We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Old Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Old Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Superb! The check in was seamless, even though we were early. Definitiely get a pool access room (and not just pool view), the extra money is WAY worth the luxury of slipping into the pool directly from your room.

Breakfasts are very good with great variety. Staff were exceptionally friendly.

The location is also perfect, being far enough away from the busy Karon beach road (it is dead quiet in the evenings around the pool area, one cannot hear the road). Yet, it's only a one minute walk from the beach. We will definitely stay here again rather than Patong, which we found was great to visit when we wanted, but if you want to get away to get some peace and quiet you could.

What was also fantastic was the free shuttle service to Patong and Phuket town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    696
    190
    60
    43
See reviews for
328
925
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Spent 8 days in javuzzi suite and one night in room with bakcony. Both rooms excellent. Clean, air conditioned, spacious. Jacuzzi and shower were outside, both discrete and tropical feel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful with plenty of variety to suit all tastes. Beach, massage, restaurants, markets at the back door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webwytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Old Phuket was great, super close to the beach, decent restaurants and shopping. We stayed at the Hilton before, and then transferred here (right down the road), where we stayed in one of the private jacuzzi rooms. They even upgraded my sister for free so she could be in the room next to us.

Pros: the location, the price, the staff, the jacuzzi, reasonably priced beer in mini-fridge
Cons: looked like the curtains, cushions, fixtures hadn't been cleaned in a long time; lock on door was unreliable and flimsy

Room Tip: Go with the private jacuzzi room. There isn't hot water, but there are bubbles. And there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcjulie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and i stayed there for our anniversary. It was alot more than what we expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very beautiful. To anyone wanting a romantic dinner with there partner i highly recommend the candle light dinner they provide at a very low price. My partner and i were swept away. It was no ordinary candle light dinner thats for sure. Perfect for a proposal. Lol. The buffet breakfast is realy good too. Plenty of variety. We are definently returning very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggrrrrrrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay at the old Phuket karon beach was made truly amazing by the staff and service we received. Everyone was amazingly friendly and helpful. The facilities were great and our rooms were kept sufficiently clean and well attended. We especially enjoyed the free shuttle bus into patong which was an excellent service. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very much enjoyed this hotel especcially 'BUMP' on the front desk.

One bit of feedback is regarding the room service, they should think about a 24 hour room service option.

One member of the breakfast team should be replaced as he wasn't very good/friendly or helpful.

Pancakes at the breakfast table were irresistable!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscuit-twin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just recently went there for our honeymoon..... what an awesome place. The hotel is amazing, the staff is as friendly and humble as ever, the food is good and the places surrounding the hotel is definitely worth a visit. Me and my new husband rented a scooter from the hotel and saw the most amazing places. I am amazed by the fact that all the Thai people are so connected and they will definitely be able to make your stay one to remember. The language barrier is big, but with a little patience you will be able to feel at home.
We will visit there again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#20 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#84 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing