We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel For Budget Accommodation”
Review of Kata Happy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kata Happy House
Ranked #129 of 147 Karon B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel For Budget Accommodation”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Kata Happy House for a total of 3 weeks during 2 stays (each in a different room) in December 2012. The hotel is aging and maintenance is not perfect but it seemed a very fair trade-off for the low cost. Rooms were spacious and clean. Nice hard mattresses, good AC, decent showers, (second visit we had a tub too) and roomy balconies. Basic mini fridge. No screens on sliding balcony doors which would be better since even in dry season there are a few mosquitoes about. WIFI internet was awful. Fortunately they have 2 desktop computers in the lobby that worked fine. Located on a busy 4 lane road at a distance from Kata, the nearest beach. There's a free shuttle to the beach but you'd better have a motor-scooter if you want to get anything done. 5 minutes by Honda to the beach, probably 30 minutes to walk and the neighborhood is not pedestrian friendly. Don't expect anything fancy like sidewalks. Rooms at the sides and back are reasonably quiet considering the heavy traffic passing by. They serve food but we never tried it preferring the huge variety and quality of nearby restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful but English skills range from adequate to zero. Shuttle drivers very nice and airport transport, one hour if traffic not too bad, is reasonable at 900 Baht. (Touts at the airport will demand 1500 or even 1800 for a trip to Kata. BE FIRM...) We're returning to Kata (please) and we looked around the neighborhood for future digs. Kata Happy House is pretty competitive.

Room Tip: Good value away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
5
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Because Kata area is a more expensive than the other areas in Phuket, then this guesthouse is cheap but anyway was the worst where I have been in Phuket.

The furniture is very dark and depressing. Seems like it's very old guesthouse.
You can hear traffic if you have room in street side.
I heard voices from the roof every night - like there were some animal running...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karon hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times. The rooms are very well appointed, some on two levels. It was clean and everything worked. Service was good too, though breakfast was rather slow coming. It's only drawback is that it's away from the beach and near a main road. It's also slightly up on a hill. The rooms are quiet, though, and you don't hear any noise. The best thing is to rent a motobike, which enables you to get around easily. Rooms are only about 1,000 baht, which is excellent value. Probably not a place to stay if you specifically want a "beach" holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Just wanted to warn anyone else looking at this guesthouse/hotel, that there appears to be 2 different hotels being talked about here which has caused me no end of confusion.

Some people are talking about the Kata Beach Hotel and all the photos appear to be of this hotel - apparently it is also called Kata Happy House? Really?

The GUESTHOUSE I thought I was looking at called Kata Happy House I found on another website here: http://www.kata-beach.com/happy/ and as you can see couldn't be more different!!

Just wanted to bring that to everyone's attention.

I have not stayed at either of these hotels so please disregard all of my ratings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LightningUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I've sent an enquiry to the hotel 2 weeks ago and no reply at all. Well, you can tell how good their hotel service quaility could be.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Poor service quaility
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
8 Thank zoovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#90 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.6 mi away
KAMALA BEACH INN
KAMALA BEACH INN
#32 of 36 in Kamala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Karon View Resort
Karon View Resort
#127 of 132 in Karon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SP House Phuket
SP House Phuket
#115 of 147 in Karon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.5 mi away
Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows
2.2 mi away
Outdoor Inn & Restaurant
Outdoor Inn & Restaurant
#17 of 60 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Happy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Happy House

Property: Kata Happy House
Address: 13 Patak Road | Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Happy House 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kata Happy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Happy House Hotel Kathu
Kata Beach Resort
Kata Happy House Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing