We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beyond Resort Karon
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel in May 2013. I must say it was the least favourite hotel out of the 3 we stayed in whilst in Thailand.

Pros:
Great Beach Location
Beautiful a la carte meals for dinner - great prices
lovely room service food
Most staff were very friendly

Cons:
The rooms smelt old & musky - not a great welcome to a weary traveller!
The manager I think - older lady - not friendly at all
Shower head broke - water is random - hot to cold - high pressure to low
not enough bathroom products - shampoo/cond & body wash is in bottles used by everyone - much nicer in individual throw away bottles
NO FREE WI-FI - big let down

overall I got the feeling they were very stingy with the little extras
I would not stay there again as we didn't feel welcome :(

Room Tip: ask for a room not in front of the palm trees top floor as u wont be able to see the beach!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rayleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Rayleen,

Thank you very much for kind wards and also some informative comments. I really regret that you did not come to see me in person during the remainder of your stay with us . I surely could have made you feel more comfortable to get a better room with seaview.

However, you might not know that our hotel is planning for a hotel renovation approx: 5 months
in which, the hotel will close, there will be a refurblishment of guest rooms and facilities. It was a pity that I had no chance to show you our new mock up room which all our guests liked it.

Thank you once gain for your reviews.

Yours sincerely,

Amnat Jittavikul
General Manager
Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for Beyond Resort Karon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have just returned having spent 2 weeks in this hotel,which i have to say i loved! when we first arrived in our room, we did have a problem with the toilet which wasn't nice,however as soon as i explained to the reception staff i was given another room immediatley. I can see why people have mentioned in previous reviews that the rooms could do with updating, this hotel is currently being renovated, i have actually seen the plans for the renovations and it looks beautiful.
The hotel is great in that its right on the beach, very private, but then when you go out of the front of the hotel,you have everything you need on your doorstep, shops,bars restaurants etc.
We stayed at hotel with breakfast included, and they catered for everybody with a vast option provided to a very high standard.
Staff here are very freindly especially in the beach bar. The hotel itself was always spotless and i would have no hesitation at all in staying at this hotel. i am dissapointed that the hotel is becoming a couples hotel as i would of liked to return with my children but if i was to return with just my partner this is were i would stay without question.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Tina M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and feedback and appreciate your kind wards and hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future under new hotel name " Beyond Resort Karon" with better stadard of services.

Yours sincerely,

Amnat Jittavikul
General Manager
Karon Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel might seem luxurious and nice but it honestly feels a bit old when you finally get the chance to check in your room.

I picked this hotel being a 4-star beach front hotel but I guess that's about it. I initially thought the location was romantic enough for a couple's getaway...

Our room was situated on the same floor as the swimming pool, and while that may sound nice, the hallway leading towards the room was a bit tired and freaky. What's more unfortunate is how during our stay, there were a lot moth-like insects flying by the lights of the hotel.

That same night, electricity went out for about 30mins. And that was also the time when I needed to go back to get my wallet in the room, which was "not so nice" considering how the hallways leading to the rooms downstairs felt like you were walking in a dungeon corridor. Power outage was known to happen in Phuket and I don't know if what powered the hotel after the outage was a generator, but yeah, that long without electricity in what should be a 4-star hotel isn't something I'd be pleased with.

Another issue which we encountered was how our door lock broke. I don't know how but it doesn't lock and we had to call operator a couple of times to have it fixed. Imagine the thought that the corridors look tired and freaky and your room's door doesn't properly lock. They were able to fix it, then again that same night it broke after a couple of ins and outs, then again fixed, then we didn't go out anymore and just had the night over with.

Outside the hotel, there's nothing much to do. There's a resto/bar just outside the back. Not sure if there's anything else, as we didn't see much.

The beach was okay. Waves were strong and high. Sand isn't as fine as how you would expect it though it is nice to stroll through the coast.

I sincerely and honestly believe there are other hotels way better situated along Karon than this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandermatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear KENdot.

Thank you very much for your taking time to share your feedback and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused you may have had.

As part of the ongoing improvements, the hotel is planning to have a hotel renovation. The closure will be from 8th May untill 30th September, 2013. Refurbisment of all Guest Rooms and Guest Facilities, the Hotel Entrance, the Lobby and the Spa and the Restaurant.
Complementing the new look and improved facilities, Karon Beach Resort & Spa will be renamed "BEYOND RESORT KARON". This is effective from 1st November 2013 onwards.The Beyond Resort Karon is catering for couples only and accepts guests only above the age of 18 years old.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to new "BEYOND RESORT KARON" again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Amnat J./G.M.- Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The first we noticed is how quiet it is and how we didn't experience any hustle and bustle. Maybe the hotel being quiet in terms of guests may have played a big part as our stay progress so did the occupancy. the location right on the beach is tremendous and not too many other establishments can offer it. the rooms are extremely clean and well fitted out, but somewhat on the small size. having said that they are functional and I believe most if not all have ocean views ...Again extremely unique and at other establishments you pay considerable more. The Hotel and rooms itself do need a facelift and it was good to hear that the resort is closing next month for ^ months for a 'makeover'. I will be extremely keen what are the improvements that are made. If you are planning a trip to Phuket in the new year and want a place that can offer booth pool and beach then this would be my choice. Also advice is do not always just head down into Patong or nearby Karon for the restaurants but also venture to wards Kata as there are a number of good restaurants available. All in all an enjoyable and relaxing stay...recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Vladimir,

Thank you very much for your taking time to share all great comments and feedback whcih we
really appriacted. However, as you mentioned, our hotel is going to close for renovation from 8th May untill 30th September, 2013. Refurbisment of all Guest Rooms and Guest Facilities, the Hotel Entrance, the Lobby and the Spa and the Restaurant.
Complementing the new look and improved facilities, Karon Beach Resort & Spa will be renamed "BEYOND RESORT KARON". This is effective from 1st November 2013 onwards.The Beyond Resort Karon is catering for couples only and accepts guests only above the age of 18 years old.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to new facelift "BEYOND RESORT KARON" in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Amnat J./G.M.- Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My partner and I loved it here. We stayed for 8 nights and couldn't fault anything. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to help us. Our room was perfect size with an amazing view of the beach. The resort was not too big like some of the other resorts, we stayed at the Kata beach resort last year and it was too big and we did not enjoy our stay there. the location is perfect, being close to many lovely restuarants. we also loved that the market people in the vicinity of the resort were not too pushy and annoying. thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRBPKT, Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Kette84,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to share all great comments.
It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit at Karon Beach Resort & Spa. We hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future after completion its renovation and rebranding "Beyond Resort Karon"

Yours sincerely,
Amnat Jittavikul/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am just in time before the Karon Beach Resort closes from May to 30 September for renovation and feel lucky to be here at this Resort with a heart rendering view of the entire pristine Karon beach, that stretches from the rocky head in front of the Resort to the zero point Karon.

I spent a quality time in the comfort zone of the Resort.
With just under 100 rooms, each with treasured view of the beach and the turquoise green Andaman Sea; the Resort is thus not too crowded like some of the other larger hotels in the area.
Therefore this place enjoys the luxury of being the only resort in Karon area, located directly on the beach offering brilliant sunsets eye level to the rocky head in the corner of the Resort (at this time of the year: April), to feast the eye while sipping over a young coconut drink, and in the very backyards of the resort, the shopping district queue up with convenience shops, souvenir shops, restaurants and day spas.

The Kanda Spa at the Resort is more reliable and authentic than you see other outside and the signature Aroma Therapy using natural ylang ylang oil (80 minute therapy) will keep me renewed at least for another ten days.

The Phuket Stadium is just a few minutes from the Resort and I happened to be here at the time when matched between the teams: Bangkok (A) V Hua Hin and Krabi V Phuket demonstrated superb talents n the young players in the team.

It has been a wonderful experience here at the Karon Beach Resort & spa.

Room Tip: The hotel also has larger/ suite rooms so if you are traveling with family, you can enjoy togetherne...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saif101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a week at the resort in February 2013. The location was great being right on the beach & not far to restaurants,markets etc. The area was quiet which suited us, still busy out on the street but the noise did not flow through to the resort. The resort itself could do with a coat of paint but the staff were friendly & the rooms were clean. We were on the 1st floor & had a great view of the ocean, it would have been nice to be able to leave the balcony door open at night but the 'mozzies' were a bit friendly, a screen on the door would have fixed that problem. Overall our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosnbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Karon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Karon

Address: 51 Karon Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Beach Resort and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#30 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $117 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Karon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and truly intimate, Beyond Resort Karon is nestled into a quiet corner of Phuket's grandest beach, Karon Beach. With 81 spacious rooms overlooking the crystal clear Andaman waters, the resort offers peace, quiet and privacy on the famed beach with myriads of shopping and dining choices merely on the other side of the lobby. Offering Thai Hospitality, with stunning panoramic view of the Andaman Sea and the beach to yourself, Beyond Resort Karon is a perfect gateway for honeymooners, couples and individuals 18 years old and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beyond Resort Karon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Karon Beach Phuket
Karon Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Karon Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing