We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jungle garden by the sea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Ct.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A jungle garden by the sea.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Marina Phuket Resort is an excellent choice for a mid-size hotel in Phuket. It is located at the south end of Karon Beach, where the beach joins the rocky peninsular forming the south end of the bay. When our car first pulled into the hotel, I thought there had been some mistake. The reception area was barely off of a busy city street. Once we left the reception area, we realized that the noise and confusion of the city street was left behind, and we were in a quiet garden. Its 100 or so rooms are scattered through acres of beautiful foliage and flowers. Stone and wooden walkways connect the reception area, the pool, the restaurant, and the rooms.

Our garden room, although the smallest of the three styles that they offer, did not lack for space or comfort. It was spotlessly clean and well furnished, with a king size bed, a window seat lounge, HD TV, a long desk, closets, and a safe. It appeared to have been recently renovated. The bath was small but beautifully tiled in unusual earth and aqua tones. The jungle rooms and the sea view rooms are larger, but all offer similar views of foliage and flowerers.

It is one of only a couple of hotels in Karon that is directly on the beach. Although very little of the beach is in front of the hotel, you do have access the entire length of Karon Beach. The area beneath the restaurant can be used for snorkeling, if the tide and surf are right. If you leave the hotel grounds, there are many shops, restaurants, and banks within a couple of blocks. Most of the rest of Karon can be reached by walking on the beach or road or with a short tuk-tuk ride.

The restaurant overlooks the entire length of the beach, the bay, and the hills beyond. The breakfast buffet offers oriental and western dishes including cooked to order eggs. The dinners are excellent, and I have posted a separate review of the restaurant.

Look for the baby elephant that visits mornings around 10 or 11 am. For the price of a few bananas, you can get a picture of him kissing you with his trunk.

Since the rooms and facilities are scattered throughout the gardens, some walking and climbing is required to get from your room to the restaurant, pool, or lobby. If you like a hotel that has all of its facilities in one large building, the Marina Phuket is not for you. If like a constantly changing array flowers, birds, and greenery, this is the place to stay. The hotel also provides free pick up and return to the airport, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi even in the widely scattered rooms, and other amenities bundled into the price.

I have heard that the hotel will be closing for some months this summer to expand the pool and restaurant area and complete other renovations. Check with the management, but It should be reopening in the fall with even nicer facilities.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are an excellent value. The Jungle rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    216
    51
    18
    10
See reviews for
301
638
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here 5 years ago, and returned at the end of April for 5 nights in an Ocean View room. We were worried that it couldn't live up to our fond memories, but we were delighted to find it did indeed.

All things considered, this place gives us by far the nicest experience we've had anywhere in the world; and we've tried numerous styles of accommodation in nearly 40 countries.

We've only stayed in low season, and so at $150/night for the Ocean View rooms the value is superb. At the $300 high season price I'm not so sure. But that said; Marina Phuket seems to be far better value than any other nearby resort.

Go and stay there - we can't wait to return again!


Staff are delightful, breakfast is great, and the tropical garden surroundings are, without doubt, the nicest you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: The view from the Ocean View rooms are just amazing. We spent entire days sitting on the balcony en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules909090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Can’t recommend this place highly enough. I think the nicest hotel i have ever stayed in. To come back from the hotel after activities around Phuket was to be instantly surrounded in a relaxing environment. Rooms were fantastic and staff really nice. Only thing I would question is the prize. We got a Seaview room for $250 USD a night which was half price of the normal price of $500. I would question it the place is worth $500 a night. The small group of open restaurants on the road along the beach heading north have the best food in Phuket at super cheap prices.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are much closer. Some of the other rooms seemed quite far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuti2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have been going for at least 4 years now, and have either stayed in the Ocean View Villa or one of the two Grand Villas. I cannot explain how amazing the staff are, and something was lost, yet it was sent back to England first class! The pools are very nice and the atmosphere and views are amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxHappyGoLuckyxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel very much because of its rooms in the middle of the jungle, that meet right up with the beach. Also, the staff was great and the breakfast. I do think it's quite a long walk to the beach though, but other than that, it's great!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a fantastic little beach resort in Thailand, and actually, it is very cheap in comparison to all the big-name resorts for all the value it offers. The breakfast is just right, and the view from breakfast is very peaceful and beautiful, overlooking the beach. The property is fantastic too -- you feel like you're exploring the jungle every time you go to your room. The rooms were wonderful -- we were given a free upgrade to a Jungle View room, which included a Mini Mac that works on the T.V, absolutely stunning decor, as well as a nice little patio -- perfect if you don't want to go to the beach. Also, the location is superb -- it's a short walk from the jungle view rooms right to the beach. You don't even have to leave the property! The beach itself is nothing special, sort of a rip-off that you have to pay for lounge chairs... the hotel should definitely get their own.

The staff there is everything the other reviews rave about. The lady who took us to our room had our names and birth dates memorized by the time we got to the room -- and greeted us by name every time we saw them. This makes the service a lot more personal, and it really makes you feel you're at a smaller hotel, as you would never get that sort of service at a large resort.

All in all, it's the perfect place to stay and relax in Phuket! (Oh, and it's mentioned in 1000 Places to See Before You Die!! We found that out after we stayed there!)

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay for a Jungle View Room if you don't have your own computer, but otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

While the room and resort setting are wonderful the resort does not offer the best value for money. The room rate of $252USD a night should entitle you to a latte or cappacino at no extra charge! The breakfast selection is very basic and meals quite limited and pricey although the view is nice. Careful if making an overseas call as the charges are high, if you make a reverse charge phone call the resort charges you anyway!
It does offer a peacful stay with the beach a short walk away, I would not suggest you dont stay here but for a resort that offers better value for money I would suggest the Movenpick over the Marina Phuket resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GF000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Property: Marina Phuket Resort
Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing