We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Access Room”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just returned from 9 days in Phuket staying at the Old Phuket in a Pool Access Room in the newer Serene Wing and had a fantastic time. The room was clean, serviced daily, (be warned, the beds are hard), staff very friendly but the central pleasure was the pool right outside the sliding door, with our own little shady deck with fan. Karon beach is nice but lots of rubbish and to be honest, the sea temp was too warm to be refreshing, so we would go for a walk along the beach (and several swims) but were happy to retreat to our little oasis by the pool. We spoke with other guests who had upgraded to a Pool Access Room once they arrived and saw the convenience.
Sure, as in most of Asia, there are unsavoury smells and sights as you walk around, but that is all part of the experience, and yes, traffic can be chaotic but thats also part of it. The food we found to be varied - some devine, others just ordinary so it pays to take your time in looking around and seeing what others are being served. We didn't find Thailand to be super cheap, yes water and beer are similar prices - (approx NZ$ 2.50) but a good quality and very tasty curry was NZ$16, compared to the same dish that was only average flavour at NZ $8.
Transport is not that cheap if there are only 2 of you, (a Tuk-tuk to Patong is $20) but its otherwise a long walk. Even though I have travelled in Asia before, I still found Patong to be very "Intense" with the people, noise and constant hawkers, so only go when you are in the mood for it. In all honesty we would be there tomorrow if we didn't have to work!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
There are newer reviews for The Old Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is photographed beautifully on its website, it really does look stunning but there are so many things that let it down. Firstly, if you're staying in a deluxe room with a pool view the rooms are nice enough. If you're on the other side in a Portugese style room, they're dark and dingy and relatively small - not what you'd expect for a hotel that considers itself 4*. There is also no hotel bar. The only place you can purchase alcoholic drinks is at a tuck shop style pool counter. It opens at 10am (despite people sitting at the pool by 9am who might fancy a juice or coffee) and it closes between 6 and 7pm! You cannot change travellers at the hotel, something I and other guests thought inconvenient. I've never found this at any other hotel worldwide! You have to pay for wifi which is a dam cheek after what you pay to stay here! At breakfast you have to pay extra for a cappuccino. If you're a vegetarian and you fancy a mushroom omelette, forget it they don't have mushrooms! It's either ham, onion or peppers. My room key didn't work on one occasion and when I went to sort it out at reception I overheard other guests complaining that theirs didn't work either and after the money they paid to stay, it was quite simply an inconvenience! I also noticed there was a step broken in the swimming pool. It wasn't fixed, just removed. Also you can never see a sunset at the pool. A huge shame and perhaps a bit of an oversight when they built it. I spoke to a couple of other guests at The Old Phuket and they too thought it was photographed really nicely but a big disappointment. I guess it all depends on what you're used to. I've stayed in many 4 and the odd 5* hotel and this is definitely more of a 3* star, you just pay 4* prices! I wouldn't recommend The Old Phuket unless you get it very cheaply as there is nothing luxurious about it. On the other hand you could go to South Goa, (as I did last year) and stay at the Alila Diwa, it's a fabulous hotel and they certainly know how to look after their guests!

Room Tip: I had no choice but to stay in a deluxe pool side room for an additional £140 as the tour operator c...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjreidy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to have booked a pool access room and then were upgraded to a larger room. Definitely recommend the pool access room as the way to go. Also enjoyed the breakfasts, nice variety each day. All the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The beach was nice but quite a bit of rubbish so took the motorbike to Kata Beach 5 minutes away which was cleaner.

Room Tip: Book the pool access and ask about the 'Mytime' club. Also great value to hire motorbikes t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel, ideal location to beach... friendly.... clean..and nearby to all tastes in resturants,,enjoyed my stay here.,if being picky they should have a resturant in the hotel at night, not just for breakfast...

Room Tip: we had the room with jacozzi, on balcony well worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marybill003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were moved to this hotel by Sawadee after insisting on moving from a very disappointing hotel.

We were impressed with this hotel and it fitted our criteria, which was for a relaxing, comfortable stay where we could laze by the pool, it is just a pity we were not there for the whole 5 days!!

We had a deluxe pool access room in the serene wing. The room itself was fairly basic but clean and comfortable. The unusual bathroom was actually quite nice to use, once we had closed the blind. We did enjoy the private balcony area with direct access to the pool and although there were people swimming up and down in front of us, it was perfectly OK and we had no thoughts about loss of privacy until we read the reveiws on this website. It was especially nice after a night out when the pool was lit up.

The hotel itself had lovely gardens etc and was very welcoming. It was in a good position in the resort with plenty of shops and restaurants just outside and perhaps 10 minutes walk to the main street.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlesomething_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I did a lot of research on hotels in Phuket and ended up being very confused. We travelled at peak time so all hotels were expensive and we stayed for a week so we wanted to stay somewhere we would enjoy. I selected the Old Phuket on recommendation from our travel agent and reading the reviews here and we were really pleased with our choice.

We chose to stay in a Pool Access room in the Serene wing and were very happy with our choice. As we were staying for more than 5 nights we also have complimentary mini bar which was appreciated at the end of the day.

The rooms were large and clean and the cleaning during our stay was good too.

Some of the previous comments about privacy are fair with this room but you can get around it and for us this was not a problem. There are net curtains that can be pulled to prevent people seeing in during daylight hours. We spent a lot of time on our deck and around the pool and unless you had the doors of the room open or the blinds open then you could not see into the rooms.

We LOVED the pool. The temperature was perfect, there are plenty of loungers, the pool bar makes great cocktails and the lunch menu was just what we were after.

Breakfast offered a good choice of continental options, fruits, european options and hot options. I would recommend going earlier though because it gets very busy later on.

We used to hotel tour desk to arrange a driver to take us sightseeing around Phuket. The lady behind the desk was helpful and everything was arranged without a hitch.

The hotel offers a gym, DVD library, mini golf and massages but we did not use any of these.

There is a street right outside the hotel with restaurants, convenience stores, massage places, laundry places which was very convenient. We ate dinner most nights at one of these restaurants and you can get discount off food from some of the restaurants as a guest of The Old Phuket.

The beach is easy walking distance from the hotel as is the night market and many other restaurant options.

For massages I would recommend the very first place on the left as you walk out of the gate. The ladies are lovely and the massages were fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KellyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Karon to see something different from Patong. Peaceful area of Karon with handy street of restaurants around the corner. Read the other reviews and had to buy myself an upgrade from the Older style room to the Deluxe Pool View Room in the new wing. Unique Bathroom layout, the hotel offers nice little features like a golf putting green, table tennis table, library, and free DVD hire. Thank you reception managers for allowing us to take some pre-wedding photos at your fantastic resort which had beautiful surroundings! Much appreciated!

Room Tip: Will cost you 200 baht to get a tuk tuk/taxi to Dino Park and the city part of Karon. Try to exchang...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shyen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 135 in Karon
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#23 of 135 in Karon
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $38 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing