We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Don't have a bad thing to say about this hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

I highly recommend spending the extra money on the pool access room. First we were in the spa room, which was very nice itself, but then we got upgraded to the poolside room and we were in heaven. Being able to go from your balcony into the pool was very nice and we used it a lot more then we thought we would. The location of the hotel was also really great. Close to shops and the beach, but far enough away from Patong beach to escape the craziness (but only a short taxi ride away to "visit" the craziness)

I'd stay here again for sure!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxygirlACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
There are newer reviews for The Old Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

Our decision to go to Phuket was purely to get a flight back to bangkok so whilst we were there we thought we would treat ourselves to a nice hotel.

We looked on TR for recommendations and we pick the Old Phuket Hotel on price and reviews and were not disappointed..

We stay in Private Jacuzzi room which was great, spacious room, private and well decorated.

Negatives, the staff on receiption were not the most polite, not rude but just not what you would expect from a large international hotel, the so called travel centre which I believe is independent from the hotel came across as cowboys so do not book a taxi from them as they would add 50% on top.

As you can read for other peoples reviews the hotel is made up for 3 areas.. the Old buildings, the new modern building and the private jacuzzi rooms.. There are two pool areas the main bigger one in between the new build which is a great design and the old pool on top of the old building, one thing there is building work taking place behind this building.

The breakfast was good and fresh.. snacks and drinks by the large pool were good and great chill the day away.

The location is good, just outside the hotel are some nice resturants a place to get laundry washed, and fantastic sandwich shop called sandwish..

Overall a good hotel and don't let my comment about the receiption staff put you off as everyone else where helpful...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMcA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Old Phuket Hotel is in an ideal position in Karon Beach close to everything but tucked away and quiet. (there is building work next to the sino wing but unless you are really intolerant it is no problem). The breakfast is great with lots of choice, rooms are comfortable and clean we stayed in room 104 sino wing which has an outside shower... The staff are all very nice and helpful when you need them. Taxi desk is good and not over priced for journeys. The street at the end of hotel is full of restaurants we found Ging good for Thai food and Karlsonns is excellent for everything including Steaks. we took our washing to the girls at the massage parlour on the right and it always came back clean and beautifully ironed. The beach at Karon is large and Kata is smaller both very nice but as with anywhere that mankind goes there is a small amount of litter. We loved eating from the roadside stalls and everyone will help you if you are not sure what they are selling. Did lots of shopping in the market to the right of the hotel, got some great fake bags around 1200 bht after haggling. All in all we had a great holiday and will definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuciousNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I picked this hotel on the Internet for four reasons: big rooms (for 3 beds), looked clean & modern, close to the beach, quiet location. Thankfully Old Phuket proved to be all of these and more. Rooms were excellent (stayed in its Serene wing) although the beds are very firm (ie. hard), staff very helpful & cheerful, pool was brilliant, location is handy to a reasonable market and selection of restaurants, it’s just across the road to the beach (not crowded). Hotel buffet breakfast was good, then other meals from local restaurants, etc. Taxi to Patong was 300Bt for larger markets & shopping, etc. Will definitely be back – can’t think of any real negatives - strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Relaxed_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 11, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 6, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 4, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#63 of 135 in Karon
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 135 in Karon
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $39 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing