We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just come back from spending 9 nights at The Old Phuket in Karon. We arrived at around 9.30pm Check In was quick and easy. We stayed in the Serene Wing, the room and bathroom were big and clean on our arrival. Breakfast was sufficient, pool was large staff friendly. The hotel itself is in an excellent position it's close to restaurants, markets, taxis and tuk tuks. Check Out, again quick and easy. The only downside is you have to pay for WiFi in your room, but it's free in the lobby. All in all we had an enjoyable stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MtAnnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    707
    198
    62
    44
See reviews for
333
941
74
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited for 8 nights in April 2014. This is our third visit to this hotel and found it as good as ever. We stay in the Pool Access Rooms and would highly recommend these rooms. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

I have read reviews where comments were made to the contrary. However I have found here as anywhere in Thailand if you smile at the people they will always smile back. I believe you get what you give.

So a happy outlook will always evoke a happy result from the staff.

The breakfast is good and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the pool access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveBarnes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is great if you are Russian. We stayed in a private Jacuzzi room which was fine but far away from any pools - the main pool was a good walk away and every time we tried to get a sun lounge it was either full or some people around were smoking despite the signs saying No smoking around pool - staff gave the Russians ash trays???? The pool on the roof was so small that you could not get into it or a sun lounge. Breakfast was really not brilliant but acceptable - staff at front desk could not understand English very well - the real thing is that they seemed to cater for the Russians and not anyone else. Always had to get a cab to go anywhere. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silly_girl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is great if you are wanting a secluded, peaceful getaway. Shops are accessible via walking but limited. We have a pool access room in the new serene wing which was a treat. The room was extremely spacious but found it strange that the room would be only be serviced on average at about 4.30-5pm. Scooter hire is an absolute must. We had a tasty breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: If you are traveling without children try and getting a pool access room - really great to sit on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our room was on the 2nd floor in the new Serene wing, overlooking the pool. The room was mod clean with lots of space and very comfortable, the bathroom is very mod, except that if you do not close the blinds you have no privacy, as you look across at the other rooms facing you. Aircon could be adjusted to suit your needs.
Breakfast was very enjoyable with a variety to choose from.
The shops, restaurants and spa's down the road on the way to the beach have lots of variety and mean you do not have to go far for anything if you so choose.
Take mosquito repellant if you are going to use the deck area with free wifi, we were all bitten LOTS!
We were an adult family of 5, one room with a king size bed and the other 3 singles and we were very comfortable.
Transport to get around is expensive (as it all adds up) the hotel has a free shuttle to the night market and the Patong, you need to reserve your place at reception. We hired scooters which they do not recommend, and you should have a bike licence, my son had to pay a fine.
We would recommend this hotel for a couple or family.

Room Tip: The Serene Wing is new and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our stay with The Old Phuket Hotel was amazing. To us, everything was perfect! The view, the swimming pool, service, rooms, buffet breakfast, Everything!
From the moment that we arrived the service was excellent. The hotel is beautiful!
Our room was clean, spacious & had a view of the swimming pool, it was perfect.

If we ever go back to Thailand we will definitely, without a doubt stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantelfouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was an ideal location and hotel for my wind down time after a busy trip in India. Room spacious and soft beds - very clean and well set out. Location perfect and handy to,shops and other restaurants. Staff extremely friendly and great at remembering who I was and only there for 4 nights

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#87 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#61 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing