We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket and Karon Everything you need in a hotel as long as you do not want gold star service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Front Village Hotel
Ranked #76 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Phuket and Karon Everything you need in a hotel as long as you do not want gold star service.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arrived at 2pm and the room was ready and very well set out. The air conditioning was excellent. The location was about 200 metres from the beach but an easy walk just across the road and the security guard on the gate stopped the traffic to enable you to cross easily. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with an unlimited amount of traditional Thai food and continental foods plus bacon, eggs of many kinds, pastries and fresh fruit. If you like strong tea then I suggest you take your own from home as the tea in Thailand generally is weak. The pool is excellent and suitable for all ages. The lift make accessibility to the hotel very good. The free safe was a good thing as we were able to store all our items in there. Any queries we had were dealt with immediately and efficiently although they were unable to produce a plug for UK electrical equipment but that was not a real problem. There were mosquitoes but as long as you kept the door shut of a night we did not have any issues and I was only bitten twice in 9 days. If you want to have a massage then use the ladies on the beach as they are very good and excellent value for money as they are about half the price of the hotel. We booked our show tickets through the hotel as they were about the same price as the vendors in the street. The only issue I had was the WiFi which you had to pay 200 bahts per day which worked out to be £35 per week which I thought was too expensive. Did get 10 minutes free to confirm seats on the flight home which was good but you have to ask for this or they will charge you for an hour which was 100 bahts (£2.50).
We hired motor bike whilst there and these worked out to be £15 for 3 days and then pay for your fuel. Also you will have to hand over your passport for the bikes but we had ours back no problem as it was locked in a safe. As they drive on the left we found no problems getting around. Be warned though that you have to wear helmets as a driver and a passenger by law now and will be stopped by the police if you do not. Very good way of keeping cool and touring the island for very little money. Petrol is about 75p per litre so much cheaper than taxis or Tuk-tuks. If you need to buy water or snacks use the Seven 11 stores rather than the family marts as they are cheaper. Overall an excellent resort and very relaxing. Thanks Front Village for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    106
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
125
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Unless you intend to spend days in your room The Front Village has all that you need, unpretentious, comfortable,clean and friendly, I personally don't think you need any more of a choice at breakfast, cereals, toast, egg station, bacon, etc. fresh fruit, pastries, Thai food, juice, and a constant supply of tea or coffee. It was my birthday while we were there, a birthday cake was presented to me at breakfast along with a rendition of 'Happy Birthday' sung by the boys and girls, it was so sweet. and we were given dinner and a bottle of sparkling wine at The Village in the evening, it was lovely. We did book a pool access room but the balcony was very small, and as said by others there were loads of mossies at that level, so we upgraded to one of the big rooms on the top floor, absolutely no complaints whatsoever. The rooms are kept clean, the beds firm but comfortable, and all as it should be, great little swim-up bar, but best of all I think, was the staff, they were so friendly and such good fun, always ready with a smile and a joke, but always with respect. We were there for 18 days and certainly enjoyed our stay. One thing to be noted if anyone has trouble with stairs, after 9pm the side entrance gates are locked, necessitating entering the hotel via the main lobby which in turn means several steps to climb,(about 20) so even if you book a ground floor room you would still have this problem. We used to climb over the wall from the pavement, to save us walking all the way round!! and I don't think we were the only ones either!! but of course if you were unable to do this, it would be unacceptable.
We hope this review will be of some help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed 7 days at Front Village Hotel.
We were free uppgraded to a pool access room. Sadly there was a lot of moscuitos around the pool. I fell asleep outside,and had 110 bites.
The staff was helpfull and sprayed outside our room. Keep the door closed!
Breacfast was thai hot food , and omeletes,fried eggs,bacon,pastries and fresh fruit and youghurt, and never empty for anything.
Location is quiet, close to the center and restaurants.
The main road ,close to the hotel, is very busy, and you will hear loud music from tuk-tuks.
Overall we are very satisfied, and we would like to come back.
There is a market at Karon Temple saturday and thuesday where you can buy everything.
Restaurant tip , ying restaurant at Patak road was our favourite,very tasty and cheap thai food.
Taxi cost from airport to our hotel should be about 700 bath.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geir j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ok if you are on a budget and need something decent. Location is quiet good, right opposite karon beach and it is walking distance to most places. In the evening place is full of lizards they are everywhere so make sure you shut the door. Breakfast is very very very boring really need to get some variety as an omelet and bacon gets print after a while. Karon is officily mini Russia as most of the tourists here are from Russia and a lot of places serve Russian food and everyone automatically assumes that you ar fro Russia and presents you with a Russian menu - odd! Unfortunately spa was/is shut at the front village during our stay so to get a massage you need to go to The village sort and prices for a massage start from1500 baht to 6500 baht for a massage!
Friendly staff asked to help me pick out a couple of excursions at a front desk girl was very friend,y and booked everything for me so saved me a trip to town to haggle and look for excursion, they have a good selection of brochures in the foyer so it's easy. Overall hotel is good but if you are looking for something quiet and more luxurious this is not a place for you.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our vacation was a 25-year wedding anniversary trip. On arrival hotel was pleasantly surprised us with cake.
The room was clean and basic, and met our expectations.
Only a construction disturbed us in the morning.
The biggest thanks goes to the hotel staff, who were friendly and cared.
On the sixth day, I had an accident and broke my leg.
This required several visits to the hospital and nearly ruined our vacation.
The hotel staff did everything that we are still enjoying the holiday.
Every time asked how are you and offered to help. I got the feeling that they really did care.
The hotel location was not a problem before the injury, but after that, when leaving the hotel,
always had to take a taxi.
Unfortunately, we had to go home earlier.
Thank you so much everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were upgraded to a pool access room. This was GREAT with kids as we could play in the pool with one whilst keeping an eye on the other one sleeping in the room. The room was clean, spacious and well kept. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Swim-Up pool bar (always fun).
Breakfast was nothing memorable. Distance to main area of Karon is between 10-15 minute walk..... and the pavement is a little awkward with a pram. 2 minutes in the car but finding a park can be a bit difficult.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the pool access rooms have individual balconies into the water and some are adjoining balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had many positives and negatives. The positives were the staff were friendly and accommodating. They remembered each guest and made you feel welcome. The rooms were spacious. We were upgraded to a lovely big room on arrival. The hotel was well maintained and very clean. The negatives....firstly the location was poor. The hotel fronts the busy road to Patong. Inside the traffic noise was minimal, but outside was noisy and unfortunately you had to cross this road to reach the beach. The beach was only 5 minutes walk away but this section of Karon Beach was underdeveloped and not the tropical paradise you may be expecting. The area had a mosquito problem, which was out of the control of hotel management, but I thought they could have done more about the mosquitoes, like provide fly screen doors. Wifi was not free which surprised me. The breakfasts were very poor, on some days stale bread and left overs from last night was served as breakfast. We used the pool bar once and that was it. Ice with flavouring was not my idea of a mango smoothie! Lastly, this mock Mediterranean style hotel seemed out of place in the tropics. It lacked the exotic! Overall, while good, I wouldn't stay again and would prefer to pay extra for a beachside hotel in a better location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#101 of 134 in Karon
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Hill Karon Resort
On the Hill Karon Resort
#61 of 134 in Karon
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 134 in Karon
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Front Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Front Village Hotel

Property: The Front Village Hotel
Address: 566 Patak Rd. | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Front Village Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of magnificent mountains and nestled in lush tropical gardens, in a secluded part of north Karon in Phuket, the Front Village is perfect for an exotic getaway. The resort features distinctive Sino-Portuguese architecture and every one of the 71 elegant guest rooms boasts stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Front Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Village Hotel
Front Village Karon
The Front Village Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing