We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 5 night in this resort and it was very relaxing. This resort is located in Karon which I found it much better place than Patong if your are looking to relax. Room was very clean and nice, bed was very comfortable. I loved the pool and the Mango bar. Breakfast was good and staff were generally friendly and helpful. We used to walk to the beach as it is only 10 min. Although it is a hillside hotel but you could use their free service to transfer you from the lobby to your room.
The only minor problem, there was no extractor fan in the bathroom. Also every morning they remove the big hatch beside the pool without securing the area which I found it dangerous.

Room Tip: Leave enough time (1.5 h) going to airport from this hotel. We nearly missed our flight due to heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahrouz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Khun Shahrouz N,
Thank you for sharing your holidays experienced with us. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your holidays with us. Point mentioned will be immediately corrected.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    423
    80
    24
    13
See reviews for
240
1,156
48
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's just magical........all the team are just amazing......there when you need them :))
You just know from the moment you arrive that it's going to be a very relaxing time, we had 10 days & think we could stay here forever.......try it you just might love it !!!

Room Tip: Get room 2128 or 2129
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declanj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Khun Declanj51,
Thank you for reviewing us after your holidays. The most delighted to know your family really enjoyed the stay with us.

Your words of mouth to share with friends and family members will be much more appreciated.

Please feel free to contact us to help you plan your next holidays back to Phuket and Karon beach

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Mandarava is a great, nice, beautiful & relaxing resort. The staff in the resort are polite, helpful & friendly, they will standby at lobby all the time to assist or inform us that our cab is arrive without waiting ourself. They have shuttle service to karon beach which is a really nice & beautiful beach. The swimming pool is nice & clean & we can enjoy the hill & beach view while enjoying the food in their restaurant. If we do back to Phuket, we will stay in Mandarava again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane Lu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Khun Jane Lu C,
Thank you for spending your specious time shared how you thoughts about Mandarava resort & Spa after your holidays. We are really happy to know you had a wonderful time and hotel is met with your expectation in all aspects.

Your kind words to come back and help recommend hotel to others is really appreciated.

Please feel free to contact us when you are ready to return to your second home away from home.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We arrived early morning and our room was not ready until later We were very tired upon arrival and were given bits of paper receipts etc., by gentleman who did not speak very good English, felt this was very in your face rather than relaxed and I was so tired i was quite annoyed.

Once in our room which they found for us early it was fabulous. really good quality hotel, nothing was a problem. We had good fun with the ladies at the pool bar Noon being one of them. Lunch you were able to order was fairly good quality

The area outside of here was typical tourist but larger than the impression I had been given here.

Excellent breakfast each day, however when the Captain was not in on two occasions we had to ask numerous times for our coffee to be refilled. The Chantilly restaurant provides excellent food which we would rate, however the Checkout Captain was too controlling with her staff, and needed to relax, she would stand over you when waiting for you to order, or taking a last mouthful of drink she was there and found this very over the top and not what an evening meal was about. She would speak to the staff in a manner that did not appear to be welcome by the staff at all, we would have eaten more in the restaurant had this been more relaxed.
Despite this loved the sound of the crickets and we thin frogs at night.
Beware when crossing the pool area to the restaurant in the morning as there is a trap door that was often open for the pool and does not indicate well this is the case, which I did point out and was assured this would be addressed.
Overall an excellent hotel with excellent staff, the stairs not being a problem and we are mature as you can get a ridden back up in the cart in an evening.. Would recommend for a relaxing break

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Khun Julie R,
Thank you for sharing your great constructive comments after your holidays. Gladfully accepted and valued your comments for an improvement. Amidst this minor points we are happy to learn you enjoyed facilities and services.

We look forward to serve you again and please feel free to contact me for any further assistance you may require.

Warmest regards,
Alex. P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel was exceptional from start to finish. We utilized their airport shuttle for pick up and drop off and it was extremely easy- just send an email to the hotel to organize. The driver was waiting at the Phuket airport for us with cold water and cool towels. It was a little over an hour to the hotel. When we arrived, we were greeted promptly and the check in process was quick and efficient. They had cool towels and a welcome drink upon arrival. Every associate that we encountered was friendly, polite and engaging- especially Ann at the Front Desk. She helped us organize a couple of site seeing trips while we were there and she even remembered to ask about our trips when she saw us later in the day. She was wonderful! The food was delicious for all the meals we ate at the resort. We were really impressed by the food quality. The only negative I can think of is that they didn't always have the wines on their wine list available (I'm really grasping for any negatives here!). I loved the little touches in the room- a beach bag, sandals for the beach, umbrellas. They seem to have thought of it all! We were there over my birthday and the resort delivered a small birthday cake to our room. How nice! The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from Karon Beach but the beach is definitely walkable. We suggest trying Ann's Restaurant, which is nearby.

If we ever return to Phuket, we would certainly stay at Mandarava again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Khun Cassie N,
Thank you for your specious time spent to review us after your holidays. We are delighted to learn you had a wonderful time with us. Your constructive point has been noted and will be correct by one in charge. Your compliments message will be shared with the entire team and especially Khun Ann.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just stayed at this beautiful resort last week and it's such a relaxing and beautiful setting. When you lounge around the main pool and look up past the spa you feel like you're in heaven. It's full of amazingly green plants and trees all around you. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the photos on the website are real. The food is so tasy as well- the menu is highly extensive and everything we tried( had mainly Thai but tried a pizza and it was really yummy as well) Also lots of fresh juices and cocktails on the menu. It's just a short walk to Karon beach which is nice. The ladies working in the spa were so kind and had 3-4 different and excellent treatments
We really appreciated that it was a couple's resort only(but have seen on the website that from May 1st they'll allow all ages to stay- not sure why? It is rare to find such a beautiful resort where you don't have to listen to other people's kids screaming. All the staff were so friendly and helpful- thank you for a relaxing week in heaven:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musbjerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Khun musbjerregaard,
Thank you for sharing how you thoughts about Mandarava resort & Spa after your holidays. Really happy to learn you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all hotel facilities and services.

Your great words of mouth to recommend property to friends and family members will be much more appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back sooner

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. I hadn't stayed in Karon before so didn't know a lot about it. Would I stay again? Yes for the right reasons.

Pros:
New and clean resort.
Great pools and swim up bars.
Lunch and poolside food was really good.
Very comfortable bed.
Quiet and peaceful location.
The stairs really weren't an issue as others have reported.
The walk to Karon isn't too far. 10 minutes max.

Cons:
The smell that wafts over the resort periodically.
Only 2 towels supplied in the bathroom. 4 is standard.
The cocktails around the pool were pretty average. Not sure they actually had alcohol in them!
The shower wasn't cleaned once in my entire stay.
There is no all night menu if you come back hungry past 10.30pm.
It costs 350 thb to Patong or 250 thb to Karon.
There is no specialty food night, so the menu is always the same for dinner.
The gym is rubbish other than treadmills.

Overall I enjoyed my stay. Very relaxing and great food for lunch. The pool facilities were excellent.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Khun frenchbd,
Thank you for reviewing us and shared the value pros and cons. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. all the points have been noted and will be look into for improvment.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarava Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarava Resort and Spa

Property: Mandarava Resort and Spa
Address: 14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Karon
#3 Family Hotel in Karon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarava Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarava Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarava Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing