We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are beautiful with teak and granite. Location right on the water. Enjoy a meals over looking the cove and beach. 5 star accommodations at a 3 star price. A bit of a ride from downtown, but taxis are reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear tchermom,

Thank you for providing the time to write a five-star rating review for Marina Phuket Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are flattered by the nice description you have given for the hotel’s amenities, location and happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as dining along the Karon bay at On the Rock restaurant

We look forward to having you back here again shortly.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend in October. Garden view room. We liked almost everything: 1) very near to the beach and cafés and shops; 2) great breakfasts; 3) excellent hotel area (you live like in jungle); 4) good room (free wi-fi included).
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EvgenyLeonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear EvgenyLeonow,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review!

We are delighted to hear you had a great time during your stay with us. It is thrilled that you especially enjoyed the service, the location and our facilities.

Thank you again for your comments and for recommending our hotel to your friends.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was at the MarinaPhuket for 18 days in September and October. The resort is awesome;the personnel where excellent and the accomidations beautiful. The breakfast was out of this world good. Overall the beach was awesome the resort was awesome and the people were awesome;I may comeback next year. The street scene and restaurants along the Karon rd and Kata was really cool;the whole stay was awesome ,awesome,awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear richd59,

Thank you for providing the time to write this 5-star review for Marina Phuket Resort on TripAdvisor.

It really makes us blissful that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities during your stay with us. Your feedback in terms of atmosphere beauty, staff friendliness and the resort location is truly appreciation.

We look forward to having you back at Marina Phuket Resort again soon.


Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What could have been a perfect stay was ruined by the air-conditioning.
This was our third visit(first time we stayed in the garden room and last time also in the luxurious Ocean view room). The room was the same one as before - and you really couldn't fault it. But the air-conditioning had been replaced recently(with old models??) and it was either 'off' or 'on' and with no way of regulating it.-a bit like sitting in a cross between a tumble drier and a fridge- noisy and cold. I complained the first night and the technician came out to the room straightaway but could do nothing as this was the way they were- very sorry. The reception staff offered me a similar room ( same problem) or move to by the pool to a cheaper room ( no mention of refund- we'd already paid). They were very apologetic and I wrote a complaintwhich they assured me would be dealt with. So far nothing.
This was a shame as we were happy to pay 125€ a night for what was advertised. Not so happy to be fobbed off.
We'll be trying somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on noisy air-con Ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear lindsand,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments posted on TripAdvisor.

We are deeply sorry to cause you the inconvenience regarding the Ocean View Room air conditioning. This problem has been brought to all key persons in charge and we will definitely not allow to let it happen again in the future.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Phuket Resort again in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place was really amazing. Like my title states, they take impeccability to an art form. Everywhere you look, perfection. Beautiful grounds. We love the natural feel of the place. The swimming pool was STUNNING. The beach here is STUNNING. We randomly picked this place out from a guide book on a whim and didn't have any idea of their rates. The taxi pulled up to this GORGEOUS lobby and we thought "Uh oh...this might be beyond our means." Being low-season the rate was 50% off! Incredible value. The food was top notch...what we would pay (less than) for a great dinner in the states. Breakfast was included and was a beautiful spread and presentation. If you are looking for inexpensive meals, there are so many local options within minutes on the main road. Couldn't recommend this place enough! The photos on the site don't do it justice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank finallyfreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear finallyfreebird,

Thank you for posting an excellent review regarding your recent stay at Marina Phuket Resort.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous stay and that everything in our resort exceeded your expectations.

Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Phuket. We would be delighted to assist you with the details of your stay to ensure another grand experience.

Best regards,
Orchorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

For a honeymoon or just some relaxing time away with your loved one, I highly recommend this place.

The hotel grounds feel a bit like a mini botanical garden with the bunglows and rooms nestelled amongst a lush canopy of trees, vines and flowers. Even though the beach is only a couple minutes walk, Marinas swiming pool can be a nice reprise from the other tourists who line the beach - set up like a jungle oasis under the shade of huge trees, the pool has a small waterfall and private spots are to be found behind rocks and under flowering hibiscus...

The whole place is very professionally run, with welcome drinks and cold refreshing towels upon arrival, fruit baskets in the rooms, and well, everything you should expect really for the price.
So, if you can afford it or just feel like a one time splurge, then i wouldnt hesitate here :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CocoNixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear CocoNixe,

We would like to thank you for this amazing review of Marina Phuket Resort on TripAdvisor.

It is a great honor that we have provided the most comfort, enjoyable and relaxing time while you were staying at Marina Phuket Resort.

We are looking forward to accommodating you again soon.


Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We travelled to Phuket on the 28th of August and from the moment our transfer picked us up at Phuket Airport, I was already impressed. Our driver was courteous and well mannered, offering us cold towels and bottled water to refresh ourselves with.
On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a lovely lady who addressed me by my first name and welcomed the other two family members with genuine warmth.
Two of us stayed in an Ocean View Villa and another member of my family stayed in a Jungle Villa so we went our separate ways, each of us with our member of staff who proceeded to take us to our own villas and showed us around.
Our Ocean View Villa was lovely with great views (partial views of the ocean and jungle), a great little deck, modern amenities in the room (fantastic Mac used through the TV, great free wi-fi, free bottled water daily and the bathroom toiletries were great - particularly the lemongrass soap and mini loofah) and a comfy bed and pillows. The Jungle Villas also look great - a little darker inside the room but I do prefer the look of the bathroom with a deeper bathtub and more modern finishes.
Some reviewers have complained about the air conditioner being too loud - I really didn't have a problem with it. Being from Australia, I'm used to having an air conditioner running all night, loud or otherwise.
The resort is absolutely stunning, surrounded by lush jungle and great views. The reception looks modern, the On The Rocks Restaurant (where breakfast is currently held) has beautiful scenery.
Breakfast has a wide variety of foods for a boutique hotel - a very wide range of breads, eggs made to order, Thai sweets (try the pineapple pie!), Thai rice & noodles, cereal, dim sum if you fancy it, cold meats and cheeses and a daily assortment of fruit are available.
I had lunch at On The Rocks once and had a delicious fresh seafood basket that I highly recommend to seafood lovers. Food prices are reasonable, particularly if eating Thai food, though you will get cheaper prices outside of the hotel. Drinks prices are higher here too...again, head outside the hotel for better prices. A great place for cheaper drinks is the Two Chefs - you can get Mojitos, Frozen Magheritas and a small range of other cocktails for next to nothing!
The pool is a decent size for a boutique hotel and it never felt excessively crowded when I was there.
The location is fantastic. There are plenty of restaurants around the area and plenty of places to have a cheap drink. Dino Park is also a little bit of fun though a word of warning, it is very hot in there at night!
I have noticed that Tuk Tuk prices have gone up so negotiate as much as possible and try to find driver's away from the hotel.
The best thing about Marina would be their staff who are always willing to help, always courteous and kind and seem to want to bend over backwards for you. English for them was never a problem!
Thank you to all of the staff who made us feel incredibly welcome. The small gift of a flora and fauna book was the perfect end to an incredibly relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Garden Villas and Ocean View Villas are a little easier to get to for people who have mobility issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zeus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear zeus08,


First of all, we would like to thank you for spending time expressing this excellent review about Marina Phuket Resort for worldwide TripAdvisor readers.

We are absolutely happy to know that our facilities, amenities and most of all, our well-trained staff was the reasons which made you feel satisfied and touched the enjoyment of your stay with us.


It will be a pleasure to have you back with us again in the near future and thank you one more time for choosing Marina Phuket Resort.


Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#18 of 136 in Karon
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $233 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing