We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T EAT HERE!!!”

Mali Chic Beach Front Karon
Ranked #189 of 358 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Thai
Restaurant details
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“DON'T EAT HERE!!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We decided to eat here because we saw they had a few different locations and thought this must mean they were good. We were so wrong!

We ordered two dishes - a parma ham & rocket pizza, and a chicken pasta with cream sauce. The pizza came out with lettuce and bacon on it instead of parma ham and rocket, definitely not what we ordered. The waitress said we could order something else to replace it, which then also came out incorrectly. By this time we had been there for nearly an hour so we ended up just eating the second incorrect pizza.

The chicken pasta dish was stone cold. They took it back and warmed it up, but the pasta was still lacking some of the key ingredients that were listed in the menu.

When we came to leave, they bought our bill with the first AND second pizzas on it. We asked to speak to the manager, and got the head waiter. He said the manager would be there in 5 minutes when we complained that we had been charged for an incorrect pizza that we didn't eat. Instead of calling his manager, he called the police!!!

They caused a huge scene in the restaurant, spoke no English, attempted to arrest us!!! all over one pizza which the head waiter had bought back to the table. In the end we paid for the extra pizza to avoid being arrested. This is hands down the worst restaurant and service I have ever experienced, DON'T EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cold and undone food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We were 9 people. 8 dishes was cold and the steak was raw.

The servants was nice and we got a new round of food, but some dishes was again cold.

Can't blain the wonderful servants, but the chef sucked!

Not recommended! We told the manager about their problem. Maybe they'll get better?

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here for Xmas eve dinner, I had my main course sitting on the table when I hadn't started my starter, my girlfriend was given her main course and when she was half way through it received her starter, my father was waiting at least 20 mins for his main course after receiving his starter. And on top of all this the food was absolutely terrible, some undercooked, some burnt and some just terrible altogether. Avoid if possible.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very dissapointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We tried this restaurant after eating at a different Mali restaurant earlier in the trip. This is very poor. The service was slow and they look disinterested. My wife ordered a steak and it seemed like it was old meat and not very good. This restaurant for the price is worth avoiding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saint_Alks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service & beach views a great place to dine!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I ate here for the first time on Sunday and was really impressed. I was served by Fon who was pleasant, understood great english and very attentive, customer service a 10/10. The food is fresh, tasty and fantastic value! I was even more impressed to find out that it is half price food on Sunday & Wednesday night. I have been here every night since and it's the same fantastic quality. You won't be dissappinted!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank arod87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mali Chic Beach Front Karon also viewed

 

Been to Mali Chic Beach Front Karon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing