We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Front Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Front Village Hotel
Ranked #92 of 129 Hotels in Karon
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were upgraded to a pool access room. This was GREAT with kids as we could play in the pool with one whilst keeping an eye on the other one sleeping in the room. The room was clean, spacious and well kept. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Swim-Up pool bar (always fun).
Breakfast was nothing memorable. Distance to main area of Karon is between 10-15 minute walk..... and the pavement is a little awkward with a pram. 2 minutes in the car but finding a park can be a bit difficult.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the pool access rooms have individual balconies into the water and some are adjoining balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    91
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
105
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had many positives and negatives. The positives were the staff were friendly and accommodating. They remembered each guest and made you feel welcome. The rooms were spacious. We were upgraded to a lovely big room on arrival. The hotel was well maintained and very clean. The negatives....firstly the location was poor. The hotel fronts the busy road to Patong. Inside the traffic noise was minimal, but outside was noisy and unfortunately you had to cross this road to reach the beach. The beach was only 5 minutes walk away but this section of Karon Beach was underdeveloped and not the tropical paradise you may be expecting. The area had a mosquito problem, which was out of the control of hotel management, but I thought they could have done more about the mosquitoes, like provide fly screen doors. Wifi was not free which surprised me. The breakfasts were very poor, on some days stale bread and left overs from last night was served as breakfast. We used the pool bar once and that was it. Ice with flavouring was not my idea of a mango smoothie! Lastly, this mock Mediterranean style hotel seemed out of place in the tropics. It lacked the exotic! Overall, while good, I wouldn't stay again and would prefer to pay extra for a beachside hotel in a better location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The staff are super friendly and can speak English well. They were very helpful all the time. The room was great and we had a room that had its own entry into the pool. The hotel massage on site is worth going to bit more expensive than the street ones but better service and more relaxing. Easy to hire motorbikes from the hotel. Karon beach where this hotel is situated is and is the best spot. The hotel was on the outer part of karon but still easy distance to walk to things perfect if it was a bit closer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to phuket. the Hotel was very clean and obviously our room upgrade to pool access room was a complete bonus. The pool and surrounding areas were well kept and not too busy. Location was good, only a short walk to the main town to sample the many nice restaurants. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suziemck1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you don't mind the 10 -15 minute drive to Patong for the night life this is a great hotel situated in Karon, with 10-15 minute drive to Kata aswell as Patong. The staff are all friendly, welcoming and the hotel is clean, fresh with spacious rooms, wide screen TV's with 78 cable channels, power showers, with bath. A massive walldrobe with free bathrobes, a fridge with mini bar. Free internet, free fresh fruit.
The best thing about this hotel is it's fantastic spa. You can even get a room that opens out in to the swimmming pool. Breakfast & lunch is fantastic with loads of choice of both Thai and European food. Eggs cooked to order. I will be coming back to stay at this hotel as the location is away from the Patong nightlife so you get a good night sleep. 300 BHT to Patong or Kata via taxi one way, but it's worth it. This hotel is also very safe for guests and they treat all guests with respect. I thank the staff for making my stay here & in Phuket for my 1st time a wonderful enjoyable experience I will never forget. hope to come back soon. A great place for families, couples especially, single people and friendly people from around the world.

Room Tip: Get a room that opens up into the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned from a vacation throughout Thailand, and of the 5 places where we stayed this was the least favorite. The staff, as is throughout all of Thailand, were great and accommodating. Their English, however, is limited and there were a few barriers. I was floored that wifi was not included in the price of the hotel as we paid $178.50 per night - which is quite pricey for Thailand. We had to pay 200 baht per device per 24 hours to use Wifi and we each had an ipad and iphone. So we bought one each day and had to continually log on and off to let the other person on. No way were we paying 800 baht per day for wifi. We were also told if we wanted to use the lobby computer we had to pay 200 baht for that too. The staff said they have had complaints and have told the owner but he does not want to change the policy. Not impressed! The room was clean and spacious and we were on the top floor so had a view of the area. We were told to switch off the air conditioning if we were not in the room. The breakfast was included but it was limited. If you are not an egg person then there was toast, some Thai dishes and limited fruit. The beach is across the street, but we didn't mind the 5 - 10 minute walk. You had to pay 200 baht for the beach chairs. The day we checked out was a disaster. When we got up to shower, the water must have been turned off during the night as nothing came out of the taps from either the shower or sink. Then when it finally started it was black. Disgusting. We called the front desk and they appeared to our room with 2 bottles of water (language barrier) and when I showed him the water we got a call from the Front Desk telling us to let it run for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes there was absolutely no difference in the water. We ended up having to check out and leave without a shower. When we told the front desk, there was a short apology but no compensation or further discussion. We wouldn't go back - it's time to make a few changes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is very good - i would definitely recommend this hotel. Staff is very friendly (not all can speak good English though) and very helpful. Very clean, well maintained, breakfast had great choice and quality of food was great. Hotel was also a bit out of teh center of town so nice and quiet yet like 5 min walk to the center for restaurants and party. 5 min walk to the beach. I would definitely stay here again - we have had a brief look at other hotels and this one comes out tops.
The only thing we missed was a wifi and our room was the pool room so due to loudish music, there was no afternoon naps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen83Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#85 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#74 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#91 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Front Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Front Village Hotel

Property: The Front Village Hotel
Address: 566 Patak Rd. | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Front Village Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of magnificent mountains and nestled in lush tropical gardens, in a secluded part of north Karon in Phuket, the Front Village is perfect for an exotic getaway. The resort features distinctive Sino-Portuguese architecture and every one of the 71 elegant guest rooms boasts stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Front Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Village Hotel
Front Village Karon
The Front Village Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing