We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place for a holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at The Old Phuket for a week.
We arrived and we were given welcome drinks and our bags were carried to our room on the 4th floor. The air con worked perfectly. The room wasn't too fancy but we didn't mind.
The room was clean and the staff was helpful.

The breakfast is great. Great variety, tasty and fresh, it their restaurants that we weren't happy with - basically, we received 2 meal vouchers 1) to eat for free at Chilli restaurant 2) 10% off at Al dente or another one (forgot the names). The food at Chilli restaurant wasn't that great and at the other, which I forgot the name of, was bad!

Overall, The Old Phuket is in a great location. You can walk down to the beach, shops and restaurants. Also the provide shuttles to go to places like Patong beach however you need to make your way back on a Tuk tuk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    684
    183
    58
    41
See reviews for
316
894
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed mid November 2013 for 7 days in the Serene Wing on level 4. Very comfortable, great view, bathroom clean and tidy, large shower and big bath. Arrived early hours in the morning of day one and greeted warmly and nothing was a problem. Assisted with luggage and surroundings explained. Breakfast selection was great with friendly staff and atmosphere was beautiful and very pleasant. We paid for WIFI for one week and had no problems at all. The cleaning staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. My only complaint was the hard bed which the staff did place a softer top but not so good. The surrounding shops offer excellent quality and selection of cheap food, alcohol, shopping, beach very close, massages, beautician, hairdresser, Seven Eleven store, markets and many adjoining villages. The local taxi's out side the Hotel could not help us enough and very reasonable with their prices and extremely friendly and informative with different places to see. All the staff at The Old Phuket are to be commended for their politeness and friendly demeanour to all their clients and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a fantastic time even with a few days of rain.

Room Tip: Choose the Serene section with pool view. Very quiet on level 4. If you like to be very close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I are leaving tomorrow after a wonderful two week stay here at The Old Phuket. Great ground floor room in the Sino wing close to the breakfast buffet area and had absolutely no problems with anything. It couldn't have been more perfect. The staff is professional and friendly and very helpful. The room was clean every day when we returned after being out for the day. Breakfast buffet choices were great with everything from eggs and bacon to cereals and yogurt to rice and salads. Plus LOTS of fresh fruit and juices. Can't complain about a single thing there.

Our bathroom was great, no problems with the outdoor shower either. It was great to come back after being at the beach and just being able to shower and undress out there with no sandy mess all over the floors. Plus there was never a problem getting hot or cold water.

We did lose power a few times but never for very long at a time and only because all of the area had lost power during storms. Nothing the hotel could help with.

TV reception is good with a few English speaking channels and Russian channels and we bought the wifi in room so we could relax in our room while online but also used the free wifi area near the lobby for the first few days and never had a problem. It's very affordable to get it in the room though.

You get two bottles of water free per day and there were a few nights they brought us a plate of fresh fruit for free. I don't know if they do that most nights and we just weren't in or if there are certain nights they have that. You can also get a free shuttle into Patong or to Central Festival mall at certain times of the day. Cost you nothing. Also there are plenty of places around to book tours and stuff but we booked through the resort. Was simple and right there.

The whole time here has been the best experience and I can only hope we get the same great weather and same great service we've had this year for the next time we come.

This was our first time in Thailand and we will be back! Love it here. Thanks to everyone at the Old Phuket for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyKaren2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here mid November 2013. After reading all of the good reviews about this hotel we were excited to come and stay at the Old Phuket resort for a week. My partner and I arrived around 9pm at night, we were taken to our room in the Sino Wing, the room was very old and the bathroom was in need of a major renovation. We really didn't care at this stage. That night the air conditioning didn't work, the room was so hot we couldn't sleep. The next day we were out exploring for the whole day, came back and the aircon still wasn't working, they sent an engineer up who finally was able to get it fixed. For the next few days it rained basically all day and all night so we limited to leaving the hotel room. I immediately got sick, not sure if it was from something in the aircon or having to have freezing cold showers at night. The tv reception was so weak and dropped in and out, we paid for wifi which was around 700baht for the week (only one devise), the wifi was so weak it would only stay connected for a few minutes then would drop out. For one whole day we experienced power outages in our room which meant, we couldn't have a shower, couldn't use the tv or our wifi that we paid for. The next day our toilet was blocked. They also must switch off the hot water at night as twice I went to have a shower around 11pm and it was freezing. The drain in the bathroom smelt like sewage to the point where we were avoiding going in there. The buffet breakfast was very very average and staff were unfriendly, even getting a coffee was a mission. Pictures can be very misleading, the pools were nice but not as nice as what the pictures look like, we specifically asked if there was a swim up pool bar before we booked and were told yes, but nope no swim up pool bar, there is a bar near the pool but the staff were gone from there for long periods of time which made getting a drink hard. Patong is about 10 mins away in a tuk tuk and its 400baht there and 400baht to get back... Karon beach was beautiful and less busy however we spent majority of our time in Patong where there is so much to do, we eventually checked out of the hotel 2 days early to go stay in Patong. We stayed at the Baan Lamai hotel and were immediately given a room upgrade to a sea view/pool view room which was beautiful, well renovated, tv was massive, air con was cool, shower was hot and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was 10 times better then the Old Phuket. The name is very fitting for this resort- "old". Its a very tired boring resort which would only suit an older couple looking for something cheap and quite. Don't waste your money, you can get a much nicer hotel in Patong for the same price. When we finally spoke to the manager about our disappointing stay they offered us an "upgrade". The room we were offered was a ground floor room almost identical to what we had already. The only difference was the bathroom was a little bit newer, however, the shower was outside, not ideal when you are sick and it was raining, we couldn't believe the manager thought this would make us stay. The best part about our stay at the Old Phuket was seeing the resort get smaller in the rear view mirror as we drove away. If your a family or a young couple like us Don't Stay Here! Oh and also every morning staff would be walking the halls having loud conversations around 8am so don't expect a sleep in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here 1 and a half weeks in early November, and absolutely loved the place. We stayed in the Sino Wing (level 4) and found the facilties to be excellent and the staff to be friendly. The pool area for the wing was fantastic.

We also took up the candlelight dinner which was really romantic and the staff made the occasion really special. The buffet had a lot of choice also. Additionally the hotel is situated close to a range of shops, Tuktuk stand and the beach. They also offer a free shuttle to the main towns on the island.

I recommending this place, we will be returning when my partner and I return to Thailand. The staff difinitley make this place great!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jase and Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had booked a deluxe room in the Sino wing and were upgraded to a terrace deluxe, this comes with an outside shower, the rooms are sadly average and really do need an update, the upstairs pool in the Sino wing is great, but the loungers are quite old and worn, the yellow sun parasols are in tatters, some have broken wooden struts, almost all have holes in them where the sun has taken its toll on the fabric, we were given two blue beach towels each day, these often had bleach marks all over them. The white bath towels are past there best and many are worn quite thin, night times were quite noisy and sleep disturbed till as late as 2am by other guests being allowed to 'party' in the patio area outside their rooms. Breakfast was good, but they seemed quite short on staff, so getting a coffee top up was often a mission.The hotel is quite close to the beach, many local restaurants to choose from, and also a free shuttle service to Patong and Central Festival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindyann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windaroo, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in a pool access room, we were so glad we upgraded and spoil yourselves..we found the room comforting and such a pleasure to just jump into your pool from your room, so relaxing and we loved the spa step...highly reccommend these rooms, nice and large heaps of room, the staff were very pleasant and always smiling...we found the restaurants nice in the karon beach area..400 baht to get into Patong which we thought was fair and people very helpful.. We found the markets in Karon beach more expensive then in Patong and a little more aggressive...which was a little disappointing...but this resort made our holiday for sure and would visit again......loved it!!

Room Tip: Go for the swim up pool rooms they are worth every cent....amazing!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#81 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#19 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#87 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing