We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean hotel”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great clean hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Location is good with plenty of eateries nearby. About 5 - 10 mins walk to beach. I stayed in the wing with the U shaped pool. You get a large modern fairly minimalist room, rain shower, raised bath where you can look out, Beds are huge, firm. Large balconies overlook pool and hills on one side. Air con is very effective but you don't have much control so you can't turn it down. Room tended to retain its temperature quite well so wasn't an issue at night when you have to turn it off to sleep. The staff were lovely. I arrived at 10.30am and check in wasn't till 2. I was hot and tired so they got my room ready early. There's free wifi in one part of the hotel, you have to pay if you want it in your room. Also don't lose your room key or they charge 500bht to replace it. Mini bar prices were reasonable. You get 2 bottles of water a day complimentary. These are different to the ones they leave in the fridge which are not, but look similar. Brekkers of a decent standard with fresh cooked eggs your way and a buffet. Massage was same price as everywhere else so no rip off there. It's a smart hotel without being Hilton luxury. I'd go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    720
    204
    64
    44
See reviews for
349
961
76
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The old Phuket is a wonderful hotel stayed for 1 night prior to our flight home. We where upgraded to a pool access room which was spectacular. Lovely bath and the breakfast was great. Would loved to have stayed longer. Def stay here it is well worth it!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

stayed at the Old Phuket for 10 days in a pool access room, absolutely loved it, staff were so friendly, (bed a bit hard) but other than that we would absolutely come back, loved everything about it, location, room, bathroom, staff etc

Room Tip: highly recommend a pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I went to Phuket for our honeymoon. The old Phuket hotel is perfect for a more relaxed calm beach holiday. Not as crazy as phatong which is more for the young and single. The staff are very friendly and the hotel service is better than you would expect. If you want a drink, massage, browse using free wifi or just relax at the awesome pools all of this can be done at the hotel. If you want to go to the beach it is a short stroll and you are there. Rooms are beautifully air conditioned if you want to escape the humidity of Phuket. You will not be sorry for staying at the Old Phuket hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel wing with the pool view. Ground floor rooms have a private pool entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated with 2 pools on the premises & the beach across the main road about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There are 2 parts of the hotel, the original bit which has a small rooftop pool with good views & is closer to the beach, with many restaurants just outside the hotel gates. The new building, where we stayed, is built in a square around a large pool with water features. We had a room with private terrace & direct access into a private strip of the pool which was wonderful. The rooms were huge, minimalistic & white with good A/C, a great bathroom & a big fridge. The breakfasts were extensive & varied & the pool bar did food throughout the day. The staff were helpful, if they could understand you & there was a free shuttle bus to various places (essential to book this service).

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra & have a poolside room - it's really worth it, especially if you don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very good Value for money. I have stayed here with my wife for a week long vacation or you can tell second honeymoon. We loved the hotel as it has very good properties specially the new building. Stuffs are very helpful and well behave. Me and my wife like this one very much. Go for it if you want a peace full holiday.

Room Tip: Try to book the room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stay at the Old Phuket twice now and found it great Breakfast was amazing and plenty of hot choices plus all soughts of fruit and cereal's The beds where a little hard but all in all a gret stay

Room Tip: Pool access are great and the private court yard rooms opposite the breakfast area are perfect both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayBarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#24 of 134 in Karon
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#68 of 134 in Karon
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and HRS so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing