We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$46
View deal
Expedia.com
$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$22
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Priceline$30
Hotels.com$33
FindHotel$25
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,237)
Filter reviews
2,237 results
Traveler rating
968
868
245
83
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
968
868
245
83
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sino wing serene wing pool access room karon beach air con pool bar restaurants and shops short walk to the beach great holiday thai food phuket massage jacuzzi baht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,471 - 1,476 of 2,237 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked a room in Sino wing for 11 days vacation. On arrival the room was upgraded to Serene wing pool view room, which is very neat. Rooms designed in modern Thai style, very bright and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. In overall I had very pleasant stay.

Room tip: Definitely go for Serene wing, these rooms are beatuful.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly pleased to read that you liked the resort and the service provided by our team. I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments!.

We thank you very much for your contribution and support. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

some times the difference between a good report and a bad one can be small. stayed here for 13 nights. booked in sino wing on 2nd early morning room 409 unusal pipe noises stopped us sleeping wandered down to reception and grabbed keys to another room to get some sleep. gave hotel a day to fix problem but could not be done. was shown around studio poolside serene wing room and we paid for upgrade and moved. for 4 days we had no other guests above or at either side of us so serene was the case. people moved in above and either side of us so got a bit less serene considering one pair seemed to like loud music we do not. complained to reception and things got better for a while but did return on odd occasions. i think serene is a word which can only apply if you have serene people in this wing so it should really be called the white wing! all in all to be fair a tidy hotel that we marked as a overall experience clean and kept that way over our stay if you have a horror time here it will be unusal and unlucky. staff are young and a few learning but we think good. the look on som,s face in the breakfast room when they could not find us a seat was one of panic so i think they do care and thanks to odi in reception for a crash course on the local relgion oh yeah plax the a front desk manager( wicked braces) who must have had the weight of the world on his shoulders at times. a couple of other unrelated items hotel rooms of thailand picked and returned us to airport very good. we found kata beach better as karon was untidy and red flagged and enforced strictly owing to strong undercurrents although this may only be at this time of year. any other members who would like to contact me about this resort are always welcome to do so.

Room tip: to be honest serene wing not as quiet as it could be watch out for generator from adjacent hotel starting up for a couple of hours but you pay your money and take your chance as in most things
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

We have acknowledged all of your comments, and we shall share it among our team accordingly.

Thanks again for your kind contribution and support.

Kind Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in sino wing for 4 nights, it was ok, outdoor shower was nice.
Our room started smelling a bit in the toilet and they refused to move us so spoke to us like idiots.
Didnt like the staff much but if u can get a pool access room its nice.
Breakfast wasnt that great.. Lots to choose from but not very nice.

I would not stay in karon again as its very expensive compared to patong where the tours and market are much cheaper!

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback.

We have acknowledge all of your feedback, and we shall discuss among our team accordingly for our further improvement.

We thank you again for your kind contribution and support.

Kind Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked three rooms in the Sino Wing. We had requested two of them rooms to be inter connecting, but all three rooms together. Unfortunately only two rooms where together and the third room as at the other end of the hall. Apart from this our stay was great. Breakfast was good, although becoming slightly boring near the end of our 10 day stay. Rooms are clean and well serviced daily. Sino Wing pool was nice a quiet. The massages and pool bar were great! Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and markets around the corner. Overall great place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HardyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

We have acknowledged all of your comments, and we shall share it among our team accordingly.

Thanks again for your kind contribution and support.

Kind Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in August. Our travel consultant recommended us staying here ( he hasn't stayed here) and after a long night traveling we arrived at 1am in the morning and were spoken to in half English which we couldn't understand but it was basically explaining about pool hours. So after signing in we arrive to our room in the old style building. I nearly died it was horrible!! You walk in and it's just a bed and bathroom and a spa on the balcony ( spa delux room) the shower was in the bathtub with very little shower pressure which I would not of been able to wash my hair or shave my legs. The spa on the balcony was so old that i wouldnt of got in it. So we decided that since we didn't understand the English we would sleep then sort out a upgrade in the morning. Next morning we went to the front desk and they advised there was no rooms untill we checked out! Very disappointing. Anyway we decided to go for a walk as I was really upset as I hated this room walked up the long drive way and wondered why we didn't see other tourists walking the same way we were? On arrival back to the unit we had a all an was advised we could by upgraded for a extra $8000 baht we didn't care we wanted to move. We got put into the new wing which was great we liked it! However one day we came back to the room to find the card not working! We called front desk from another room room service were cleaning and took over 1 hr to sort out with no sorry nothing not very happy! On the last day the door didn't work again but apparently it doesn't work after 12pm if your leaving the same day. We paid for a late checkout for 6 pm but on the last day they had to let us in every time which I cannot understand because id paid for the room to start with? The room cleaning lady's were great no problems there the bell boys were also great! Breakfast was very average we liked the egg station but that's it very poor. Ordered room service took over 2 hrs for spring rolls and milkshakes?? I wouldn't stay here again! Made a holiday stressful. I could write here all day about our horrible experance :(

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments.

We have acknowledged all of your comments, and we shall discuss your comments among our team accordingly for our further improvement.

Thanks again for your contribution and support.

Sincere Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews