We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - shame about the resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2009

the hotel is lovely, clean, & spacious with extremely friendly staff. On our arrival we were greeted with wet towels & complimetary drinks while checking in. The open-air reception area is very appealing with a Thai influence (unlike some of the newer hotels
ultra modern & minimalist)
There is approx 90 rooms in the hotel so it has a laid back appeal without the hustle of larger hotels. A small air conditioned bar area (but watch out for the 17% service charge on the hotel food & drinks!!) Small but adequate gym & reasonalble priced restaurant
The pool is lovely with a pool bar, pool jacuzzi & water features with enough loungers, umberellas & seating facilities.
Sea Sand is situated on the Patong rd right across from Karon beach which is long but narrow. During our stay we unfortunately never had the opportunity to swim in it due to Red Flag alerts all down the coast - dangerous undercurrents & with a 12 year old son found this a little disappointing!
Rooms - large & well equiped, beautiful bathroom with bath & shower. Very large beds, plenty of TV channels, well stocked mini bar & tea, coffee & complimentary water daily. The rooms were cleaned & changed each day with pool & beach towels provided. Our balcony overlooked the pool area & had table & chairs overall probably the nicest room we had stayed in.
I would definately recommend Sea Sand resort Hotel
Now for Karon Beach - very small, quiet resort with not a lot going on & in bed most nights before 10.30pm. Few family bars or restaurants but this could have been due to the low season & some establishments closed until September. On the up side it did make us explore the surrounding areas & travelled to patong, kata & Phuket town on the local bus for only 30Bahts.
If you prefer a lively night I'd recommend Patong although there is plenty of 'girlie bars' there is also plenty of 'family bars & eating places' without the smut! Cheaper shopping with more choice than Karon Beach
Kata is the prettier of the resorts but again not much going on in the evenings. More shops, cafes & bars than Karon with a smaller beach but at least we had the opportuntiy to swim in the sea.
Overall great holiday, lovely hotel but the resort lacked variety with not much going on ok for a brief stay while travelling the island

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 754 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

OK, first, a bit about me and what i wanted from my Trip.

Solo Traveller, age 29, looking to stay in a nice area with a clean and less crowded beach (as compared to Patong) but still wanted to be close to the action.


OK - SO NOW THE REVIEW:-
Karon Sea Sands Resort was a very nice place to stay. Very friendly staff, a nice small-ish pool, good breakfast and very large and clean rooms. Comfy beds too (was a bit scared about the whole 'Thailand Hard Beds' thing but i was fine.

Good Points.
- Staff always very accommodating and friendly.
- Rooms Clean, Large, Good range of channels on TV.
- Right accross the road from Karon Beach.
- Quiet and less seedy than Patong
- Good Breakfast.
- Cheap mini-bar (actually cheaper than the main bar??????)
- Small gym, but good enough for me.

Bad Points
- Construction at the front of the hotel makes it less appealing.
- Main bar being renovated currently.
- Karon beach is right accross the road and is 4km long. However there are Red Flags all over the beach and the only place to swim between the flags was all the way down the other end so it was a bit of a walk each day. It is Monson season though.
- This end of Karon, although being closer to Patong, is VERY quiet and VERY boring. Only a few pubs around the corner, but they were always empty.......again, this could be a season thing.
- Resort itself is quite small and was dead quiet. Most times, the band that plays everynight was playing to nobody.
- If you do want to go to Patong, it's a 500-600baht return trip on a Tuk-Tuk. Get's a bit expensive on your own.

Karon Beach.
Very nice, much cleaner than Patong, and alot quieter too. HOWEVER, that's probably 1km of it. The other 4km, although still with much cleaner water and sand, often has tons of rubbish washed up along shore.

Karon Nightlife
Dead and non-exsistant. If your staying here for the nightlife, you wont find any. Actually i think down towards where Karon meets Kata looked like a better area to stay.

Restaurants.
A place called 'The Sands' which is 100mtrs down the road from the hotel (turn left out front) is stunning, very romantic and a great feed. Try the Green Chicken Curry Pizza. Great Stuff.


Summery
I loved the Karon Sea Sands Resort but it was indeed completly boring area. Next time, i will probably stay in the resorts of Patong and come into Karon and Kata beeches. But this is because i'm a solo traveller.

Even the Karon meets Kata area down the road looked more appealing.

Having said that, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and quite large with a nice balcony and sun bed.

I paid AUS$350 for 7 nights. You can't really argue with that can you.

(End note and Warning:- DO NOT HIRE A SCOOTER IN PHUKET. I almost died twice, and that's no joke................ i am lucky to be here)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ReflectRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I had gone there on my honeymoon, the resort is loacted right on the beach seperated by just one road.Karon beach is clean and not at all crowded.The resort had good spread for breakfast and in the evenings has live band which is good.I think its a super value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanu1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Karon Sea Sands was good value for money and in a good location at Karon Beach. The room was clean and a good size and the outlook to the pool very pleasant. The staff were both friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good and the egg cooking man, very popular with guests. The safe in the room was a convenient place to leave valuable items safely. We booked through sawadee.com and got a great deal. If you like swimming in a pool, it is worth paying the small amount extra to get a room that leads straight into the pool from it's balcony.

1  Thank Arabella54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The taxi from the airport costed us 500bht the hotel is situated in the Karon beach. It was a fantastic choice . It was a lovely hotel with nice cosy décor. The room was decorated so nicely for us with so much warmth and love. It was something different with a personalised touch which really impressed me. We got complimentary basket of fruits and red roses bouquet . Our bed was decorated with happy honeymoon written with rose petals, the toilet was also decorated with flower petals on the bath mat and our bath towels were kept in the shape of two love swans which was too cute and sweet. The swimming pool was very good. The breakfast was lovely with many choices. We were also informed by the staff that we will be getting complimentary dinner at their restaurant as we were on honeymoon.The staff members were very helpful and some could hardly speak English which was the downside.

Karon beach is very beautiful . Indeed the water was very nice and clean, the sand was soft, it was a very relaxed atmosphere but it was very boring to stay in the Karon area as it was nothing much to do. There were not many people on the beach, they were more dogs than people. The dogs were very scary and they were stray rough dogs. We were also chased by two dogs along the beach which nearly left my heart jump to my throat. The tuk tuk costed like 300 bht to go to the Patong beach which was expensive in compare to for what we paid for taxi journeys we made in Bangkok. We even got to meet Mr Jaspal, the owner of the hotel. He was a nice friendly gentleman, we had a long conversation and he spoke to us very nicely and asked if everything was ok for us in the hotel.

You can cool yourself with nice refreshing coconut juice and a nice massage by these lovely friendly ladies at the massage centre end of the street near the temple in Karon. It costed 200 bht for 1 hour massage. Booking Taxi from touist offices works out to be cheaper in compare to direct from the hotel. Just incase if you are planning to go to the Phi Phi Island make sure you book the tour from the Patong beach area as its more cheap and better offers like buy 1 get 1 free or 50% off.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed March 13, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed at Karon Sea Sands Resort having read all postive reviews on the hotel we were certainly not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We requested a double room with pool view and that was accommodated with no problem. We mentioned that we were on honeymoon and on arrival our bed was decorated with "Happy Honeymoon" in petals which was lovely and we also got a complimentary meal to celebrate which was great. Buffet breakfast was included in the rate and everyday was different, they also had an egg station, boiled,scrambled, fried or omellettes. There was a user friendly safe in your room for valuables and mini bar at reasonable prices. Pool was nice with swim up bar and the most comfortable loungers. The beach is literally across a main road with a clean white sandy beach, clear blue water - absolutely lush. A hotel which is well recommended. We'd definately return!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Karon Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#19 Spa Hotel in Karon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#26 Family Hotel in Karon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $69 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa boasts beach front vistas of the spectacular azure waters of the Andaman Sea, endless expanses of golden sand and beaches and awe inspiring evening sunsets. We provide the perfect location & accommodation, offering our guests all the comforts & luxury they have come to expect from the minute they walk through our door. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa offers a culturally diverse selection of dining options from intimate a la carte dining to room service and takeaway. Exercise in our fully equipped gymnasium, swim laps of our pool, enjoy relaxing massages & beauty treatments, inspire & develop your culinary skills by enrolling in one of our Thai or Indian cooking classes. At the end of the day, relax in our tropical surrounds enjoying a refreshing cocktail, listen to mood music from our resident entertainers as you watch a spectacular sunset and the closing of another day in paradise. Karon Sea Sands offers guests traditional Thai hospitality complimented with modern facilities & amenities. Our professional, experienced and courteous staff are on hand to look after your every need and to ensure that your stay with us is a pleasurable and memorable occasion. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, your ultimate resort destination, and we are in the right location! Situated on the south western seaboard between Kata and Patong, Karon is 60 minutes from Phuket International Airport, 15 minutes from Patong or a 30 minute drive to Phuket Town. Our resort is situated within easy walking distance of Karon’s shopping centers, markets, tourist attractions and nightlife venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing