We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Locattion in Karon and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Locattion in Karon and Value”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel isnt the greatest but the place kind of grows on you hour by hour. The pool has its unique layout which is cool but I think the location of the place is the best part. The city of Karon is really busy and I wouldve hate to stayed at a hotel in the downtown area.. The location is across the street from the public beach and is chilled. You can walk 10 minutes into the hustle and bussle of the city and get a good meal and drinks but its a short of walk to be just far away. The rooms are good and not great, the brunch is good but not great, but for the price its a great value to stay here knowing what we paid and what we couldve paid somewhere else in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    236
    81
    27
    9
See reviews for
174
320
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed there with our young son and found hotel almost perfect. Despite some of the comments we read, we dont seem to have encountered any problems except for the lack of English spoken.

1. Pool access brilliant- it is such a quirky idea and we loved making the swim back to our room after a trip out (tip-bring water proof holder for phones and keys!)
2. Staff friendly& smiley. - lacking in English but when we needed to communicate more detailed stuff, there was a middle aged male worker who spoke fluent English. No problem there!
3. Room size, decor & cleanliness- wonderful
4. Beach access- under a minute!
5.Location- great, situated away from main street, but so close enough for entertainment. Loads of restaurants and shops
6. Restaurant. Breakfast buffet was good but not amazing (but how much can you eat at breakfast). Never tried out the restaurant for dinner because there was so many ither places to try out. It was a real shame as the hotel & staff put a real effort into arranging themed nights etc.
7. Children activities- none but no need. Very child friendly place and can take kids with you everywhere!
**Lovely for family as not to daunting/loud etc but perfect beach and enough to enjoy!

Room Tip: Pick pool access room! Privacy is not a problem as there is tinted glass!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willis175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Overall, this place was totally average. I have no idea how it got such good reviews. Stay somewhere else! We had cold showers 3 of our 4 nights. We called the front desk and the maintenance man argued that the water was hot. It was about the temperature of the pool. Something was lost in translation. While this hotel is right across from the beach, it's next to a tattoo parlor and some other seedy-looking establishments. The rates for this hotel were completely outrageous for the quality of the accommodations - everything seemed really dated, the shower was cold, the shower didn't have a basin so be prepared to flood the entire bathroom with one 5 minute cold shower. The staff tried to be helpful but most of them (including the front desk) could speak little English. We also incurred charges for drinks at the pool a day we never even visited the pool. We didn't figure this out until after we checked out. Would never go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinagirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello. Having read your review, I interviewed my staff over this incident and it appears that lost in translation is perhaps a good excuse, but not a valid reason for your experience.
Let me say that since your stay here, we have directed our engineering to check all electrical outlets in the rooms once a guest checks out and to work in association with the housekeeping department.
With regards to the unfair charges to your room. I am extremely sorry for it. It should not have happened and would love to be able to offer you some sort of consolation over that experience. Feel free to contact me, Jaspal, via the resort. Come stay with us and we will ensure these incidences do not occurr again.
Our hotel is situated on one of the safest, most beautiful areas of Karon. I can assure you, the restaurants, shops and tattoo parlors are of excellent quality and complement our business and area very well.
Thank you for your comments.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in December and thought it was ok. We came from the Holiday Inn in Patong and expected something similar. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the pool access rooms are great, well worth the extra money. Breakfast is ok, ok variety but most of it is cold. I found the staff friendly but not very helpful as they struggled speaking English. My biggest criticism would be the massage. I asked the girl numerous times to go softer but she just ignored me. She also had a cold and sniffled and snorted for the whole 90 mins!! Was not a pleasant experience. Location is great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fracov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments and suggestions. We had a departmental meeting to ensure staff with sniffles stay away from our guests. We are not only a beautiful resort with beautiful beaches, but also beautiful guests. We hope this does not stop you from coming back.
With the massage being a bit painful, I am sorry. The "pain" can vary depending on what type of massage you asked for. A traditional Thai massage is a bit painful and perhaps the girl could not fathom a non painful Thai massage? I am only guessing here. But we are also implementing English lessons for them hoping understandings do not happen as often as it can.
Thank you for staying with us.
Please check us on facebook. Your picture could be there. Let us know and we will add your name to it or remove it.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Karon beach is a great place to stay. We started our honeymoon at the Karon Sea Sands and were not disapointed. It is a quiet hotel with a really nice pool right in the middle of the room balconies. The room was well furnished and the bed was comfortable.

The beach is only a 2 minute walk away from the front desk, where you can check out a beach towel free of charge every day. Being set back from the main road about 50m, there isn't too much noise that gets to the hotel.

Our main criticism is that the shower situation isn't as good as it should be, for the price. The drain was clogged and often it flooded over into the bathroom. We told them about this and they cleaned it, but they didn't unclog the drain. It was a little frustrating, but perhaps understandable since the massive quantity of sand that probably goes down the drain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolhandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Karon Sea Sands Resort for a week and were happy with the location and quality of the room. It is a modern resort with good facilities and a very good buffet breakfast. The hotel is set away from the main road which reduces noise but is also only a minute's walk to the beach. We would stay at the hotel again, but our only gripe was that the reception staff were not very helpful and were not very professional on check in, shouting to one another and they did not tell us anything about the hotel or the area. Despite this, still a pleasant stay and a nice hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethMck312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A boutique hotel about 5 minutes off the beach...Great bar, great breakfast, really nice Thai in the restaurant---room was clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing and always helpful----best service and stay we had in Thailand!

Room Tip: We stayed at front of resort---very private and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#27 of 134 in Karon
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#23 of 134 in Karon
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 134 in Karon
332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Property: Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#25 Spa Hotel in Karon
#26 Family Hotel in Karon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa boasts beach front vistas of the spectacular azure waters of the Andaman Sea, endless expanses of golden sand and beaches and awe inspiring evening sunsets. We provide the perfect location & accommodation, offering our guests all the comforts & luxury they have come to expect from the minute they walk through our door. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa offers a culturally diverse selection of dining options from intimate a la carte dining to room service and takeaway. Exercise in our fully equipped gymnasium, swim laps of our pool, enjoy relaxing massages & beauty treatments, inspire & develop your culinary skills by enrolling in one of our Thai or Indian cooking classes. At the end of the day, relax in our tropical surrounds enjoying a refreshing cocktail, listen to mood music from our resident entertainers as you watch a spectacular sunset and the closing of another day in paradise. Karon Sea Sands offers guests traditional Thai hospitality complimented with modern facilities & amenities. Our professional, experienced and courteous staff are on hand to look after your every need and to ensure that your stay with us is a pleasurable and memorable occasion. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, your ultimate resort destination, and we are in the right location! Situated on the south western seaboard between Kata and Patong, Karon is 60 minutes from Phuket International Airport, 15 minutes from Patong or a 30 minute drive to Phuket Town. Our resort is situated within easy walking distance of Karon’s shopping centers, markets, tourist attractions and nightlife venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing