We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May never leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“May never leave”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We've only been here 4 days so far, but this place is picture perfect and I am difficult to please! Breakfast is a smorgasbord catering for most tastes. The gardens are lush and beautiful. The squirrels are happy here. I've always considered that when choosing a place (hehe). The airport transfer was fantastic. Our flight was delayed, the airport was chaotic, but our man waited for us with water. Nice to see my name on a sign. I feel like a rock star. The room lady, the gardeners, all the staff are great. We are in an amazing setting, yet literally a minute from the action on the main street, yet you'd never know it. All the jungle insects go to sleep at around 11pm and get up around 6. No joking! The pool is awesome, but it would be nice if it was open later. I can't help thinking that there's an obvious reason why. Someone has been naughty. We'll definitely be back here again. No doubt about it. We'll need to brush up on our Thai and German though. The German tourists are classy and polite. One day to go. We might have to barricade ourselves in because we really don't want to leave.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Latte_With_One_Sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Latte_With_One_Sugar,

Thank you very much for your precious review on TripAdvisor.

It is our great pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your comments on various aspects of our resort. We have passed your compliments to the entire team members as a great motivation to keep delivering good services.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Phuket Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    216
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
309
640
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

After being really disappointed that the hotel we have previously been very happy with, Karon Sea Sands had overbooked and was not able to give us the pool access room we had booked and paid for four months before, we decided to try this hotel, which we had walked through previously and been attracted to. Yes, they had a jungle room available at $AUD2 a night dearer than Karon Sea Sands, so we took it.

This hotel sent a complimentary car to pick us and our luggage up at check in time. Check in efficient and welcoming. The room gorgeous, even if the wooden floor in front of the shower was a little spongy. A wonderful selection of teas and coffees and toiletries was provided. Breakfast was great, the only thing better wouldve been crispy bacon.

Whoever trains the staff here has done a good job - naturally nice Thai people who also know everything there is to know about how to treat paying guests.

About the only thing that wasnt exemplary here was the cleanliness of the pool. No matter what time of day, it always had lots of leaves and other detritus and seemed to be calling out for creepy crawly attention.

Yes, we would stay here again when we eventually return to this area, which at the present time hosts a tourist population of 99% Russian people. Much as we have always loved this area, Thailand and the Thai people; we believe it is losing itself and local Thai people are putting up with vile, vulgar and disrespectful treatment here to cater for Russian tourist trade.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear womblewa,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and point out your recommendations on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we are truly thrilled to learn that your recent stay at Marina Phuket Resort was a pleasant one and our room amenities as well as hotel facilities met your expectations.

For the other comments and recommendations, we will pass on to our management team for further investigation and respond.

Hope your next visit at Marina Phuket Resort will be an even more special experience.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked this hotel on the rebound from the hotel we normally stay at in Kata Noi. We had a Jungle view room which I think are fairly recent additions. The room was very attractive with a high vaulted ceiling, a large balcony/terrace plus a large well equiped bathroom.
There is free wifi throughout the resort. The pool area which i believe was enlarged and modernised last year with a large waterfall and bubble areas plus a pool bar felt spacoius and never overcrowded.
On the Rocks restaurant served good food , reasonably priced with great views over Karon beach. The buffet breakfast had a good choice of food and the service was good with very pleasant staff. Coffee unlike some large hotels was individually prepared and tasted like proper coffee which I regard as a major plus.
Overall we were extremely pleased with our choice of hotel and do not think we will be tempted to go back to our old choice of hotel at Kata Noi. With 90+ rooms well spaced out and we did not miss any of the facilities you get at very large such as Gyms or Spas.
On our next visit we would hope to have an Ocean view room. Minor improvement would be a pure bar area overlooking Karon beach as sometimes we felt we were not really wanted at the on the rocks restauaant around 6pm. Another minor comment is that you need to be physically fit as there are some steep climbs on the raised walkways to the rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Keith G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience at Marina Phuket Resort.

We are delighted that the Marina Family succeeded in creating legendary service experience. We have shared your comments with our team and they are very happy to read your excellent feedback on service, culinary and pool experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ for another fantastic stay!.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Absolutely cant fault this place. It's the best place I've ever stayed. Well priced, great breakfast and awesome staff and service. A must stay resort if your travelling to Phuket.

The best swimming pool, close to shops and markets, etc. Just pure bliss!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room. Stunning hearing the waves while out on the pergola!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a fabulous experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you truly had an excellent stay and especially enjoyed our delicious food at the buffet breakfast at Sala Thai restaurant, personal touches and overall ambiance.

Thank you very much once again for recommending us as the best hotel to stay in Phuket. We will be your home away from home forever.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Marina Phuket Resort is a very extraordinarily hotel with it's chalets surrounded by the jungle. The chalets itselves have their own terrace and are very modern and cozy furnished. The pool-area is heavenly, while the beach is unfortunately bleak - indeed there's an access to the beach, but you find neither lounger nor beach umbrella. The breakfast ist average, in exchange compensated by the great view. But there's no make up for the unfriendly and cheerless staff - at the restaurant as well at the front office. Please note, that you have to carry your luggage yourself, when arriving at the lobby and please also don't expect any 'Good Morning' or smiling when your coming for breakfast... By and large it's very nice, but it could be better.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocojelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Cocojelly,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, regarding the recent stay at Marina Phuket Resort.

Please accept my deepest apologies and I very much hope you will come back to experience the excellent levels of services and customer care with which Marina Phuket Resort is generally associated.

When this is the case please contact me personally so I could make the necessary arrangements on your behalf.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week. Great rooms, great summing pool and gardens. Great location. The hotel is an area were you have everything you need without being in the middle of the noise and busy streets. The breakfast is good and the "on the rock" restaurant serves delicious food for a reasonable price. The staff in the hotel is extremely helpful. Another good thing is the massage service. You can have massages for an affordable price which is often rare in hotels of this kind. Definitely a place to recommend and to return to.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VeroPauloLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear VeroPauloLux,

Thank you very much for your most wonderful feedback and comments. It is such a pleasure to know that you were happy with your stay in our resort.

We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities including the massage service at the swimming pool area.

My team and I look forward to another pleasure of welcoming you back to Marina Phuket Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St.Annes
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in December for our honeymoon and it truely was the greatest 2 weeks of our lifes. We stayed in a jungle room and it was amazing. Beautifully decorated n spacious with free wifi. The pool area is a little heat trap with comfy loungers, brollys, a waterfall n swim up bar which you can get snacks from aswell, its gorgeous.
The breakfast buffet had a wide range of choice and was delicious, most nights we ate at the Rock Restaurant, good prices great food and a truely stunning view. Last but by no meens least, the staff. There was nothing they wouldn't do for u, the service was most definitely 5☆ . 1 day we hope to return n we cannot thank you all enough for helping us have a fantastic hooneymoon

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hibby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Hibby23,

Thank you very much for your superb review on TripAdvisor.

We are greatly delighted to be part of your memorable honeymoon trip and to learn that our well-equipped room, special honeymoon decoration, the second to none service of our staff and the scrumptious food at On the Rock restaurant pleased you so much .

We wish to welcome you back to Marina Phuket Resort again soon.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Property: Marina Phuket Resort
Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing