We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karon Whale Resort Phuket
Nearby Hotels
$115
$92
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
$154
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$102
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyond Resort Karon(Karon)(Great Value!)
$167
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$255
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
24
49
26
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
49
26
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschoose this hotelpool access roomwould stay againvery nice hotelhot waterrooms are spaciouspool sidemin walkkettleinternetconveniencephukettoiletriesmassage
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 118 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

During our visit last year to Karon we met a couple from Australia who were staying at the KWR (Karon Whale Resort) and said it was very nice. As we knew we were going to be in Karon this year we went and had a look. The entrance was very good although we didnt look at any rooms.
We booked over the internet for 13 days and were happy with the price.
On arrival we were checked in and soon to our rooms.
The rooms smelt very musty great access to the pool. We had no shower curtain over the bath and there was "black mould" in the seal around the bath. It was most likely clean but looked terrible.
We had breakfast which was good, but decided we didnt want to stay.
We packed our bags and went to reception and told them we were moving out.
Not one person at reception asked us if there was a problem and why we were checking out.
We paid the cost of 1 nights accommodation and departed.
Another issue was it cost BHT500 a day of WiFi and BHT50 a day for the room safe, I can understand a charge fo WiFi, but never been charged for a room safe before....

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great, but check the rooms first
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael93George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our holiday at the Karon Whale Resort didn't get off to a good start as the transfer we had booked from the airport to the hotel didn't turn up although this had been booked directly with the hotel. We had to get a taxi from the airport which actually cost less than what we would have paid for the hotel transfer. On arrival the manager apologised and upgraded us to a poolside room.
After this disappointing start our holiday just got better and better, we were able to walk straight out of our room to the pool and sun loungers and on most days we were the only people in the pool.

Our room was spacious and was cleaned every day, bed linen was changed every couple of days and towels were changed daily. Pool towels were available from the bar. Although the rooms were pretty dated and could do with refurbishing. they were clean, there was a safe, a TV, a hot water heater for tea and coffee, a hairdryer and toiletries in the room. Tea and coffee sachets were provided and renewed every day together with 2 complimentary bottles of water.
The bed was enormous and very comfortable, the air conditioning was very effective and easy to control.

The pool area and gardens were lovely, very clean and well maintained. One large pool and one small shallow pool for children were available, there was also a sauna in the grounds.

Communication with the staff was difficult at times as very few of them spoke English, however we managed and this didn't cause any real problems. During the first week of our stay the breakfast was served buffet style with plenty of choice,during the second week it changed to al le carte which was a suprise as no warning had been given that this would happen. Choice of food was lessened but was still OK, apparently the change was made because we had entered the low season and there were fewer guests staying at the hotel making a buffet style service uneconomical.

The hotel is very well situated in the heart Of Karon but is in a cul-de- sac, so no traffic noise when you are trying to sleep.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Karon Whale Resort to anyone who wants to chill out in peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms give immediate acess to the pool area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you're planning to go to Phuket you can can certainly choose this Hotel!
It's really close to the seaside but it's also hidden from the main road so the cars and motorbikes will not disturb you.
Very good breakfast is available and sunny swimming pool!
Rooms a big, really well cleaned and the A/C work great!

Try the thay massage at the top of the garden, you'll feel brand new!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GliwiceOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stumbled across this one stayed for just one night as booked to go elsewhere. Looks grand from the foyer, rooms very clean, with good amenities, breakfast was buffet style with good choice. Swimming pool good and clean with plenty of sunbeds. Ideally located for bars/restaurants etc.

I had some issues using the hotel wi-fi and lost some property, found it difficult to get myself understood.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotel-Inspector2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

After our first trip on Karon beach we were sure we gonna get back there soon. This time our choise was Karon Whale - much more closer to the sea then our previous hotel.

The hotel is situated between Karon and Kata - the top two beaches for a budget vacation. The territory is tiny, but very well-groomed. The staff is well-wishing and kindly reacts on any wishes of guests. The room was tidy enough, safebox is avalable but costs 50 bahts/day (there's also an option to use a free of charge one on reception).

The breakfasts are not chic but worth of money you pay for them.

Karon Whale is a great hotel to stay for the sleep. Use it as a base point to move around Phuket. Chill out on Patong, enjoy the sea on Karon and Kata, go see Phuket Town. This hotel one of the cheapest nice little hotels to have fun of Thailand even in the middle of "rainy" seasons.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews