We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Feel - Right Across From the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here from 8-12 December. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach (across the road) and is very well located in Karon. To the left of the hotel is the plaza, and to the right is the main road with shops, restaurants and money exchanges. We did not have to use a taxi to get around (except if we needed to leave Karon) as everything is in walking distance. It has a true holiday feel about it and the rate includes a good buffet breakfast, and pool (with swim up bar). The rooms are large, comfortable and clean if a little dated. We stayed on the fourth floor and had no complaints at all about sound. We did have one incident where the cleaner knocked on the door to clean our room shortly after we had returned from a couple hours at the beach. The whole time we were at the beach the “please make up my room” sign was on the door however it seems that they left our room till last as when I asked the cleaner for an extra 15 minutes to get ready to go out she reacted very negatively and appeared to complain to the other staff member who was nearby. Apart from her rude reaction all the other staff we encountered were pleasant. If your considering reading on the beach or in your room, please take note that the hotel did not have any books in English, only Russian and other languages. The hotel offers 60 minutes free wifi a day but anything above that is charged (eg 200bt for 24 hrs). This is a minor inconvenience as most local restaurants have free Wifi for their customers if you need to do anything online. All in all we loved our stay in Karon and will definitely return. We would be happy to stay at Karon Sea Sands again.

A word of warning about two nearby businesses. Green Chili is affiliated with the hotel and offers 10% discount to hotel guests. Notwithstanding them failing to honor the 10% discount offer as we had left the leaflet in our room, their food was awful and service poor. Sunny’s Boutique a clothing store on the street in front of the hotel doubles as a laundry agent. As per all laundry services in Thailand the cost is charged on weight not items. Sunny’s scale which he keeps under the counter away from customer eyes is set on 500 gms meaning that you will pay for an extra 500 gms with each load. We got the impression that this was not an accident. The actual cleaning is also substandard and most of our clothes came back wrecked in some way (colour stained etc). This is expected to some extent with these types of services but just be aware and don’t send any good clothes to get washed this way.

Room Tip: Bamboo house restaurant, and Fantasea for an amazing cultural experience! Top floor rooms are good i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 748 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely quite resort cannot recommend this highly enough good value wonderful staff having upgraded to a poolside deluxe room made the holiday just brilliant going onto the balcony into to the pool. Breakfast okay as far as buffets go plenty on offer nothing was not to much trouble for the staff if you required something more. The staff at the pool bar had cold beer for us which after a hot day out and about was most refreshing.So I can recommend this resort and would stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to pool access brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunter94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel - and I felt compelled to comment on the great stay we had here. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and large, pool was nice, meals good.

On one of the nights the proprietor organised a cocktail party which was most pleasant and gave us the opportunity to meet other guests.

It’s nice to see a hotel that goes out of its way to make your stay memorable and to give a little extra – I just wish other hotels were like this. They deserve success and to be fully booked.

Great value for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthonyp0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I always make a first stop for my detonation to get settled for a day or two before checking out the country and talking to the locals. The staff was extremely helpful and the food fantastic. Clean and nicely appointed rooms made for a great relaxing start to my adventure. My room had some wonderful views and options for relaxing with a good cold beer or glass of wine. From here I went to the James Bond island as well as the surrounding islands with its sandy beach and strikingly emerald green waters. You will want to take in the temples while there as the architecture is very attractive and the locals are charming. The nightlife I personally can skip but others may find interesting. There is so much to see and the prices are inexpensive. I have travelled there the past two years and will return this fall. There are so many things to see and enjoy that one trip can not hold all the experiences you will want to go back so relax and see and do what you can on the first trip and keep the rest for another. This way you will not feel rushed. Its a holiday so enjoy it.

Room Tip: When booking and upon arrival ask for a quiet location away from the streets and entertainment. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briansworld56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent months trying to pick a hotel for my honeymoon retreat in Phuket. There's so many conflicting reviews out there, it can be really difficult! But am I ever glad I chose this hotel! It is simply the best hotel in Karon! Large spacious rooms with all amenities, clean, hot showers, fresh towels daily. We had a pool access room which I highly recommend - it's awesome stepping out to jump into the pool and swim over to the pool bar (where we spent much of our time).
Staff - where do I begin. Absolutely amazing! Warm, friendly, fun! Easy to communicate with. Greeted us with drinks and cool towels, and decorated our room with flowers as a nice honeymoon touch! Even the bellboy gave me a ride on the luggage trolly down the hallway.
Food - AMAZING!! Lots of variety for breakfast. We had dinner and a few lunches here and everything we ordered was tasty and wonderful! We tried a few local restaurants in the area that were also good too.
Walking distance to the beach, you can literally see the ocean from the pool if you stand in the right spot. Be prepared to pay 200 baht for beach chairs for the day, but that's normal at any beach in Phuket.
Hotel is close to shops and markets. I recommend picking up booze from a little corner store right beside the hotel - cheap and filled with any snacks or trinkets you might want/need. We took a tuk tuk to Patong for a night - shared the ride with other Karon Sea Sand hotel guests - for 6 of us it cost 500 baht. Just start talking to people at the resort and find out who's interested in going to Patong for an afternoon/evening - it's cheaper to share in the tuk tuk cost.
The hotel arranged for our taxi back to the airport at the end of our 5 night stay - it cost us 850 baht and we had no issues with the ride.
Overall, I have zero complaints about this hotel. In fact, when talking to other guests at other hotels (Novotel in particular), we heard many complaints about flooding in their rooms, bugs and roach issues, unnattentive staff, horrible food, etc, etc... and I had to laugh because we did not experience any of these issues at our resort! And we probably paid a lot less than what guests paid at Novotel.
I would like to give a special thank you to the bartenders at the pool bar - Eak & Not. You two made our week stay at Karon extremely memorable!! My husband could have sat at that bar all day, every day talking to you boys and playing the games you provided us with to keep us entertained! You guys are awesome and deserve a raise!
Also a big thanks to the live band singers that performed nightly in the restaurant lounge. Several times we got up and sang on stage with you 3 and you were all amazing and fun!
Thanks Jaspal! You're doing a fantastic job at this resort! If we return to Phuket, we will definitely stay here again, without a doubt. :)

Room Tip: Pool Access room is definitely worth the extra money if you can book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for a week in April 2013 on a Groupon voucher so the value was excellent.

Karon is smaller and quieter than Patong but still has plenty of restaurants, shops and spas. We have stayed at both and prefer Karon

The hotel is quite small, less than 100 rooms, on a narrow site with all rooms in a long block on four floors with the rear rooms facing the pool. The location is excellent, set back from the main road, which makes it quiet, but only 5 minutes walk to the beach or to the main Karon street with lots of restaurants/shops.

The rooms are spacious with day bed and balcony, and the bathrooms have bath and separate shower. We stayed on the top floor and I would recommend this as you get light, privacy and partial views over the roofs. The ground floor rooms with pool access have limited privacy and those with 'garden' access almost none as they are only a few metres from the breakfast room/restaurant.

The facilities are modest - the pool is quite small, there is a small gym and also a spa, the restaurant and foyer are not air conditioned - but the staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our time there. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a mid-range hotel in a central location and we look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and I would recommend this as you get light, privacy and partial views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is our second year staying at this resort. Karon Sea Sands is the ultimate if you are planning to visit Phuket. In bullet point, here are SOME reasons why......

...Location, Location. Situated across the road from a fantastically clean beach. Karon is located between bustling Patong and Kata.

....Pool Access Rooms. Jumping into the sparkling and intimate swimming pool from your balcony is convenience at its best. AND there is a great pool bar serving cocktails all day. The size of the rooms are huge!! I have done the rounds of other resorts in both Patong and Karon, and you will be hard pressed to find anything to compare with the spaciousness. The bathroom actually has a bath and separate shower as well!! Rooms are tastefully decorated with just the right amount of Thai influence. And the beds??? Think king size and add another 15%!!! They are reasonably firm, but still comfortable. And the pillows are fluffy!!

...Breakfast. Very good variety. The dishes change most mornings. They have an egg bay where you can have eggs cooked in front of you, any way you would like them. My favourite is the omelette with the lot!!

...Staff and general feel. Both years we have stayed, the staff have been very friendly and helpful. They seem happy, which is a good indication that they enjoy working in their environment.

...Owner/Managing Director. Each Friday night Jaspal hosts a cocktail party for ALL guests. There is a band that plays music in the background, as well as delicious finger food and any drinks that you would like (including cocktails). Jaspal is an extremely hands on owner and is genuinely interested in critiques of the resort. He goes out of his way to talk to EVERY person who is at the cocktail party.

Conclusion...I am the type of person who analyses most things that come my way (a hazard of my occupation). I have high standards and expectations. Karon Sea Sands Resort is "the total package". It ticks every box that you could come up with. However, I WOULD say that if you are a family with children under 12, you may like to consider a resort that has more "child friendly" water slides etc. It is day 3 for us this time around. Today is Songkran, the Buddhist festival marking the Thai New Year. It is a massive water festival which we are looking forward to celebrating.

David Bye
Loxton, Australia

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Byesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Karon Beach
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#26 Family Hotel in Karon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $42 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa boasts beach front vistas of the spectacular azure waters of the Andaman Sea, endless expanses of golden sand and beaches and awe inspiring evening sunsets. We provide the perfect location & accommodation, offering our guests all the comforts & luxury they have come to expect from the minute they walk through our door. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa offers a culturally diverse selection of dining options from intimate a la carte dining to room service and takeaway. Exercise in our fully equipped gymnasium, swim laps of our pool, enjoy relaxing massages & beauty treatments, inspire & develop your culinary skills by enrolling in one of our Thai or Indian cooking classes. At the end of the day, relax in our tropical surrounds enjoying a refreshing cocktail, listen to mood music from our resident entertainers as you watch a spectacular sunset and the closing of another day in paradise. Karon Sea Sands offers guests traditional Thai hospitality complimented with modern facilities & amenities. Our professional, experienced and courteous staff are on hand to look after your every need and to ensure that your stay with us is a pleasurable and memorable occasion. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, your ultimate resort destination, and we are in the right location! Situated on the south western seaboard between Kata and Patong, Karon is 60 minutes from Phuket International Airport, 15 minutes from Patong or a 30 minute drive to Phuket Town. Our resort is situated within easy walking distance of Karon’s shopping centers, markets, tourist attractions and nightlife venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing