We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You should stay in The Old Phuket”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You should stay in The Old Phuket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family and i stayed at here for 8 nights and loved it. The pools are divine, with massages, shakes, ice creams and snacks available right there, and you can see the Big Buddha on the hill in the distance. The hotel is far enough away from the craziness of Patong Beach which is just over the hill, but close enough to jump into a tuk-tuk and drive there in 15mins for +-400 baht for a good shop. If you're looking for a more quiet beach with your own space, The Old Phuket is very close to Karon beach, which has far less people on it. The rooms there are clean and the air con is a life saver! Everything seems to run smoothly there. Had a blast. (:

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey-Lee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    697
    189
    60
    43
See reviews for
327
926
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Old Phuket is perfectly placed as it is 5 minutes from the beach, a good variety of shops, restaurants and bars and it also has 2 entrances so you can go to both ends of town with ease. The hotel is very clean and well maintained and the gardens are lovely. We stayed in the serene wing (newer part) for 11 nights and the room was very modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are well appointed but to be honest if you were not agile the bath would be tricky to get into and out of but there was a good shower so not an issue really. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices of both international and Thai food. If I were to be negative about any aspect of this hotel is that I think it should consider becoming adults only especially in the Serene wing and it pools. Relaxing on our lovely huge balcony overlooking the pool this was often spoilt by screaming kids and sometimes their parents shouting to each other across the balconies, or those who thought it fun to jump in the pool onto complete strangers. Given that there wasn't many children I dread to think what it would be like in the peak periods. Also for those of you who are British be prepared to be very much the minority English speaking customer both in the hotel and in the towns. I would also recommend a 20 minute walk or short tuk tuk journey to Kata beaches as they are beautiful and safer for swimming, the sea at Karon can be a bit precarious at times. Overall it was a good holiday and would recommend the hotel. One word of warning we got ripped off in the Green Chilli restaurant on the main drag in Karon, horrible food, bad service and short changed! Apart from this experience every other restaurant meal was very good and catered for all tastes.

Room Tip: Rooms in Serene wing, modern overlooking the pool, ask for rooms in the block facing south these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at the old phuket hotel for our honeymoon for 4 nights starting Nov 28th'13. We selected the Sino wing room with a private jacuzzi. The plus points are its location - a 5 min walk to the beach, easy access to restaurants and markets, warm and friendly staff, peaceful ambiance and not to forget the amazing breakfast. Also the rooms were extremely clean and all facilities were well maintained. We would lovee to come back for a stay again and will undoubtedly recommend this hotel to people travelling to Phuket!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a awesome stay at this hotel and were upgraded to a room with a jacussie! Aircon in place and comfortable bed! Good selection at breakfast and very helpfull staff. The location is great and accessble to all the major amnemmities on the Karon Beach!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Old Phuket was a lovely place to stay in, it was tranquil, comfortable and had all the amenities you would require. Close to restaurants, massage salons, laundry and the beach. I would go back in a heartbeat. The people are friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2Thompsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at The Old Phuket for a week.
We arrived and we were given welcome drinks and our bags were carried to our room on the 4th floor. The air con worked perfectly. The room wasn't too fancy but we didn't mind.
The room was clean and the staff was helpful.

The breakfast is great. Great variety, tasty and fresh, it their restaurants that we weren't happy with - basically, we received 2 meal vouchers 1) to eat for free at Chilli restaurant 2) 10% off at Al dente or another one (forgot the names). The food at Chilli restaurant wasn't that great and at the other, which I forgot the name of, was bad!

Overall, The Old Phuket is in a great location. You can walk down to the beach, shops and restaurants. Also the provide shuttles to go to places like Patong beach however you need to make your way back on a Tuk tuk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed mid November 2013 for 7 days in the Serene Wing on level 4. Very comfortable, great view, bathroom clean and tidy, large shower and big bath. Arrived early hours in the morning of day one and greeted warmly and nothing was a problem. Assisted with luggage and surroundings explained. Breakfast selection was great with friendly staff and atmosphere was beautiful and very pleasant. We paid for WIFI for one week and had no problems at all. The cleaning staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. My only complaint was the hard bed which the staff did place a softer top but not so good. The surrounding shops offer excellent quality and selection of cheap food, alcohol, shopping, beach very close, massages, beautician, hairdresser, Seven Eleven store, markets and many adjoining villages. The local taxi's out side the Hotel could not help us enough and very reasonable with their prices and extremely friendly and informative with different places to see. All the staff at The Old Phuket are to be commended for their politeness and friendly demeanour to all their clients and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a fantastic time even with a few days of rain.

Room Tip: Choose the Serene section with pool view. Very quiet on level 4. If you like to be very close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#17 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#83 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing