We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad I chose Marina Phuket” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Phuket Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So glad I chose Marina Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

My partner and i stayed at the Marina Phuket for five nights the last week of February 2011. We stayed in an ocean view bungalow and thought the property was really splendid. They really do a nice job of keeping up the expansive property with it's jungle setting. They provided large flat screens with free internet.
I was concerned it was going to be remote, but it was perfectly situated at the best end of Karon beach at the Kata beach boundry. Lots of restaurants, shops, convenience stores, etc, were right outside the main entry. Plus the beach was a quick walk down from our bungalow. To maintain such a property in humid Thailand must be such a great effort and my applause to the hotel management.
Their restaurant "On The Rock" was a pleasure and reasonably priced, I thought.
Breakfast, which was included, at the Thai Sala restaurant was very nice and they gave us a free dinner one night at that restaurant. It was quite good.
If I ever return to Phuket, I'd not think twice to book at the Marina Phuket

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    203
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
283
597
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in February.
When we arrived the formalities were accompanied by cold towels and a refreshing cold drink, which was appreciated after a long journey of 75 minutes from the airport Free if booked online.
We were then taken to our room by a friendly member of staff, the jungle walkway to the room went on and on and on and on so I asked was it much further, the girl said no "just up these steps" my heart nearly stopped there and then, a series of steps ahead with no rooms in sight. Not wanting to appear a wimp I wiped my sweaty brow gritted my teeth and followed her and the wife, who were happily chatting away. We eventually arrived at our Jungle View room J114. The girl showed us how everything worked the room was superb with central bath large tv, super bed and furnishings all rooms have free wifi, she described it as a sexy room, but after the climb up all the steps the mind was willing but the body was weak, my wife did not like the see through glass doors on the toilet and shower.
We had to move to a Garden View room for the next 3 nights, these rooms are pretty basic air con,good shower, no tv but very clean and the cheapest room at the resort, but a lot closer to the pool, restaurants beach, reception and shops etc this suited us fine as we out on the beach from breakfast till teatime.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic, all the usual goodies, if you want eggs order them as soon as you sit down they take about 10 minutes as they are cooked to order. A little tip from my tea drinking wife take your own tea bag the ones provided were a bit weak, the coffee though was great.
Booking online you get a free meal for two in the Sala Thai. The food and service was very, very good. The On the Rocks restaurant was fully booked for our last night but has a great reputation so we went back to the Sala Thai superb food, chicken and cashews the wifes favourite with king prawns to start.
Out of the hotel and turn right takes your down to Karon beach and a few shops etc, turn right and you're in the lively centre of Kata, shops, bars, restaurants just keep walking and get a tuk tuk back cost about 150 baht about £3 or if you want to go to Kata beach it costs about the same. Kata beach was our favourite, not as busy as Karon and had better feel the beach food though was better on Karon beach.
One bad experience on the food front was an Italian called Sorrento keep out of this place our food was dreadful and the service was worse.
If you are booking a room here, ask when booking for one on the lower level it makes life so much easier.Drinks outside the hotel are around 60 to 70 baht for a Chang beer and about 150 for a glass of white wine. in the hotel 120 and 200 for the same. If your going to Patong to shop get a taxi not a tuk tuk for 400 each way or 450 if you get the hotel taxi which we preferred.
This hotel is very very good, the staff are all very helpful and the food is fantastic, give it a try.
PS when checking in ask for a map of the resort as we got lost once or twice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DJN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

we stayed in the garden view room. The room is delightful but not over the top but is the lower priced option. Staff friendly and helpful right through our 6 night stay. Love the squirrels. Breakfast buffet included was excellent with a great range of choice. Would certainly recommend the have a smoking and non smoking area at there restaurant as there is nothing worse than eating your meal when the table next to you are smoking and comes across to you. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. Access to the beach is a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank startinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

The Phuket Marina Hotel is located on the southern end of Karon Beach. Extensive and well laid out grounds with many tropical plants. Most of the romms are 'jungle rooms' - individual 'chalet' buildings with wooden walways to the swimming pools and restaurant areas. Several inexpensive restaurants in a food court located 5 mins walk left out of the hotel. Many shops and more restaurants to the right. Staff usually very friendly but suffering from the invasion of rude 'nouveau-riche' guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We Stayed at Marina Phuket in June 2010, we took such a long time to pick somewhere we looked at most places on trip advisor!!!! as we had just got Married in NZ and this was our honeymoon as well as a family holiday- as soon as we arrived it was pure class and amazing service we were also travelling with our 3 yr old daughter and my husbands parents , We stayed in the Grande Villa for 2 nights which was amazing and pure luxury over looking the sea (which we got at a fabulous discounted price) , then in the jungle room with our daughter for the rest of our stay which was perfection, The breakfasts were amazing!!! we had also booked 3 nights at Villa Royale but we ended up leaving Villa Royale after 1 night as it was not a patch on Marina and double the price. also the restaurant On The Rocks was stunning food,I would definitely go back only thing was the sea was a little ruff at that time of the year but still beautifully warm!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hidingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

If I were to sum up the Marina Phuket Resort in a sentence, I would say that it is lovely, well-located (right next to the beautiful Karon beach), quiet, very close to Karon's restaurants & bars and just a short taxi or tuk-tuk ride to Kata Beach or Patong Beach.

However, all this loveliness does come at a price. Unlike many other hotels in the area, the nightly rates for this hotel are charged in US Dollars. The rate is expensive. To be fair, many of the hotels which I looked at in Phuket also appear to be on the expensive side; As a comparison I was able to stay in much better hotels in both Bangkok and Chiang Mai at less than half the price charged by Marina Phuket Resort, even after a 10% discount on the hotel's website.

On the plus-side, the rooms are lovely and spacious, the balcony looks out towards the ocean and the beach (although the hotel could probably do with chopping down a few of the trees which block the view and certainly aren't visible in the uncompromised photographs of the ocean view room as shown on their website).

It must also be said that Phuket feels very commercial and touristy. If this is your kind of thing then you're sure to love it here. We spent a day out on a speedboat visiting James Bond Island which was a real highlight of our holiday, but if you're the kind of person who likes to be out-and-about exploring, you may find that the commercial nature of Phuket twinned with the relaxing side of life at the Marina Phuket Resort may have you reaching for the Lonely Planet guide.

Breakfast is good and there is a lovely restaurant right next to the ocean. The hotel also has its own walkway down to Karon beach, albeit it doesn't have any of its own sunbeds or umbrellas - you must pay if you wish to hire these.

There's no wi-fi, but each room is equipped with an internet-enabled Apple Mac. This is displayed through the giant LCD TV in the room.

Overall, the hotel's lovely - but it's certainly not cheap.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed in Marina in low season, October 11-22. When we were searching a hotel for our Thailand vacation on the Internet, we found Marina and simply fell for it. Although many tourists complained that it does not worth the money they paid, we were lured to this hotel with such a lush greenery.
We did not regret that we booked a room in this hotel, because everything was fine there. We lived in a Garden View room (No 121), well, it is not as bad as many described, although an air-conditioner was too noisy and almost nonadjustable (it was a bit too cold for us). Another bug was that on the second day of our stay we got back to our room at the midday and discovered that it had not been cleaned. I called reception and they immediately sent a cleaning lady. Next day, the story repeated itself. We dropped by reception and explained the problem. From that moment on, it was all right and we had nothing else to complain about.
Breakfast was OK, we never left hungry and personnel was quite helpful and attentive.
What we liked about the hotel the most was its grounds - it's simply beautiful. Garden and jungle have a variety of blossoming plants, bushes and trees. Swimming pool and adjacent area are very beautiful, too. Another thing that we loved was privacy - we saw near our cottage almost nobody during our 11-day stay , and we really rarely saw or heard our neighbors.
Two other things that we appreciate was that they had free Internet available through Internet cafe and access to beach - few hotels on Karon have such an advantage.
I think if we're back to Karon, we'll stay in Marina again, because no other hotel in the vicinity can compete with it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KseniyaSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
10.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Property: Marina Phuket Resort
Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing