We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Marina at least 10 times over the last 20yrs and it just keeps getting better!
They have managed to grow and improve the hotel with each new renovation, but still keep that personal touch that makes you feel like you have come home as you walk through there beautiful grounds to your room. The new pool has added lots of extra deck space, and the new pool bar looked so very tempting, although wasn't completed in Nov.
On The Rocks Restaurant was open for breakfast, and was a wonderful place to start the day.
Don't tell just anyone about this Special Resort as it books up early, and you will be hard pressed to find a better Hotel on the Island
Enjoy

Room Tip: The first couple of Ocean View rooms have only a peek-a-boo view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Overall hotel was good. I got jungle room and it really felt like living in jungles with monkeys knocking your window in the morning. Might be scary for solo travelers.
Good:
Room was clean and spacious with a big window;
View is incredible;
Staff was nice and willing to help;
Breakfast was good although not a 5 star one.
Bad:
I had mosquito attacks and couldn't sleep at night. Door and window chinks were big enough. Mosquito repellent didn't work. (this was true only for jungle view room, my friend with an ocean view didn't suffer that much);
Air conditioning worked only when you are in the room. I am usually fine with it, the problem was enormous amount of mosquitoes and lizards and other bugs appearing when your room gets outside temperature;
Hotel doesn't own the beach, it was dirty

I personally would try another hotel next time. But this was a good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is just between the beaches of Kata and Karon, and is like a small jungle in the middle of the city. The gardens are so well maintained, it is just beautiful. There is a direct access to Karon beach, but there are no chairs or umbrella available from the hotel. You can rent some for a small amount of money. The pool area is very small and not really nice.
We arrived around 7pm and the hotel was overbooked, so the reception upgraded us to the Villa suite against a small extra amount per night. The Villa was just amazingly beautiful, pure luxury. It was directly on the sea, with approx 100sqm size. it included a beautiful spa. Every detail was thought of, from the stunning flowers arrangement, to the L'occitane toilettries, fresh fruits, internet connection, etc...
The restaurant The Rock was nice, although the variety of the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FloKemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days in May in an ocean view room. The room was beautiful and we had a nice view of the beach and sea. Loved that we could surf the net on the tv screen in the room and the free wifi. Breakfast at the rocks restaurant was great too! Food was of good quality.
Proximity to Karon beach was a real plus.

Nadia the baby elephant who visits thr hotel in the mornings was so adorable (if you can look beyond the exploitative bit).

Some negatIves, however. Nothing
Much nearby to see or do if you aren't a beach lounger. Luckily for us we rented a car and drove around the island. Didn't manage to discover any good spas in the vicinity of the hotel either. Also, on the last day, the recep girl was a little curt when we were settling the bill. Nothing's perfect I guess.

Overall it's a great place to stay and I would love to come back again! Was told they were renovating the hotel. Can't wait to see the hotel again post-renovation!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Youngauntysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I visited Phuket for his 30th birthday and were were blown away with this place. Absolutely the best service I have ever had, super attentive and very friendly. They call you by name and make you feel right at home. Not to mention the price was great - and the rooms were breathtaking. I would definitely recommend splurging on the ocean view it was well worth the extra money. The on-site restaurant "on the rocks" was delish and could compete with most of the better restaurants in the area. The second restaurant was under renovations when we were there but maybe we will just have to make another trip to try it! Access to the beach was super close, just a short walk down a wooden walkway. Pool was nice too.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view - after traveling from TX all the way to Thailand it was a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AUtraveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

First time in Phuket for my honeymoon vacation and booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and am so glad I did! This isn't your typical modern hotel accommodation in Phuket. Rooms bungalows are stuck deep within a well designed tropical jungle. It felt like we were in the middle of the rainforest even when swimming in the pool. We booked the Jungle room for 50% off during April 2012 since the Ocean View rooms were completely sold out. Absolutely had a great time at the resort although our windows curtains broke (staff said this happened often), hot water ran out for an hour and the air conditioning broke as well, but the hotel staff were quick to fix the issues. You also get your own private balcony behind your bungalow although I didn't really visit that area due to fear of bugs! You can also book a 3 hour enclosed private hotel taxi to various tourist attractions for 450 or 650 baht. When riding tuk tuk, be sure to emphasize that the hotel's located at the END of Karon Beach, which doesn't fall into the Kata Beach area or they will ask for additional money. Also make sure to visit Central Phuket Mall to get some authentic Thai food at the food court for local prices! Bring lots of bug spray and enjoy the daily free breakfast overlooking Karon Beach!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LingLingChao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have been to Phuket numerous times but this is our first stay at the Marina Phuket and certainly won't be our last. We were on a 16 night trip around Asia and the Marina Phuket was our absolute favourite. We stayed in an oceanview room (212) and it was wonderful. The room decor is very thai inspired, very clean and spacious. Our room was at the end of a block of rooms and was therefore a little bit of a very pleasant walk along the beautiful jungle paths to get anywhere but also very quiet and private. The view from our balcony was brilliant and we spent many hours sitting out there listening to the waves, enjoying the view and reading our books. Ahhh, how's the serenity!!! :-)

The staff are all very courteous and friendly and always available to help you with anything you require.

The restaurant was wonderful whether you were there for breakfast or dinner. Good quality food and cocktails and spectacular views.

I would HIGHLY reccommend this resort as a wonderful, relaxing place to stay in Karon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aussiegirlali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#14 of 135 in Karon
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $220 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing