We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“read reviews went it was ok?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
Ranked #55 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“read reviews went it was ok?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I went off alone to Red Onion as it looked impossible to eat there with children, chairs really close together and very busy. We were so excited but left feeling let down. I'd read the reviews and made it a must but on our first Karon visit (we always stay here) time ran out. So next visit I made it a must wish I hadn't the food was ok but nothing great. I felt like I was being rushed because people wait for tables. Maybe it was a must eat place once but I feel they have lost whatever they had because of the turnover in trade. Maybe the chef left I don't know others in our group went to eat here but said from previous visits it was not up to scratch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romany888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    583
    293
    131
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than most”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We ate twice at The Red Onion the food is quite good but not that good I would line up to get a table. Get there by 6.30 to avoid this. Don't expect a leisurely dinner they like more sittings so the service is accordingly. I keep saying this but Karon dining is rather ordinary from what we tried this time around so if something is half decent and reasonably priced they flock to it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirtravelalot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton Park, South Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Avoid at All Costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had read mixed reports and decided to give the Red Onion a try, that was our first mistake, getting seated was abrupt and with a indifferent attitude and got worse from here on. When ordering from a picture book style menue the man taking our order was in a very bad mood being abrupt and not wanting to answer any questions regarding the food. We rececied two dishes,a fried Duck dish and Prawns with some sort of gutiness noodles which did not order, in addition to this there were five of the smallest prawns immaginable ( we had more prawns in the fried rice than in this dish elswere). When I complained we were treated like mit was our fault at which time I told them to take the dish away as it was not waht we ordered, this caused a great deal of yelling and I guess abused in Thai. We asked for the bill paid and left. Don't be tempted just avoid

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GerriandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awhitu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and a good giggle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just had to dine at this restaurant after reading the reviews. We obviously struck it at the right time, we didn't have to queue. We were sat inside, as requested as partner wasn't coping too well with the heat :o) and were positioned nicely under a fan, only to be told 2 minutes later, 'you move.' They needed our table to make up a party of 6. My partner reluctantly gave up his seat..the staff started bickering as we searched for another place to sit. Not sure if it was directed at us, or if they were fighting amongst themselves! They took our order, but it was obvious the waiter was not a happy chappy. The general consensus of diners around us was that they too were exeperiencing grumpy and surly service. The atmosphere continued like that for the duration of the meal, which was, by the way, superb. They are certainly well organised, and meals were served promptly, however, the sheer popularity of the place has obviously put the staff under a lot of pressure. We were both amused and bemused...finding the whole experience both entertaining and bewlidering! Have fun dining here, you will get a good meal, you may even get service with a smile.... :o)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who loves eating Flys !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I ate there last week after reading some great reviews...in a nutshell the food was good but there were large blowflys all over the tables which I never saw in any other restaurant in Karon and this was poor to say the least !.

The spring rolls have an authentic Thai Flavour and not the average fried fare you get in other restaurants and the salt and pepper fish was excellent.

Would I return...only if they sorted out the fly problem as the alleyway next to the restaurant looked dirty and unappealing.

A tip...if you go after 6pm you may be waiting for a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank storm_fan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing