We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, no frills.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Phuket Island View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Island View
Ranked #78 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value, no frills.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for four nughts in August at the end of a backpacking trip in Thailand. The rooms represent good value for money, and although dated, are kept very clean.

This hotel is popular with Russian package tourists..

If you are looking for luxury, go elsewhere, but for this price point, it is about as good as you will find in Phuket.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    168
    59
    27
    22
See reviews for
98
172
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a couple of stays here and also with lots of friends and family with kids.

rooms were mostly good even standard and superior. One of the standards had a bed that a child had obviously pee'd in and the reaction from the staff was the cover the mattress with blanket but not change it (they said management would not allow them to do anything for standard rooms).

Hotel facilities are nice, nice pools, nice location to beach and a good restaurant and massage place.

But anything you ask for out of what you get seems to be an issue. We did book a double room but got twins. This happened to a lots of our friends.
We tried to get my elderly mother closer to the ground floor as she had fallen in her bathroom but we were told "no" (once we complained to management it changed but we had to wait)
Rooms can be noisy as there is a night club next door - rooms 201,301 can we very very noisy.

This place could be good but just be aware of the service (mystery charges for a teaspoon missing - even though pretty obvious room service took it after an in room meal).

Ask for anything special on your booking and you are likely not to get it. They don't even look (so adjoining rooms, double rooms, twin rooms or lower floor - its just luck go the draw at check in).

Good luck - you could have a great stay or you might not - throw the dice :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed there in December 2011 and found out that it's good location, clean, staff but there were many places better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank River S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Gavleborgs Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I think it is to much complaing on the staff. They are friendly and do not hasitetes to help. We even choes specialróom number and we got them, thats really sweet. The Hotel is not a luxury hotel but its good price and affordable. The pool area and the garden is really pleasent. The rooms are clean, and we had flowers in it when we arrived.The breakfast is really good and its plenty of food. And the staff, the cleaners and baggage guys is so sweet and always a smile and really frindly.Miss them all! if you want a hotel with good price, nice garden, close to the beach, good breakfast and friendly staff this is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked superior accommodation nearlly 7months before arriving and also sent them several emails in between to make sure that everything was ok as we were travelling with our kids for their first trip to Phuket plus we were also travelling with friends and wanted to have our children and theirs next to us adults so asked for interconnecting rooms to be told that that was fine and all organised. Well that didnt happen, we arrive at this place after having already stayed at a wonderful place for the past 2wks, once we checked in we were taken to the very back of the hotel to these very dingy an unmaintained rooms being told by reception that these were superior rooms at the time but i knew they werent as i had seen on their web page that the superior were alot better, so went back to reception and complained about the state of the rooms after alot of discussions they finally admited that they had over booked the rooms and given them to other people that payed for an upgrade once they arrived we were not happy at all especially when they then said their is nothing we can do but u can go find other accomodation if ur not happy (what a joke on 30th Dec impossble) then after more arguements with them they finally found 2rooms to give us and had to wait till the next day for more and as it was these rooms werent even near each other i had to have my 9&10 yr olds a couple of rooms away from us and the teenagers were in a totally different block from us. I dont normally complain as i have been to Phuket on 6 different occasions and always loved it, but this hotel would have to be the worst staff were sooo rude and unfriendly i dont think i really saw them smile, New Years eve buffet was a joke yes there was plenty of food but music was way to loud and the staff were just standing around talking to each other and it took forever just to try and get their attention to be served drinks, the morning brekky was pretty average to. I cant believe that the only good thing i could say about this place is that it is across the road from the beach and close to shops. This is one place i would never recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Just pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellingCouple76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

These people need to learn what hospitaliy is a total disaster from start to finish. tried to stiff us with standard rooms when we had booked and paid for superior. Booked adjoining rooms 7 months in advance and was told it couldn't happen, it didn't get any better, the staff were rude and lied from start to finish... Ruined a great trip... Never again...a must avoid in our opinion...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had just had a fast paced 2 weeks travelling and working in Cambodia and Thailand and this was our last few days to simply chill out and relax.
Well, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large, clean and the service was fantastic.
The 3 pools were amazing and the complimentary breakfast was superb.
The Restaurant for dinner was great and the service by the staff excellent.
Close to beach, shops, and other attractions.
We had a 20 year old, 19 year old, two 16 year olds, a 12 year old plus three 40 year olds and there was something for all.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking one of the pools.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#17 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karona Resort & Spa
Karona Resort & Spa
#79 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doolay Hostel
Doolay Hostel
#15 of 108 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#9 of 147 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Island View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Island View

Property: Phuket Island View
Address: 144 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phuket Island View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Island View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Island View Hotel Karon
Phuket Island View Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing