We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karona Resort & Spa
Ranked #79 of 133 Hotels in Karon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel!”
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We booked our room through a friend of a friend, a local travel agent in Thailand. As such we got the hotel for a good rate.

Honestly, this is a great hotel. Our room was incredibly stylish, clean and bright. The finish was lovely. Silk sashes on the bed, a fantastic bathroom. Good aircon (very necessary!).

The staff at the hotel were lovely, we enjoyed dining on-site in the hotel restaurant and at the pool-side bar. The pool itself is beautiful, with two-tiers and cute little stone statues all around.

The pool is close to shops, the beach and restaurants - I recommend 'On the Rocks' you will need to book, but it's a real treat. Just a few minutes from the hotel.

The spa seemed quite pricey. If you want a massage or any pampering, look to one of the spas outside of the hotel. They offer better value for money.

I highly recommend the Karona Resort and Spa. Book, you will not regret it.

  • Liked — The room was very stylish in decor
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darrenbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    83
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
43
99
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We had 2 deluxe seaview roooms booked through goandaman website. We got a great rate becasue i believe its off-season at the moment in phuket. The hotel overall is a good budget option, and great for low season. I would dread to think what it would be like in peak season as it felt quite clautophobic being a small hotel.

The reception staff are nice and helpful, the inital presentation of the hotel reception area is nice. The outside of the rooms look a bit grim and could do with a coat of paint.

The pool area is nice but could do with a good scrub to clean ip uo and scoop up the leaves. There were about 20 sunbeds provided. Ther are a lot more than 20 rooms. Think peak time !!!.
We were fortunately ok when it camto finding a sunbed. The sunbed area overlooks a plastic corrugated restaurant roof. Not very attractive and the whole pool area is quite crammed in becasue the resort goes up the hill. Quite a few steps too and no lifts. One weird thing, the hotel is very noisy due to the insects/cicadas at night. I thought that there was a fire alarm going off somewhere, but it was tons of insects making a real racket/ We had to have the aircon on at night and a few drinks to help us get to sleep.



Breakfast buffet was adequate. Cold tea/coffee. Not in the best area of Karon beach. The nearest beach is dirty and as bit unsafe for kiddies to swim in the sea.

its cleaner towards the patong end of the beach, although the same swimming risks apply. If you have a tight budget, this is good, if you can pay a bit more, i would try the Hilton in Karon, lovely spacious grounds and pools.

  • Liked — large shower, freshly tiled bathroom.
  • Disliked — mossies in the room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheluvz2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We spent 6 nights at the Karona in late March and had a fantastic time. The place was amazing value for money and we would recommend it to anyone, although people with mobility issues would need to request a ground floor room as there are a lot of stairs otherwise. We contacted the hotel directly for prices but found it was much cheaper (approx. AU$30/night) to book through AsiaRooms. The resort is in a handy and beautiful location right down the end of Karon Beach. The room was very large and was furnished beautifully and we had a great view as well. We found the staff generally provided great service and were very attentive. The free buffet breakfast was the hilight of my day! The restaurant was also great value for money as you get a progresive discount up to a maximum of 20% Would definitely go back. Although the place is only 3 stars it feels like much more. The only draw back was the taxi touts at the exit, although they're not as persistent as in other places. Would recommend to couples on a romantic holiday (as we were) or families.

  • Liked — Large rooms with beautiful decor and views
  • Disliked — Taxi touts at the entrance
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RachSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We just had a wonderful stay at the Karona Resort and Spa last week. It was our 1st trip to Phuket and the staff there was nothing short of excellent. For those of you travelling on a budget, you can't beat the Karona. It's not a fancy 5 star resort... but it's clean, quiet, and I can't say enough about the service. I would have to agree that Karon beach is so much better than the crowded Patong beach.

I would agree that it's not handicap friendly. There is a ramp and for those who have special needs, and they do have rooms on the lower level. We had a small issue with our air conditioner. By the time we were back from our night out, they had it back up and running.

I've read other reviews complaining about the restaurant's limited menu. If you're looking for hamburgers and pizza, yes it is limited. But why come all the way to Thailand to have hamburgers and pizza? To be honest I'm always weary about eating at the hotel I'm staying at, but I was pleasantly surprised how tasty the Thai dishes were. It was one of our better meals on our trip. They even had a Polyneasian show for entertainment.

Every morning we woke up to a very nice breakfast buffet. The cooks were there to make fresh omlets and made to order eggs.

The pool was very nice and clean. The best part the beach was a short easy 5 min walk. No major hills to over come too.

We didn't use the spa for any of their services. But there were plenty of salons on the corner for those looking for an inexpensive massage, manicure, pedicure, or foot scrub. For about 200 Baht, we treated ourselves to a nice massage every day we were there.

So for those of you on a budget and looking for a nice clean place to stay with outstanding service, we highly recommend the Karona.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Bath towels
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank docuksae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Karona resort and spa is a fantastic hotel, and I had a great time staying there.

Things I liked:
-The location: Karon beach is so much nicer than Patong, it has a much nicer beach and a better atmosphere. However it is not too far from Patong if you want to go shopping.
-The restaurant was great...although we didn't eat there all the time. It was reasonably well priced and had great food.
-The rooms are big and were very clean when we checked in. They have a ceiling fan as well as an air-conditioner.
-The staff were so lovely. They remebered our faces and no request was too much for them to do. They were very friendly and accomodating.
-I found their taxi service was the same price as on the streets.
-The pool was georgeous, with a great design.

Things I didn't like:
There are only a few things that I found concerning.
-The Buffet Breakfast: The breakfast they provided had a huge range of food to choose from, however it was always cold. The bacon I had every morning was cold, as was some of the other dishes. I suggest that you get an omlette freshly made.
-We were a bit early for check in and they told us to wait for an hour and a half for the room to be cleaned, but in the end we had to wait for 2 hours. We had just had a long flight and very little sleep, so this was frustrating.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would love to come back soon.

  • Liked — It was so relaxing and peaceful.
  • Disliked — The cold buffet brekafasts
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2007

We are from Australia and stayed 5 nights at Karona Resort for our honeymoon. For a budget hotel, Karona is magnificent. The rooms were nice and we had a great view of the ocean. The service was excellent, especially the restaurant staff. With just one hour notice, the restaurant staff organised a birthday cake for my husband to be presented to him while we were having dinner. The pool area was also great, with staff bringing drinks over to our sun lounges. We were extremely impressed and would recommend Karona to anyone.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — Having to climb flights of stairs - there are no lifts
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aussie_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#75 of 133 in Karon
421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 133 in Karon
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 133 in Karon
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#65 of 133 in Karon
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#9 of 148 in Karon
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Karon Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karona Resort & Spa

Property: Karona Resort & Spa
Address: 6 Soi Karon Soi 2 | Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#41 Spa Hotel in Karon
#46 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karona Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karona Resort & Spa is located at the heart of the Andaman Sea, on one of the most perfect spots in the Phuket Island. The resort has been designed to bring you the most moderate, cozy and harmony surroundings of the tropical rain forest. Rooms have been decorated with tropical plants and trees where cultivated sculptures would be found at every corner of the landscape. Genuine pieces of ceramic arts are decorated on designed wall to reflect the Tropical resort by the sea. Karona Tropical feature 55 superior rooms in 9 low rise buildings, 37 deluxe rooms with seaview in the main building 3 suites. We have connecting rooms which are sultable for families as they are two Deluxe rooms with connecting door, and 3 Honeymoon Deluxe, where we have a bathtubs over looking sea view. You may also opt for one of the three luxerious Karona Suite. These are connecting rooms of Deluxe and Superior (1 Single - 1 Double) best for a quality family or friends get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karona Resort And Spa
Karona Hotel Karon
Karona Resort Karon
Karona Resort & Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing