We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perry London UK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
Ranked #55 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perry London UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and delicious! Authentic spicy Thai food. Green chicken curry was perfect balanced fragrant and yummy. Busy but queue was not that long.

Helpful?
Thank Perryjm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    583
    293
    131
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yellowknife
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious cheap food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ate at this restaurant twice in 7 days. The food was cheap and great. Service was ok and their turnover was high. If you are looking for the server to tend to your every need this is not the place. They are not mean or disrespectful they are just very busy. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aikenskb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap, but very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had to queue to get in, a first for us in many trips to Thailand, but it was worth the wait. We went on a recommendation from our guesthouse owners. It's busy, and a bit chaotic, and we all loved our food. My partner's Massaman/Matsaman was the best we've ever tried, and the pork on toast to start was also very tasty stuff. Three of us ate for 840 baht, with 2 appetisers and large beers for all. If you can be bothered to wait, it's worthwhile in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gringoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

glad we finally experienced this place. the food is definitely good and very cheap. don't expect a warm greeting or smile. we even got our bill before my son finished his meal. won't be going back. prefer papaya down the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Red Onion on 3 out of our 8 nights at Karon. The food is fresh and alway tasty. We found it quite cheap compared to other restaurants in the area. The duck and salted prawns are a must to try. Defiantly give it a try u won't be disappointed. Get there early as after 7.30 there is generally there are people waiting.

Helpful?
Thank TashBulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing