We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday experience”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #27 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Port Pirie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here in the serene wing overlooking the pool with an adjoining room with our 2 grown up kids. I have never come across such people who were always friendly and helpful. Thought the language barrier may have been a problem but it wasn't. The Karon Beach was fabulous. The one thing we needed was a travel power. That didn't matter as you can buy nearly anything there. All markets, restaurants, deli's are 2 minutes away

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, serene wing overlooking the pool. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    728
    206
    64
    45
See reviews for
354
970
76
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Resort was lovely, spent heaps of time in the pool. We stayed in the older wing was fine but the beds were really too firm. Great access to the beach through restaurants. Staff didnt know much english which I found frustrating. All in all a great honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: i would suggest upgrading to the serene wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great hotel but definitely with some room to improve.
Positives:
Team friendly and happy to assist if required.
Amazing swimming pool with relaxing music.
Had a cake left in my room as a birthday surprise which was a really nice touch!
Enjoyable food in restaurants
Close to the beach
Negatives:
We stayed in both parts of the property and although Serene wing is new it definitely has moulding issue. Our room was damp including all bedding.
Breakfast in general good but as it's served outside and in hot weather, things like yoghurt and fruits has to be kept cool. They had food flies on them all the time! Breakfast host would be a nice touch as it seemed there was no one to greet the guest, take room number, take to the table etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LijaB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We go to phuket several times each year.
T^his year we stayed at old phuket hotel, absolutely had a great time
Staff were always smiling and helpful
Breakfast was fantastic.
And only a 60 metre walk to beach, no hassles with local shops, or pestering.
Swimming keep clean, and was always in top looking.
Overhaul this has been the best place we have stayed in, on phuket island
Recomeded to couples ,familys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We can thoroughly recommend this property if you are going to Karon Beach. We stayed in the newer wing and overlooked the pool. The décor was crisp and clean, with an amazing bathroom design. The two rooms were interconnecting, so perfect for two adults and two kids. We all enjoyed the huge pool. If you are a swimmer, take your goggles. You can get a good work out in the two long lap pools. Extensive breakfast buffet and free internet in the lobby. Lovely staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank coropark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel after a fairly arduous trip around Thailand and found it completely delightful! We booked a room on the ground floor in the wing with the pool in the middle. We chose this room because of a recommendation on Trip Advisor. It was very very beauiful - straight out our sliding doors and into the pool - fabulous beds, an amazing bathroom and a lovely little walk to the beach past cute restaurants and massage places. My sister was not expecting something so palatial and she was blown away. I would definately go again ....but always book the ground floor pool access room

Room Tip: definitely the ground floor in the wing with the huge pool and access straight from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele21212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Old Phuket Hotel. Our room was very clean (love the white rooms) and very large. We fell in love with the 'long' bathroom and we want to design an en-suite just like that for our bedroom. We enjoyed the quiet relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. The only noise was the little birds chirping - nice chirping, not seagulls or other noisy birds squawking. The staff were all lovely. Any issues that arose were dealt with extremely quickly. The breakfast each morning was varied and delicious. We loved the swimming pool/s, and are trying to decide if we want a pool side room next time, or the balcony room we had this time. Although there weren't a lot of children, it was lovely to see the facilities at the hotel for children, including 'Disney" bowls and plates at breakfast. The was the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. And, we'd love the temperature on the air conditioning - certainly cooler than outside, but not so cold you had to wear a jumper inside. Hotels in Asia never get that right, and one freezes inside, or it gets too stuffy because you've turned the air conditioning off! Not at The Old Phuket. Perfect. Dianne and Alex

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor (corner) was very quiet. We loved the huge balcony, and the relative priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#25 of 134 in Karon
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 134 in Karon
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Karon Beach
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing