We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for the price paid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karon Princess Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 129 Hotels in Karon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good for the price paid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Got the hotel at a very good rate through Sawadee so was not expecting too much, but seeing as only staying for 2 nights not too bothered. Had a good stay at this hotel. Stayed in the 2nd block away from reception (rm 2207) and was very happy with the room. Large, clean with a balcony. Two very comfortable twin beds (as requested), clean sheets. In-room safe and mini fridge which we used to store our own drinks with no problems. Good powerful shower. Lots of eateries very close to the hotel-come out of the hotel and turn left and you will find that the 1st street on the left, which you cannot miss is full of restaurants. We ate at a couple - chose the busiest and had good food. Reception staff always helpful whenever we asked for anything and we arrranged both airport pick-up and drop-off with reception, both trips without any problems. Across the road from the beach, as are all other hotels around here. Would stay again. Stayed for 2 nights, beginning August 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldRoamer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    100
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
50
93
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel so can't comment but we ate here and my advice is DO NOT! The service was absolutely shocking - they forgot my order and my husband had already eaten. When I complained it was like water off a ducks back. He also got really bad food poisoning from the so called 'fresh seafood'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For the price, I expected less but it is budget all of the way. Two single, rock hard beds, glasses that were never changed even when I took them down to reception (we were using them for drinks each night). I ended up washing them in the sink with the soap....

No where can you get ice but make it with the bottles of water left in the room - not very convenient. Just give me an ice machine for heaven's sake. I asked if I could get ice and I was told there was a charge.

The rat at the pool in the evening was interesting. I tried to tell the other people sitting there about the rat but they spoke Russian. We finally told them "Mickey Mouse" and explained in English/Russian they have seen many at the hotel....yikes.

Minus the rat, the pool is nice but not enough sun beds or umbrellas. the huge golf umbrella in the hotel for us non-sun lovers was a nice touch and I thought the breakfast was great. Cereal, fresh fruit, egg station, yogurt and noodles - plenty to fill your face with.

This hotel is ACROSS the road, as are almost all properties in Phuket. You will pay 200 Baht for two sun beds no matter where you go. Wasn't too impressed with Karon Beach but it was monsoon season and the garbage was blowing up on the beach and in the water. What a pity.

The kite flyers at this beach were cool though. This hotel is a good hike to many places but we managed to walk/tuk tuk everywhere and then get away from the madness. If you want budget, this place should do...just bring a cooler to store your ice!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelorojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Its an average hotel in Karon. Right by the beach, and the rooms is really nice. The food in the restaurant isnt anything special, and the staff aint nothing at all.We had stayed for 5 min and the "bag man" asked us to buy something illegal, and that was not a good experience. If you would have a ok+ hotel in Karon, its ok to stay here. 1 min to the beach, and 3 min to city centre. Although id rather stay in Patong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andysb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Let me start by saying that the location of this hotel is great. It is right on the beach, and just outside the hustle and bustle of famous Patong. The rooms are huge and pretty well kept. However we experienced the worst service...

We had to depart our hotel for the airport very early, at 6 am. The day before we prebooked a taxi with the front desk and told them we would need to check out early. The next morning we got to the desk at about 5:50 am, and no one was at the desk. We had to get the women who were setting up breakfast in the restaurant to wake up the front desk attendant and the bell hop who were sleeping on the lobby couches. We then had to wait for the front desk man to check the mini bar in a room. We waited, and we he returned I was ready to pay but he kept saying he had to check the mini bar again for some reason... This time he sent somebody else (we didnt even touch a thing from the mini bar!) By this time, our taxi is waiting. By the time he allowed us to pay for the room and officially check out it was 6:20. We were very disappointed with the lack of friendliness and service at this hotel.

Don't eat at the restaurant either, as they have live music which is played so loudly you can't even think let alone have a conversation with anybody. The food is quite average.

The beach was also a let down. Although we were there in the low season so the sea was quite rough and we weren't allowed to swim because of rip tides. The beach was covered in garbage, everything from old shoes, shampoo bottles, to paint cans, syringes, and pill bottles. You can actually see the garbage washing up to the beach in the waves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I travelled with my son to Karon Beach February 2011. Karon Princess Hotel was very nice: room was big and it was cleaned well every day. Cleaner even borught us flowers to room. We got every day fresh drinking water to room as well and filled minibar. Tea, coffee and cocoa was included to price.

Next to road was beach and location was pretty good. Breakfast was wonderful and there was lots of alternatives.

Staff was friendly and we enjoyed a lot staying here. Only one minus thing was that pools were dirty. Kids pool smelled like dog food...I don´t even want to quess what was in the water.

Anyway, I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The main advantage of Karon Princess is its location. Situated just across the beach and the Naga statue, it’s far enough of the town center for those looking for some calm, but still offers a wide selection of massage places, restaurants and small shops next to the hotel.
The town is only 15 min walking so it is also not that far away. And there’s a tuk tuk and taxi station opposite from the main door.

Although the main entrance is not very appealing, the rooms are big and well equipped. The bed is HUGE (2m*2m I think). There’s a safe, a small tv, a powerful a/c and a small balcony with views to a little nice garden.
The rooms were cleaned daily, and fresh towers (even beach towers) and 2 bottles of water were provided. Especially the free water was a very nice touch.
A couple of days we spotted some small bugs in the room, but nothing threatening, I assume they were just like wing-less thai flies. They were easy to get rid of, though ☺

The swimming pool is ok, nothing special, but still nice to relax after the beach.

Breakfast is very varied, offering 4-5 daily changing “thai-breakfast dishes” besides the usual cereals, milk, fruits, etc… Only things I missed were a good fresh juice and some chocolate spread… But the omelet + bacon bar was good enough.

Cocktails were nice but expensive.

The hotel organizes some activities, but I would suggest going to one of the tour operators in town, which offer the same activities with a big discount.

Overall a good value for money. If I ever go back to Phuket I would definitely consider coming back to Karon Princess.

Warning: When we were there (Nov11) there was a big construction starting next to the hotel. Although it was very calm when we were there, this might have changed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fledermaus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#55 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#74 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#81 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#85 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woraburi Resort Spa Phuket
0.2 mi away
Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Princess Hotel

Property: Karon Princess Hotel
Address: 194 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Princess Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Karon Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Princess Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing