We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UK three star hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beyond Resort Karon
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in Feb this year with my wife and daughter.. I would rate the hotel as a three star in comparison with the numerous other hotels I've stayed at in Europe, Asia and USA.
The rooms are ample, no more no less, but as has been said before you don't spend a lot of time in your room on holiday.
Al rooms look onto the ocean and the view is very good.nthe downside is that you can't leave your balcony door open unless you want to be eaten by mosquitoes. Nearly everyone we saw had at least one visible bite mark so be prepared.
The breakfast is ample, but again it isn't anything other than that, yes the cold choice is good but with only 1 chef doing eggs in various styles you will need to queue. We ate in the pool bar restaurant and it was fine, if more expensive than the beach huts nearby. I would say try those first as for 130 baht you will get a very nice sandwich and a cold drink.
The sun bed situation around the pool is not good and the beds were normally taken by 6.30/7 am which meant an early rise if you wanted to beat a certain european group to the available beds.
The location is excellent being set at one end of karon and close to kata. Tuk tucks to patong will cost 400 baht one way. We did the phi phi all day trip booked through the tour rep for hayes and jarvis which cost over £200 For 3 adults , I wouldn't recommend it as all of the areas they take you too are full f other tourist trips,including maya beach where Leonardo di caprio filmed filmed the beach. The food was very poor, including cold spag bolognese....and a plague of flies.
We spent most nights at a nearby bar called ban Thai which had live music (bit old school) and a tv showing live European football.
Having said all that the majority of the hotel staff were by pleasant , the rooms were serviced every day, the locals in the main have a good level of customer service and we enjoyed our trip, but 9 nights was long enough.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank iainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Trust me previous reviews don't reflect the true picture.
Friendly receptionists
Couple of really friendly staff members
Furniture needs upgrading
Poor flush system in the toilet
Shower head is attached on the wall
Internet is not FREE
Limited number of sunbeds, there are 81 rooms but there are not 81 sunbeds
Poolside rules are not followed by the staff
Every morning there is an argument over the front row sunbeds
Loud music till 10 pm
Poolside bar open to public so gets noisy
Poolside bar supervisor short lady is not educated an not friendly
Restaurant manager young guy has the same issues as above lady
Overpriced comparing to the hotel on the other side of the beach
Children's pool way too small
You get noisy drunk people in the poolside bar and they are seated in the way to the main pool so you have to pass by them.

Room Tip: Think twice don't get ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just returned from 8 Nights at this resort.
This is the perfect "holiday" location in every way.

This was my second trip to Phuket having stayed in Pa Tong approximately 6 years ago. There is no comparison.

Access to the resort is a 1 hour trip in a taxi which will cost 600BHT (Be warned though the return trip will be 1200BHT. There are different rates each way)

This resort is situated right on the beach front with access to the beach via a few steps.

All rooms in the resort have sensational ocean views with access to the pool deck taking a maximum of 1 minute or 2 minutes to walking on to the sand from any room.

The Room: I concur with other advisors comments that the rooms are a little dated but are more than ample and roomy. The view is exactly what any holiday maker would want. The facilities in the room are more than acceptable. How much time do you want to spend actually in your room other than sleeping? The answer for this resort is quite simply sleep and get out and enjoy the environment.
Only 1 room key is provided which is frustrating as it is also the same key that runs the power in the room. Bathroom is blackout out if the power is not on. This means that you both go together or none at all.
The beds are firm which suited me and are made up with fresh linen daily when the room is completely serviced. On a down side the inventory of the bar fridge was completed daily but strangely the items used were not replaced. However, two complimentary bottles of water were placed in the fridge daily.
Do not expect towels shaped into animals or flowers on the bed daily...it didn't happen once for us and we rarely saw the room maid.
There is no complimentary WiFi provided however if you are prepared to sacrifice fresh linen daily a complimentary 15mins of WiFi is provided. How much time do you want to spend on WiFi on holiday?

The Resort:

The Resort is clean and tidy. The pools are crystal clear and the Pool Bar was fabulous.

Very disappointing that the pool itself was closed at 7pm. Understanding, I guess, as all rooms are over the top of the pool. However, in a climate like that its nice to take a cool off swim at the end of the day as well.

We spent days on end just sitting on the pool sun lounges looking out at the ocean and sipping on cocktails brought by the ever helpful and friendly staff of the resort. Thats a "Holiday".
If you want the sun lounges though you better have it reserved by 7am or you will miss out.

The understanding of the english language by resort staff is average at best but we were in Thailand after all and always got there in the end. They tried and tried hard to please.

Its very tranquil and peaceful in the actual resort and on the beach. The beach is perfectly safe at this time of the year with incredibly warm clean sea water with nothing but clear sand underneath. (Take your goggles and snorkle as the fish swimming around the rocks are incredible)

The breakfast was very good with many choices and set us up for the day. (Free breakfast and then cheap eats at night...perfect)
I cant comment on the resort restaurant as we never ate there. It seems no one really does as the restaurant was rarely occupied.

A walk out the front door of the resort puts you onto a great shopping area with everything you would want. Massage, Beauty Treatments, Tuk Tuks, Taxi, Market stalls(watches, t-shirts, dvd's etc)
The market stall holders are nowhere near as aggressive in Karon as they are in Pa Tong.

There is an amazing array of restaurants which are incredibly cheap to eat at.

I highly recommend "Two Chefs" to eat at.

If you are looking for a tailored suit, shirts, blouse or anything tailored you will not go wrong with "Nippon Rich" of "In-Style". Nippon has been there for many years and comes highly recommended and justifiably so. I had a suit and shirts tailor made which were all perfect and incredibly cheap for what they were. Nippon Rich is approximately 50 metres along on the same side of the resort.

Highly recommend this resort for a "Holiday" and by holiday I mean relax and just do nothing other than swim, relax and watch the world go by.

Really enjoyed this stay and would not hesitate to return and hope to do so again next year.

Fabulous!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ground Floor give great access to Pool and Beach however you sacrifice privacy with eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Roger_Suth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had a great stay at the Karon Beach resort. Brilliant location close to all shops and restaurants and bars in Karon beach. Pool overlooks the beach and its a 1 min walk from pool to beach to room. Staff were very helpful and super friendly. Room was ample space even though we had 3 in the room. We were on pool level (lowest level) which was extremely handy to pop in and out of room it all rooms are very close to the pool and beach. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Laura2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Cannot fault the location. On the beach which was not only convenient but provided a complete beach holiday experience. Unfortunately there were negatives which I feel if attended to, the hotel could be excellent: the rooms are outdated, dark from poor lighting and have musty smell. The corridors are also dark and outdated and the outside building in need of paint. Breakfasts were average and despite the staff being friendly and helpful they appeared unsupervised and inexperienced. There is only paid Wifi available which was inconvenient. I had the impression that budget was on the agenda. Despite the negatives which are cosmetic, I would definitely recommend the hotel as we had an overall good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had a great stay at this place in 2004. The staff is friendly and welcoming. I love the view from the room and the location is fantastic, bring right on the beach. Although the facility is a bit dated but clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey_STC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Karon Beach resort is truly a great stay. I have stayed at this place any times between 2000-2012. The first experience is the staff, the welcome and the good feeling of being comfortable. The rooms are not big though but for sure enough for your sunny stay in Phuket. The pool area and pool is great and just 30 meters walk from the pool does the see offer you great snorkeling. This hotel is the only hotel truly on the beach in Karon. Food is good, staff is great, price is good value and I never left this place with any negative fellings, not one single time of the 11 stays I have had with them. Show them my picture and send them my best regards and you four sure have a pleasant laugh bach.

Room Tip: I always stayed here in room 118, 119 or 120. Right in front of the pool but still private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100donesofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Karon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Karon

Address: 51 Karon Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Beach Resort and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $124 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Karon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and truly intimate, Beyond Resort Karon is nestled into a quiet corner of Phuket's grandest beach, Karon Beach. With 81 spacious rooms overlooking the crystal clear Andaman waters, the resort offers peace, quiet and privacy on the famed beach with myriads of shopping and dining choices merely on the other side of the lobby. Offering Thai Hospitality, with stunning panoramic view of the Andaman Sea and the beach to yourself, Beyond Resort Karon is a perfect gateway for honeymooners, couples and individuals 18 years old and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beyond Resort Karon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Karon Beach Phuket
Karon Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Karon Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing