's fair to say I was a "regular" here, the reasoning why was very simple - this is quite simply a very well run pub.

The staff are friendly, helpful and the place is spotless and very reasonably priced. It has a wide range of drinks and the food was very tasty. If watching sports is also on your agenda then you cant go wrong here with regular events live which will appeal to the Aussies, British and Irish customers that frequent the bar.

The top man here though was Maurice. A friendly chap that went out of his way to make sure you were being looked after, so much so that he took time out from hosting a party of his friends to ensure that a few of us got to see Ireland's qualifier against Kazakhstan,

I strongly recommend this pub, without hesitation, to anyone hitting Karon beach.

Peadar. S. (Ireland).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Peadars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was staying across the road in the Centara and being Irish I went straight to this pub on my first night and I was there every evening after that. Had my meals there as well most days,food was excellent and competitively priced. Tiger and his team were tip top and always had a smile.
Coming back next year but will stay here instead of the Centara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlin591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for 14 nights, everything about it was brilliant. Location, Service, Food, and the bedrooms. Maurice and his staff always make you feel welcome and the band on Friday nights were a highlight as well as the constant sport on the 4 large tv screens around the pub. I will be visiting again next year and i am certain to stay at Otooles again, and recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel, Angus O'Tools and was extremely impressed with all aspects of the hotel. The rooms were very spacious and well kept, with the most comfortable mattresses I've encountered for a while! We often ate at the bar downstairs, where the food was brilliant and affordable, whilst the service was impeccable. The location was very convenient with the shops, bars and the beach just around the corner. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a factor that certianly contributed to my overall experience of the hotel. All in all, if you are looking at staying in Phuket Thailand, I would not hesitate at all in recommending Angus O'Tools.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#93 of 130 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.1 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.0 mi away
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse

Property: Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse
Address: 516/20 Patak Road | (Opposite Centara Karon Resort), Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing