We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot fault” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cannot fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Best hotel ever, paid more for the spa deluxe room the privacy of this room cannot be faulted, the outside jacuzzi the outside shower. I went with my Boyfriend was very romantic peaceful, felt like paradise all to ourselves.
The staff are polite, the pool slightly shaded but a short walk to the beach literally! and a wide selection of all sorts of food straight outside
just a 7 minute tuktuk ride into patong for some nightlife, shopping, markets and eating!
you cannot get bored, we spent 2 weeks here yet we could of had more
lots of nearby activities available to you

Room Tip: Go all out and get the spa deluxe if youre stayting a while makes it not just a hotel but like a tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LucyAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    684
    183
    58
    41
See reviews for
316
895
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Old Phuket to attend a wedding. The location was ideal for families as you are away from the 'adult' area of Phuket but straight across from the beach with ample deck chairs. The layout of the Old Phuket is unique, where the Sino wing has a very sino- Portugese influence, especially the deluxe spa rooms (where our son stayed) through to the modern Serene Wing with deluxe pool access which is what we had. Both were excellent.
The reception staff through were very attentive and the staff at the breakfast buffet were extremely helpful and made the whole holiday a wonderful experience. We would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brownmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room was quite spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast good and staff also very friendly. Close to Restaurants and Beach. Not to far from other attractions in Phuket. Easy to book sightseeing trips as the stand is on the ground floor, next to the lift. Stayed for 4 days and will definately stay longer next time. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ground floor could be best, however there is a lift available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mölnlycke, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very nice personel at the hotel. Breakfast was very nice. Not to far from the beach.
We really like Phuket and Karon beach. Truly recommend it both for families and people travelling alone. Easy to book islandtours on your own. You don't have to book via your travelling agency.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks in the sino wing.
The room was spacious for us (my partner and I). Loved the bed, it was massive. Nice view of the street stalls.
Only thing was the shower, it was mouldy and too low on the wall that u couldn't stand straight under it.
Other then that, pretty good service and an overall lovely place to stay. We would go back :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayleytegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to Thailand for 16 days, 9 here and 6 in Bangkok...should have. Stayed the whole time here ! We celebrated our anniversary with two of our. Fa mily but more like best friends
We stayed in a pool access room, was just great,,the staff were so friendly, could not do enough to help you, they were just lovely, going back again without any problems..loved it , thanks

Room Tip: Go for the pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jb1212255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I firstly wish to say the general staff were extremely friendly and efficient...except the night desk staff..whose english when needed to inquire about a Dr was insufficient to make ourselves understood. We stayed in the pool access room in the Serene wing and though modern and sleek was furnished with painted glossy white concrete floors which were EXTREMELY slippery to even dangerous. Took a tumble almost immediately after settling into the room and almost another when there was not even any water involved. I also found the water from the shower in our bathroom very SMELLY... sickly even.. would of smelt cleaner washing in the pool than our shower. It stunk actually and I left my shower sponge and personal washer behind because of their smell. I found the breakfast menu adequate and dining area most lovely, but disliked that there was NO onsite restaurant where I could eat with some feeling of safety. This was not something made aware to us before booking there. This was the second resort we had stayed in during our trip and my first overseas holiday. Would say that though a beautiful aspect and general ease of access to most things I was somewhat dissappointed overall.. Our daughter stayed at a MUCH cheaper facility nearby and they even received free internet which we had to pay on top of our accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#81 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#19 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing