We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for our holiday in May and we really enjoyed it. The location is just great, close to the shopping area, many shops around as well as restaurants. It is away from the hustle bustle. My husband got sick for a couple of days and the staff we very helpful. They even arranged hotel car to take us to the hospital. Very caring staff. Karon beach is the best for us compared to Patong and Kata. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Extraordinary hotel with luxury cottages in truly romantic jungle stile park. Very cosy, laid back and quite. Great pool landscape with waterfalls. If you prefer the beach instead of pool, public beach is nearby. Unfortunately mostly very crowded and close to a hotel with plenty Russian tourists. For romantic dinner choose On-the-rocs Restaurant book early in advantage as it is full every night. Prices are high comparing to restaurants outside. Very close access to street life outside the hotel. Helpful, professional and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumumba_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Marina Karon beach July 2013

We booked online direct with the hotel and booked 3 Sea view rooms.
Booking process was simple and easy. Airport pick up was also very easy
And driver was waiting as we came through.

Having stayed in Thailand over a dozen times now, and sent many many guests to various places in Thailand, I have to say the Marina would not be somewhere that I would rush back too. That said the Hotel was very nice, every member of staff was excellent. But for the money you pay, even with 50% discount for low season, £110 per room per night was I felt was too much for what we got, considering what other
Hotels charge. You can get much better value for money in my opinion.

Rooms were very nice inside, but air conditioning was either FULL ON or FULL OFF, and also very very noisy. Can’t say that we had one good nights sleep in the 10 we were there. Full on was too noisy and cold, but with out it was too hot.
Beware that the resort is Rock front not beach front. I can only speak for our rooms
Being 212 & 211 & 205, but when you were sat on the balcony the noise from the waves crashing on the rocks, meant that you could not talk to each other as the noise was so load. It may have been the time of year as it is rainy season, but £110 for a sea view room that you cannot really use the balcony very well, was not worth it for me.
It may be different at other times of year. Although if that us the case, maybe the hotel should inform you of this when booking. The noise really was so loud !!!

The pool area looked lovely, but because it was down in a bowl surrounded by the jungle that really did look amazing, it did mean there was no breeze, therefore the pool area was so so hot. We therefore jumped on our bike and went to Kata beach kost days, which was much nicer than Karon beach, and a nice breeze.
My main gripe though about the pool area was the food. Again staff were great, but very very limited choice for lunch, and what was sent out was of very poor quality for Thailand, and not over cheap either. Tuna sandwich with no Tuna, only salad, club sandwich with no real meat but stacked with onions. We therefore used to wonder out of the resort and eat locally. Which was a shame as the pool area really looked amazing. The local area outside the hotel is typical Thailand, stall holders, restaurants
7eleven and the norm. A few lively bars about 500yds up the road if you wanted some
fun, these would stay open most of the night. Unless of course you want to brave Patong, which is 10 minutes and 400bht up the road in a tuk tuk.

Room service:
It is beyond me why a top hotel in Thailand would not offer room service. With labour so cheap in Asia, every hotel I have stayed at do room service, as it is a great way to make an extra few pounds. I have no problem with paying whatever the rate is for room service, but none at all meant you could not even get an ice cube in the resort unless you went to the beach restaurant, and they were not very happy being asked either. And we always order a milky coffee 1st thing in the morning.

NO BAR

NO GYM

Whilst each room had its own mac, the speed of the internet was very very slow to say the least, and wifi in our rooms was useless. Better wifi around the pool.

We also had fishermen fishing and having camp fires right outside our balcony, which they stayed doing all night, bit nervy as they were only 5 mts from our room and with our 14 yr old son next door, didn’t really feel nice. And it appeared that they would move for security. Again not what you would expect having paid £110 for each room.

We had a fab holiday, and I have to mention the wonderful staff, but we all felt that for the price we paid there was something major lacking for us compared to all the other resorts we have stayed at in Thailand

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank whittington66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rooms we stayed in was very spacious and over looked the ocean. The verandah was spacious with 2 deck chairs. The room had a huge window that you could see the ocean while in bed. The A/C was a bit noisy but was needed! The bathroom area was excellent with all the inclusions. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. The pool area was excellent with a swim up bar. A baby elephant use to visit the hotel late mornings where you could feed it and get your photo taken with it. The breakfast selection was very good. The only slight criticism I can say is that it lacked a bar where you could congregate but I guess the Ocean View restaurant could be used fir that. We didn't eat at the Ocean View restaurant as there are many places in the town to eat that are good.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Cannot say but would stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Staying here at this minute in an ocean view room. Rooms are beautiful and roomy. Balcony overlooking the ocean is nice and big. View is obstructed by the jungle but this adds to the ambience. Gardens are absolutely gorgeous and tropical. There is a baby elephant that visits at 11 am each day near reception. You can feed him or her bananas and take a picture..

We come to Thailand most years and usually stay at Patong. Much more laid back here in Karon.

Staff are friendly and speak good english. Best spot, you won't be disappointed.

Only thing I can fault are the ridiculous ceramic containers they put the toiletries in. They slip out of yoir hands easily and break.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Gioia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved it here! It was so clean and beautiful! The service was excellent and all of our rooms were great. We stayed in all three rooms and they were all very clean, obviously the Ocean View Room was huge and amazing. The pool was fantastic and the morning buffets were excellent. I would definitely stay here each time I visited Phuket!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksalz9348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was expecting better service as per TripAdvisor and my friends recommendations who stayed there before.
First, I didnt receive any response to my two inquiry emails sent directly to the hotel and was later booked via phone call.
We stayed at the Garden room as they didnt have any other rooms available at that time. The room is very small, the bathroom is also tiny. The major problem in the rooms are mosquitoes that seem to be living there. The hotel staff was unhelpful as they could only offer anti-mosquito sprays. There were not also any anti-mosquito nets in the room.
The breakfast was good, the pool area is also nice and the beach is close enough, public beach though.
Didnt like Karon area, too noisy, busy and boring at the same time. Wouldnt recommend anyone going there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueSerpentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#14 of 135 in Karon
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $220 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing