We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and location”
Review of Mama Restaurant

Mama Restaurant
Ranked #258 of 368 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Seafood, International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and location”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

From the outside this restaurant looks more upmarket than most places in Karon, but once inside the setting is average, the views are nice as it is just across the road from the beach, so it's good for people watching and sunsets. I had the cheeseburger which surprised me as it actually looked home-made, not the generic burgers that most places abroad chuck out. The food itself was great, but the waiter didn't speak a word of English, and there was discussion with the kitchen staff with the menu being pointed at so I was dubious that they were going to get my order right. As with everywhere in Phuket the clientele seemed to be mostly Russian, and I was handed a Russian menu automatically and had to ask for one in English. So I supposed maybe the waiting staff spoke more Russian than English, but looking at the conversations between them and the Russian guests it appears not. Such a shame as they could turn this into a great place rather than an ok place. But better than most for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FREYA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    83
    46
    16
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food....European feel”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place has an European feel to it, from the branding and uniform to the menu. It is almost worth a visit just for the toilet, which is super clean, air conditioned and like something from a high class hotel!

We ate here a few times and generally the food was good (apart from a yellow curry we ate late at night which was average). We love Thai food and always try to eat in authentic places but it does get difficult when travelling with vegetarians, especially as one of them does not eat either fish or egg. The good thing about this place is that it serves Thai food and also has a good range of other options, which means there is something for everyone.

Staff were always friendly and polite and one night when it suddenly poured down they were very good at flagging down tuk tuks so we didn't have to wait out in the rain and get soaked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bun2bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad, pricier than some”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We first went to this restaurant in 2011 MAR and had the most amazing meal therefore this time on our trip we went back MAR 2013.
This time we were quite disappointed, only 1 staff member spoke English so it was very hard to order and to communicate.
We got a wrong meal come out so had to send it back, then we got the crab but they had given us no crab tools, so we asked for the pliers and a pick so we could eat the crab and they have us the pliers but that was all so it was IMPOSSIBLE to eat the crab, we sent it back because we ordered a crab curry and it came with NO sauce and obviously because we'd paid for this crab we ordered but couldn't eat any of the meat.
We asked for me cheque after eating quote an average meal it came to 1500 BAHT which is higher than most meals for Thailand and they had charged us for the crab which was wrong order and in edible.
We ended up having an argument with this one lady boy staff member because they said we had to pay so we just paid and left.

Quite a disappointing experience second time round and very hard to communicate, almost impossible so very frustrating.

Definitely won't go back again even though food is quite nice, not worth it for the experience we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahod, Gujarat
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ok Food by the beach”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The service and the food were ok and it has a very beachy feel to it, which is nice.
The fish was good, not amazing. The tom kha (coconut curry) was not really good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This one was great right on beach front”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice walk at night nice food relax away from crowds. I would recommend sitting inside and going 5-7pm to watch sun go down

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing