We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OUTSTANDING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Ranked #81 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Just OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were at 7A .. and this was just the best suite we have ever stayed in .. anywhere
Part of the experience was the view .. incredible sunrises, sunsets, .. part of it was the incredible breeze that blew through the suite .. part was the sights and sounds .. part was the location

In all .. just too good

If you are visiting Karon .. stay here .. we absolutely loved this experience

One highlight hat I MUST mention .. the absolutely heartwarming thoughtfulness to provide eggs, bread, milk & a fruit platter to welcome guests after their journey

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
83
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I returned yesterday from a weeks break at the Waterfront Suites.
Positive points - well situated, near beautiful Karan beach & Restaurants. Cleaned daily & plenty of towels supplied
. Lovely pool. Pleasant, charming staff.

Negatives - apartment is unlike what you see on line. That must have been photographed in 1997 & little done since. Sofas uncomfortable, sparse furniture in bedroom, ants in kitchen, basic, dark bathroom.
Ac not working in bedroom & first technician who came was hopeless. Complained again later in day & the compressor was changed.
This place could be fabulous with a lick of paint, comfy furniture, bright pictures & an upgraded bathroom.
Bring earplugs ! It can be noisy & I was on 10th floor !!

Room Tip: Ask for room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 499Marianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2013 with my wife & 2 boys (13 & 8).This was our second consecutive summer at the ‘Waterfront’ but did not match up to the 5 star effort they gave us the previous year.

We arrived to be received by ‘Boom’ the wonderful lady at the reception. Check in was smooth but we had to take our bags up to the room ourselves. We were given our 2 bedroom apartment on the 17th floor & was pleased to get my high floor request granted. This apartment looked slightly more updated than the previous one, with an extra door separating the apartment from the main entrance of the apartment, creating a little entrance/hallway area.

On arrival we requested ‘Noo’ the housekeeping lady to help set up my bedding on the fold away sofa in the living area as I found their beds rather uncomfortable the first time around. Needless to say the view from all 3 open sides were more spectacular because we were 6 floors higher than before.

The Pool was great as usual & we spent a lot of time there.

Unfortunately we noticed during the first 3 days that there were some problems with the apartment. The air conditioner in the dining area was leaking and made a ratling sound; the water heater in the main bathroom was not working, the main balcony window/door lock would not close properly, the luggage store room was jammed & would not open. It took the better part of 3 days to get all of the above repaired or replaced. The water heater was repaired once & then replaced again the next day. But the friendly maintenance staff did appear promptly each day & worked hard to get all these issues sorted out.

There was a small matter of two cracked glasses which we noticed in the kitchen cabinet on the first day and I put them on the top most shelf to keep them away from the kids & did not bring it to the notice of ‘Noo’ the housekeeping lady because it was not worth mentioning as the kitchen was well equipped with more than enough of everything & they did not need to be replaced.

During our previous stay we made it a point to have the apartment cleaned by ‘Noo’ plus another lady whilst we were in the apartment & tipped them each time especially because they went the extra mile by washing our dishes. This trip we asked her to do the same but she claimed that the management had changed & were told not to perform this extra service.

Hence on the last day at checkout, we were getting late for the airport & ‘Wanni Pah’ the lady at the reception got a call from‘Noo’ saying that we had broken 2 glasses and told her to stop me & ask me to pay for them. After explaining to ‘Wanni Pah’ a couple of times that we saw these broken glasses on the first day & kept them out of the reach, she eventually “let us go”,Hmmm!

I was going to rate Waterfront with 2 stars but awarded a third star just because of the front desk lady ‘Boom’who was the only hotel employee that was absolutely fantastic throughout our stay.
This summer we paid exactly double of what we paid the previous time and got half the service & half the courtesy. We stayed at another Centara property few days before coming here and they were amazing but this was not ‘Centara esque’. Shame on you Waterfront!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahryar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

During our 15 days journey to Thailand we stayed at Sugar Marina Resort in Karon (4 star), The Waterfront Suites in Karon (3/4 star), The Doubletree Resort Hilton Surin Beach (4 star). And we really regret that we only had 4 nights at the Waterfront. It was the best stay we possibly could have with our two teens. A huge apartment, with two bedrooms, kitchenette, three balconies with a view towards three directions, sofas, two TVs. The hotel had one pool and as a hotel guest you get access to Centara Karon resort facilities (breakfast buffet, fitness room, pools - 5 mins walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (8a), a family of 2 adults and 3 small children. The pros of the apartment - very spacious, reasonable kitchen facilities, welcome basket a nice touch, good location (very close to sea and restaurants/food stalls). Also as a guest you are given complimentary access to Centara Karon resort facilities - their kiddies pool and kids club was good and we preferred to use this rather than the pool at the apartment. The cons - we had asked (twice) by email to be put in a quiet apartment (10 d and above). When we arrived, the receptionist told us that these apartments were booked out. Our apartment had a lot of noise from bars outside playing loud music late into the night. The air cons did dampen the sound, but it could still be heard. Although the apartment was cleaned everyday, on certain days it was only cleaned very late in the day and we had to call reception to remind them to clean. Cleaning was also very basic, not thorough. Towels and bedsheets had stains and need to be replaced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed at Waterfront Suites on 1st Week of November for one week in a two bedroom apartment at 8th floor. We choose 2 bedroom apartment as we are 2 adults and with our 12 years daughter and 8 years son. The apartment is very specious with three big balconies with sea and city view. The facilities at the room are ok with all the basic needs for family as they have big fridge where you can stock good amount of foods. The kitchen well is equipped with all the basic utensils you require for the short stay. They provided bread, butter, jam, fruits, milk and egg as complimentary at the room at the time of check-in which is nice. But what we found a real problem of the apartment is the insufficient lights at the bedroom and what is quite surprise that the master bedroom is less equipped as it has no TV, bathroom is not up to the mark rather than the second bedroom as it has a TV, bathroom is quite good ,having bathtub.
They have a nice and big swimming pool where our kids really enjoyed and they have also provided one complimentary pass for the access of pool at Centra grand villa but as we have not able to manage time so we could not visit that one. They have also provide pool towel which is also very helpful as you can take this at beach or your day trip at various islands, so don’t forget to collect the pool towel card at the time of check in.
The front desk is really nice, prompt and helpful we found. They every time greeted us with smile at the time of entering or exit and the security guard is also very nice and give us every time a big salute. But we found the housekeeping is not up to the mark as they not cleaned the balconies not even remove the empty bottles of water and not give the toiletries at the second bedroom which doesn’t match with the band like Centra by any means. The maintenance of the building is also not up to the mark.
We was worried while observing other reviews from most of the travellers regarding disturbance of sleep due to the noise at the late night coming from the nearby bars of the hotel, but we absolutely found no problem regarding the same matter and the little bit sounds of music coming from bars, nightclubs that’s match with the vibrant nightlife of Phuket. The Karon beach is just opposite of the hotel so it’s very easy to go to the beach any time for you if you want to go and market, massage parlour, small souvenir shops, ATM are just near around and Tuk Tusk are available at any time. So you can say the location of the hotel is just perfect. But regarding currency exchange we found the rate of exchange is much good at patong than karon, so do your exchange at patong. In future if we will stay at karon we definitely come to this apartment. I think this property is ideal for family holiday.

Room Tip: Always ask for the room at the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saurish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that was huge. Was basic inside but with a little one that was really good. We stayed in10a, the apparant noisier side. Reauested a move but as fully booked not able to. But in saying that, after 10ish you could hear loud music, but havin air con at night drained the sound out and we had no issues with sleeping due to noise. Location is great, few mins walk from the beach, close to many restaurants etc. We could also use facilities at centara karon which were vood. Also has a kids ckub but our one was two young for that. The pool atthe hotel was more than sufficient. Only issue was wifi was expensive, but we got a thai sim that was used instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#112 of 133 in Karon
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ramada Phuket Southsea
#101 of 133 in Karon
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#31 of 133 in Karon
1,090 reviews
1.8 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#19 of 57 in Kata Beach
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara

Property: Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Address: 224/21 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly The Waterfront Suites)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lavish garden surroundings with panoramic views of Karon Beach and the lush hinterland of hills behind, the suites at Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara are spacious retreats as comfortable as home; ideal for individuals, couples and families. The residence is a stone’s throw away from the beach, and boasts a good range of facilities, including a large freeform swimming pool complete with a children’s pool and sun loungers to laze the day away, a tennis court, a squash court, and a games room with pool table, dartboard and table tennis. Wi-Fi access is available free of charge throughout the residence. After a day well spent on Karon Beach, guests can enjoy bargain hunting at the cluster of shops that line the walkway to the residence - souvenirs, jewellery and clothing are all to be found. There is plenty of room to entertain and relax in the two-bedroom suites, each 167 square metres of total living spaces including three balconies. Interiors designed with hues of whites and colourful accents and large windows enhance the feeling of space, and guests will enjoy the option of sublime ocean vistas. As in the one-bedroom suites (103 square metres, the living and dining area offers space for all, and is serviced by a well-equipped kitchen that includes stoves, a microwave and fridge, and all the necessary cooking equipments. Phuket International Airport is reached within one hour by road from the residence and Patong is approximately 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Suites Hotel Karon
Central Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Suites Phuket By Centara Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing