We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karona Resort & Spa
Ranked #80 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed February 21, 2014

we are planning on staying here in July and are undecided on the Deluxe on the Lagoon or family studio deluxe at the lagoon ???

Does anyone know what floor each is located??

We really want a ground floor room for easy access to the pool, which way should we go???

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank brigette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Karona Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 227 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were very pleased with our choice, the price vs. quality was excellent. Good location, very close to beach. Breakfast was good, service as well. We arrived at 5 am, and they gave us the room immediately, with no extra charge (normal check-in time 14 or so).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamariamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff really need to learn better English if they expect foreign visitors. About half of the people we met in the reception did not understand basic English. I asked for help with using the room phone to call external phone numbers in Thailand, and after being told three times how to do it, they explained that guests couldn't call external numbers after all. When I asked for the ferry schedule to Phi Phi in the reception, he said it left 14:30 when it actually left 13:30. Good thing we double checked online.

Of all the hotels we stayed at, this was the one we felt the least welcome in, as the staff did not even greet us when we went through the reception. A funny part is that the hotel information brochure in the room contains a detailed price list for what it costs to damage different items in the room. Very nice if you're a cost conscious rockstar who has planned to trash parts of your room, but why does the average guest need to know that he will be charged exactly 1500 Baht if he rips the curtains?

Room was fine, but the bathrooms were dirty. The toilet and sink were clean, but the walls and the shower were greasy and dirty. The wireless internet was painfully slow. In-room safe costs extra.

Ok breakfast, nice rooms (we stayed in both "superior" and "deluxe"), good air conditioning, and good exercise to walk up the hill to the rooms on the 6th floor. The beach is a very short walk away. Taxi station is close.

They kept our luggage for us when we were away on Phi Phi Island for three days, even when we hadn't ordered a room for when we got back. Thanks!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the walk up to the sixth floor (stairs up a hill through the pool area, and then two floo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

really enjoyed this hotel, everything about it is top class. The staff are so helpful, the rooms are very clean and the location is perfect as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Located across the street from Karon Beach and within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The pool is inviting and has plenty of lounge chairs. Only ate breakfast at the restaurant which was buffet style with plenty to choose from. Wifi worked well in our room, but best at the pool and lobby area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Except of 3 accidents, all was as good as expected. Staff was very careful and attentive. Room condition was good, housekeeping was daily. Almost all the staff have bad English, but its enough to talk about basic needs.
Wifi is free but because of Thai laws you must request it for one device in a room.
Less than 5 minutes to Karon Beach and 15 to Kata Beach.
I think, this hotel is a good option for young group of friends, who searches for cheap and cozy resort and doesn't afraid of some adventures.

About "adventures".
We came to the restorant once and obtained garlic bread with a mold. The waiter apologized and brought a whole plate of toasts, but it spoiled all impression from the lunch. Have not visited it again.

Next day cleaning lady throwed my friend's toothbrush in the trash. I could not understand why she did that. They apologized and gave us the new brush.

During our checking out they tried to take the money for the beach bag, that we allegedly picked up. But we hadn't really seen and used it. After all the administrator abandoned her claims when I reminded theirs previous faults.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pruzhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed here whilst on holiday and we were blown away by the wonderful service we received from all of the staff here, they went out if their way to remember our preferences like which beverage we preferred if we liked tea or coffee with breakfast!
Especially miss Ya who usually works the breakfast and lunch shift, Mr Lift at reception and Mr Wee at the front desk, they shared such amazing hospitality with us and made our holiday so much more memorable.
The resort itself is clean, comfortable and a very relaxing environment, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#71 of 135 in Karon
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 135 in Karon
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#23 of 135 in Karon
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#102 of 135 in Karon
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Karon Beach
752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karona Resort & Spa

Address: 6 Soi Karon Soi 2 | Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#41 Spa Hotel in Karon
#46 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $28 - $1,768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karona Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karona Resort & Spa is located at the heart of the Andaman Sea, on one of the most perfect spots in the Phuket Island. The resort has been designed to bring you the most moderate, cozy and harmony surroundings of the tropical rain forest. Rooms have been decorated with tropical plants and trees where cultivated sculptures would be found at every corner of the landscape. Genuine pieces of ceramic arts are decorated on designed wall to reflect the Tropical resort by the sea. Karona Tropical feature 55 superior rooms in 9 low rise buildings, 37 deluxe rooms with seaview in the main building 3 suites. We have connecting rooms which are sultable for families as they are two Deluxe rooms with connecting door, and 3 Honeymoon Deluxe, where we have a bathtubs over looking sea view. You may also opt for one of the three luxerious Karona Suite. These are connecting rooms of Deluxe and Superior (1 Single - 1 Double) best for a quality family or friends get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karona Resort And Spa
Karona Hotel Karon
Karona Resort Karon
Karona Resort & Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing