We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water for showers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Overall, this place was totally average. I have no idea how it got such good reviews. Stay somewhere else! We had cold showers 3 of our 4 nights. We called the front desk and the maintenance man argued that the water was hot. It was about the temperature of the pool. Something was lost in translation. While this hotel is right across from the beach, it's next to a tattoo parlor and some other seedy-looking establishments. The rates for this hotel were completely outrageous for the quality of the accommodations - everything seemed really dated, the shower was cold, the shower didn't have a basin so be prepared to flood the entire bathroom with one 5 minute cold shower. The staff tried to be helpful but most of them (including the front desk) could speak little English. We also incurred charges for drinks at the pool a day we never even visited the pool. We didn't figure this out until after we checked out. Would never go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolinagirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hello. Having read your review, I interviewed my staff over this incident and it appears that lost in translation is perhaps a good excuse, but not a valid reason for your experience.
Let me say that since your stay here, we have directed our engineering to check all electrical outlets in the rooms once a guest checks out and to work in association with the housekeeping department.
With regards to the unfair charges to your room. I am extremely sorry for it. It should not have happened and would love to be able to offer you some sort of consolation over that experience. Feel free to contact me, Jaspal, via the resort. Come stay with us and we will ensure these incidences do not occurr again.
Our hotel is situated on one of the safest, most beautiful areas of Karon. I can assure you, the restaurants, shops and tattoo parlors are of excellent quality and complement our business and area very well.
Thank you for your comments.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 763 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in December and thought it was ok. We came from the Holiday Inn in Patong and expected something similar. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the pool access rooms are great, well worth the extra money. Breakfast is ok, ok variety but most of it is cold. I found the staff friendly but not very helpful as they struggled speaking English. My biggest criticism would be the massage. I asked the girl numerous times to go softer but she just ignored me. She also had a cold and sniffled and snorted for the whole 90 mins!! Was not a pleasant experience. Location is great!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fracov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments and suggestions. We had a departmental meeting to ensure staff with sniffles stay away from our guests. We are not only a beautiful resort with beautiful beaches, but also beautiful guests. We hope this does not stop you from coming back.
With the massage being a bit painful, I am sorry. The "pain" can vary depending on what type of massage you asked for. A traditional Thai massage is a bit painful and perhaps the girl could not fathom a non painful Thai massage? I am only guessing here. But we are also implementing English lessons for them hoping understandings do not happen as often as it can.
Thank you for staying with us.
Please check us on facebook. Your picture could be there. Let us know and we will add your name to it or remove it.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Karon beach is a great place to stay. We started our honeymoon at the Karon Sea Sands and were not disapointed. It is a quiet hotel with a really nice pool right in the middle of the room balconies. The room was well furnished and the bed was comfortable.

The beach is only a 2 minute walk away from the front desk, where you can check out a beach towel free of charge every day. Being set back from the main road about 50m, there isn't too much noise that gets to the hotel.

Our main criticism is that the shower situation isn't as good as it should be, for the price. The drain was clogged and often it flooded over into the bathroom. We told them about this and they cleaned it, but they didn't unclog the drain. It was a little frustrating, but perhaps understandable since the massive quantity of sand that probably goes down the drain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolhandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Karon Sea Sands Resort for a week and were happy with the location and quality of the room. It is a modern resort with good facilities and a very good buffet breakfast. The hotel is set away from the main road which reduces noise but is also only a minute's walk to the beach. We would stay at the hotel again, but our only gripe was that the reception staff were not very helpful and were not very professional on check in, shouting to one another and they did not tell us anything about the hotel or the area. Despite this, still a pleasant stay and a nice hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethMck312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A boutique hotel about 5 minutes off the beach...Great bar, great breakfast, really nice Thai in the restaurant---room was clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing and always helpful----best service and stay we had in Thailand!

Room Tip: We stayed at front of resort---very private and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Karon Sea Sands Resort for 10 nights in Nov, with another Kiwi couple. We loved our stay at Karon Sea Sands. We got a deal through Goupon and upgraded to a pool access room. It was perfect for afternoon drinks on your deck, and swimming over and having a cocktail on happy hour at the pool bar. We meet a few Kiwis and Aussies, but yes Karon Beach is been taken over by Russians. The buffet breakfast in the morning is wonderful. Fantastic egg station. My husband worked out in the gym and thought it was great for a small resort. We found all the people that worked at Karon Beach very very friendly, some of there english was not that great, but ha you are in Thailand. Joliza who managers the reception is fantastic, her english is very good and she is very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were cleaned everyday and very spacious. Perfect location, as there are so many resturants around, they are all great value. The beach was nice and clean when we arrived, upon leaving the wind had changed and had lots of rubbish around. Green Chillie around the corner of hotel has 120bht Jug beers and very very cold, meals are great also. Only pay 300bht to Patong. We will be back to stay. Thank you Karon Sea Sands for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: If you like to watch people, meet people or like stocking up your fridge with beers and swimming, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice and relaxing you can go to the beach just a walk out your gate u can catch a tuktuk to town and come back to peace and quiet there are heaps of good places and they are a lot cheaper they have night markets and shops and bars

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#8 of 11 in Karon Beach
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#18 Spa Hotel in Karon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $72 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa boasts beach front vistas of the spectacular azure waters of the Andaman Sea, endless expanses of golden sand and beaches and awe inspiring evening sunsets. We provide the perfect location & accommodation, offering our guests all the comforts & luxury they have come to expect from the minute they walk through our door. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa offers a culturally diverse selection of dining options from intimate a la carte dining to room service and takeaway. Exercise in our fully equipped gymnasium, swim laps of our pool, enjoy relaxing massages & beauty treatments, inspire & develop your culinary skills by enrolling in one of our Thai or Indian cooking classes. At the end of the day, relax in our tropical surrounds enjoying a refreshing cocktail, listen to mood music from our resident entertainers as you watch a spectacular sunset and the closing of another day in paradise. Karon Sea Sands offers guests traditional Thai hospitality complimented with modern facilities & amenities. Our professional, experienced and courteous staff are on hand to look after your every need and to ensure that your stay with us is a pleasurable and memorable occasion. Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, your ultimate resort destination, and we are in the right location! Situated on the south western seaboard between Kata and Patong, Karon is 60 minutes from Phuket International Airport, 15 minutes from Patong or a 30 minute drive to Phuket Town. Our resort is situated within easy walking distance of Karon’s shopping centers, markets, tourist attractions and nightlife venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing