We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice relaxed place, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Mario

Da Mario
Ranked #171 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Italian Restaurant
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A nice relaxed place, great food.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had lunch here last week, lovely place. We settled outside ordered couple of dishes, the pasta was superb. The wait staff is good, the chef let us try try the onion bread he recently baked. In the entire mood of holiday and Karon beach, this restaurant fits right in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AniruddhM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizza and Pasta in Town”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We did not come to Thailand to eat Pizza and Pasta but after 3 weeks we were hanging out for a decent pizza and pasta dish, we came across this pleasant restaurant and would you believe it is owned and run by an italian and we had a an italian waiter serve us. The pasta was homemade and the pizza was baked in a wood fire oven and all the ingredients were fresh.
The owner Mario was also friendly and took an interest in his clients. Within walking distance to the Centara its worth every cent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza place in Karon”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been there for three times just to get Pizza. Never got disappointed. Excellent Pizza, one of the best places in Southern Phuket. Ambiente is simple, staff is ok. We got a desert and starters, too. Not as good as the Pizzam but still ok. Prices are like in other Pizza places. We will go there (for Pizza) again if we will be in Karon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Karon”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The restaurant was open air, well appointed and beautiful. Ordered the brochette, lasagna and a pizza. Also ordered wine and cappuccino. The lasagna literally melted in my mouth. Everything tasted excellent. Had THE best dining experience EVER. Met the owner and manager who were both very cordial and friendly. This restaurant has become our favorite Italian restaurant to eat at while in Karin. We will definitely be back many times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgeoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Patong, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
243 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The food here was excellent. I had clams in shell fried with garlic and olive oil, and cannelloni with spinach, which was prepared on site. The food was very tasty, but the portions were small. The house wine was Merlot. For two dishes and a glass of wine, the cost was approximately $23 U.S. Considering the portion size, that is quite expensive for Thailand. Added to this is that there is no scenic views.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mario also viewed

 

Been to Da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing