We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beyond Resort Karon
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“would stay again!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My partner and I loved it here. We stayed for 8 nights and couldn't fault anything. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to help us. Our room was perfect size with an amazing view of the beach. The resort was not too big like some of the other resorts, we stayed at the Kata beach resort last year and it was too big and we did not enjoy our stay there. the location is perfect, being close to many lovely restuarants. we also loved that the market people in the vicinity of the resort were not too pushy and annoying. thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRBPKT, Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Kette84,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to share all great comments.
It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit at Karon Beach Resort & Spa. We hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future after completion its renovation and rebranding "Beyond Resort Karon"

Yours sincerely,
Amnat Jittavikul/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    350
    100
    28
    20
See reviews for
120
724
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am just in time before the Karon Beach Resort closes from May to 30 September for renovation and feel lucky to be here at this Resort with a heart rendering view of the entire pristine Karon beach, that stretches from the rocky head in front of the Resort to the zero point Karon.

I spent a quality time in the comfort zone of the Resort.
With just under 100 rooms, each with treasured view of the beach and the turquoise green Andaman Sea; the Resort is thus not too crowded like some of the other larger hotels in the area.
Therefore this place enjoys the luxury of being the only resort in Karon area, located directly on the beach offering brilliant sunsets eye level to the rocky head in the corner of the Resort (at this time of the year: April), to feast the eye while sipping over a young coconut drink, and in the very backyards of the resort, the shopping district queue up with convenience shops, souvenir shops, restaurants and day spas.

The Kanda Spa at the Resort is more reliable and authentic than you see other outside and the signature Aroma Therapy using natural ylang ylang oil (80 minute therapy) will keep me renewed at least for another ten days.

The Phuket Stadium is just a few minutes from the Resort and I happened to be here at the time when matched between the teams: Bangkok (A) V Hua Hin and Krabi V Phuket demonstrated superb talents n the young players in the team.

It has been a wonderful experience here at the Karon Beach Resort & spa.

Room Tip: The hotel also has larger/ suite rooms so if you are traveling with family, you can enjoy togetherne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saif101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a week at the resort in February 2013. The location was great being right on the beach & not far to restaurants,markets etc. The area was quiet which suited us, still busy out on the street but the noise did not flow through to the resort. The resort itself could do with a coat of paint but the staff were friendly & the rooms were clean. We were on the 1st floor & had a great view of the ocean, it would have been nice to be able to leave the balcony door open at night but the 'mozzies' were a bit friendly, a screen on the door would have fixed that problem. Overall our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosnbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our recent trip to Phuket was nice, but not great. I have been to other amazing beached in Asia, which may have tainted my view of Phuket, but here is my view.

We had heard that we would have a better experience in Phuket outside of Patong, where may people end up. We wanted to be on the beach, and decided for Karon Beach resort due to its direct access. The resort has a nice beach area and a pool overlooking the beach. This was a very nice benefit to staying here.

The first room we were only able to stay in for 1 night. There was a very strong foul odor, that smelled a lot like cigarette smoke. We complained and were moved the next day to another room, which was much better! It was interesting that even the bathroom and bed area was nicer. It was the same class of room, so it is not like there is an upgrade involved.

Breakfast was adequate, but having eggs cooked was very slow. One morning there were 10 people in line to have eggs. It would be better to have 1 more cook, or have scrambled eggs already cooked for those that want something simple.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room with a walkout to the pool, seems like they are old and smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in March 2013 with my husband and the only reason we decided to stay here as it is right on the beach.

1st day after we arrived at around 3pm, we decided to cool down by the hotel restaurant facing the beach. However since they do not speak or understand English that well, they gave us coconut drinks (with alcohol) whereas I ordered just coconut juice. We don't drink alcohol and the worst part was that we were made to pay for 4 coconut drinks!

Wifi is not free which is ridiculous as other resorts offer that, rooms are terribly outdated and service staff needs to learn to be more friendly and approachable. However there was only 1 guy called 'Lek' who speaks good English, very friendly and we truly appreciate his warm smile every time he saw us.

Additionally, it was also shocking to know that the hotel charges 3x more for trips to Phi Phi island at 3000 baht when the tours sold outside is between 1,200 baht to 1,500 baht maximum

If not for the view of the ocean and the beach which was so accessible, I would have not stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariam170201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here 7 nights in the off-season.
The location is right at the south end of Karon beach, which is much quieter anyway than Kata beach or the noisy, grubby Patong.
Walk out the front door and you are at the beginning of the shopping area that spills across the hills dividing Karon and Kata beaches, and there is a mini-mart 40 metres up the road, cheap , fast and reliable laundry at a place just across the road, and plenty of good eateries within 100 - 200 metres.
Their own restaurant is overlooking the beach, and typically overpriced compared to eating in town, and was good, but not outstanding. Walk past the pool, down a few steps and you are on the very nice beach. Right beside you is a cheap massage/spa setup, built leaning against the retaining wall of the resort, much to their consternation, at 10% the price of the resort.
Respectable, but a little lower standard than the formally trained masueses at the resort.
Room was fine, you have to buy wifi data, but it is cheap.
The resort staff were obliging and helped with independent bookings for activities, and also hand translated my wife's requirements for gluten free food into the local script for us to use around town. - We were surprised at how knowledgable and careful several local places were, checking origins of their soy sauces and other ingredients, so the translation must have been pretty good.
The morning we had to leave early for the airport, we exited our room to find a porter standing at the end of the hallway waiting for us - 10 minutes before the restaurant opens.
In limited english he motioned us upstairs to the restaurant then set about moving our 4 bags to the front of the hotel. We found most f the breakfast already set, and staff waiting to give us an instant cooked breakfast and anything else we wanted, right down to offering to wrap fruit to carry in the car if we hadn't eaten enough.
Outside they had the shuttle driver on hold, and told us to relax and eat.
I mention this as it was great forethought and care for our needs that morning.

Room Tip: Go poolside, they aren't noisy, and it makes it so quick to slip out your door and into the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MethuselahNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights in Feb this year with my wife and daughter.. I would rate the hotel as a three star in comparison with the numerous other hotels I've stayed at in Europe, Asia and USA.
The rooms are ample, no more no less, but as has been said before you don't spend a lot of time in your room on holiday.
Al rooms look onto the ocean and the view is very good.nthe downside is that you can't leave your balcony door open unless you want to be eaten by mosquitoes. Nearly everyone we saw had at least one visible bite mark so be prepared.
The breakfast is ample, but again it isn't anything other than that, yes the cold choice is good but with only 1 chef doing eggs in various styles you will need to queue. We ate in the pool bar restaurant and it was fine, if more expensive than the beach huts nearby. I would say try those first as for 130 baht you will get a very nice sandwich and a cold drink.
The sun bed situation around the pool is not good and the beds were normally taken by 6.30/7 am which meant an early rise if you wanted to beat a certain european group to the available beds.
The location is excellent being set at one end of karon and close to kata. Tuk tucks to patong will cost 400 baht one way. We did the phi phi all day trip booked through the tour rep for hayes and jarvis which cost over £200 For 3 adults , I wouldn't recommend it as all of the areas they take you too are full f other tourist trips,including maya beach where Leonardo di caprio filmed filmed the beach. The food was very poor, including cold spag bolognese....and a plague of flies.
We spent most nights at a nearby bar called ban Thai which had live music (bit old school) and a tv showing live European football.
Having said all that the majority of the hotel staff were by pleasant , the rooms were serviced every day, the locals in the main have a good level of customer service and we enjoyed our trip, but 9 nights was long enough.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank iainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
1.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Karon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Karon

Property: Beyond Resort Karon
Address: 51 Karon Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Beach Resort and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#30 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Karon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and truly intimate, Beyond Resort Karon is nestled into a quiet corner of Phuket's grandest beach, Karon Beach. With 81 spacious rooms overlooking the crystal clear Andaman waters, the resort offers peace, quiet and privacy on the famed beach with myriads of shopping and dining choices merely on the other side of the lobby. Offering Thai Hospitality, with stunning panoramic view of the Andaman Sea and the beach to yourself, Beyond Resort Karon is a perfect gateway for honeymooners, couples and individuals 18 years old and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beyond Resort Karon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Karon Beach Phuket
Karon Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Karon Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing