We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amenities less than satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ranked #101 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Bathroom small and needs maintenance. Water temperature fluctuates bad will constantly give u an "ouch" when u try to enjoy a relaxing bath but all of sudden the water becomes very hot in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast buffet very limited; even no bacon; even air conditioner doesn't work out well.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflyXpence627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear FireflyXpence627,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for your recent stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We also appreciate your time to put up a review about us here. We regret that our bathroom size and the breakfast didn't meet your expectations. But we would like to let you know that our bathroom size is in compliance with the international basic standards and also we alternate our breakfast meats as per breakfast buffet standards. But we are open to provide some basic food items to our guests on request even if it is not a part of the buffet on the same day. So, next time you are at our restaurant for breakfast, kindly let any of our wait staff know about any of your requirement, and they would be more than happy to serve you.
We haven't got any complaint yet regarding the hot water supply in our bathroom. Since you have mentioned it, we assure you that we will check on the same and ensure that there is not such fault.
Hope to welcome you back at our property in the coming future.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 331 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed the Christmas holidays there. Just cross the road and you are in the middle of the beautiful Karon beach. Nice upgraded rooms and friendly and fair management. They actually refunded soem weeks after the stay some of the charges due to misunderstandings during booking.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Erling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Erling S,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!
Thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you.
We appreciate your time to put up such a nice review about us here. We are glad that you have liked our rooms, the friendly and fair culture of the management.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Thanks once again.
Best Regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Doesn't look so bad from the pictures, right?

Right, in fact the hotel itself is decent but the service is an absolute nightmare.

Day 1:

Went to the pool, asked for towels and was refused. Had to speak to the manager to get any.

The bartender (so called only because she happened to be tending the bar, and not because she could make a drink to save her life) could not speak a word of English and kept disappearing making it doubly impossible to get a drink.

Oh, and she managed to mess up a whiskey soda.

Day 2:

Breakfast was an epic 3 course meal served over an hour. 45 mins for sunny sides up and bacon, followed by another 15 mins for toasts (which you had to order and was billed separately!), then sausages, and then finally the coffee as the piece de resistance.

That gastronomic journey cost roughly USD$50 for 3 pax.

Next, housekeeping just barges in without bothering to knock.

We're only halfway thru Day 2 of 3 so we'll see what other delights await us.

The location is however fantastic - it's right across the road from the beach. In fact the awesome location makes this hotel a waste of space.

Definitely not worth $200 a night.

(ps: I downloaded the Tripadvisor app just to write this review. That's how much the quality of service has motivated me.)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Praveen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Praveen V,
Greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you.
We empathize and do apologize for the inconvenience you may have come across during your stay. A countable of our staff doesn't acquire a very good understanding of the English language but it's assured that they will never ignore or refuse any of our guests in providing their services. Since Thailand has never been colonized by any English speaking country, the culture of English language is not as strong as in few other Asian countries who were colonized. However we would like to let you know that we keep continuously educating our staffs on the language so that they have a better understanding and can communicate better.
And about your breakfast; we did serve you whatever you have ordered, where as your expectations might be a little different from what was served. We have served exactly what is mentioned on the menu but we do regret for the delay in the service.
However we are glad to see that you have good regards about our location.
Thank you for your feedback and hope for your return to our property someday.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Ramada Phuket South Sea over all is a really good hotel with some need of further improvement to really warrant the 4 star rating. The rooms are spacious and clean, good comfy bed and bathroom was ok. Aim to get a room on the Movenpick side of the hotel because it is quieter and the view is nice- we were on the 3rd floor and so it was great. The beach is right across the road and the beach bars, jetskis and massage ladies are all there- fantastic! It is about half way along the beach and you can walk to either end where there are good restaurants and bars. The pool area is also good ( if a little small) and there is a roof terrace on the 4th floor that I never saw anyone use except for us for pre-dinner drinks on new years eve- overall hotel blue print is good.
The only real niggle we encountered was with the breakfast buffet. The food was reasonable but there was a bit of a lack of variety ie: can we have some muesli rather than just cereal for children and when items ran out there was not a staff member to proactively manage this and so every morning it became agonising to watch people asking, can we please have some butter, some yogurt, some more bread, some rice/noodle, some juice etc and often it had run out altogether. Biggest drama was an under resourcing of the egg station- one poor little trainee who got hammered every morning with long queues of 10 or more people. All they had to do was put on another person and maybe even take orders to tables or something- it was frustrating to watch!
The staff are friendly, some have great English and are really helpful, while the others are always polite and accommodating. The atmosphere they create was certainly one of the highlights. The Ramada also has live music every night with a singer and guitar player and they play good oldies or contemporary music and it can be nice to sit at the bar and listen to that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warnerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear warnerl,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for your recent stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We do appreciate your time to put up a review about us here.
We regret for the shortcomings on the services at the breakfast buffet you have come across, and apologize. We would like to inform you that we have been working on the breakfast to add some more varieties and make it more appealing for our guests and also a proper replenishment of the same. We assure that you will have a better breakfast experience on your next visit. However we are glad that you liked our rooms and have recommended our location, team members' friendliness and also the live music at our bar.
We look forward to welcome you back at our property in the near future.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

On behalf of me and my family I want to thank Ramada staff for their hospitality and friendliness.
Overall impression of the hotel and the spot is very good. The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool area and the access to the beach is excellent. All the restaurants and shopping is just around the corner. For those who wish more quiet holiday, the Karon beach is perhaps a bit crowded.
Ramada people organized an excellent X-mas dinner - thank you all for that!

Room Tip: around the pool area there is a bit noisy on a daytime so perhaps to choose rooms on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Tuuli K,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We heartily appreciate your time taken to write such a nice review about us here.
We are delighted to know that we have been able to make your stay a memorable one and also that you liked the Christmas event we had organized. I will certainly convey your warm and encouraging comments to my entire team.
Look forward to welcome you back at our property, and wish you a 'Happy New Year'.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

First impressions were not great, arrived in a taxi, went to check in, check in guy seemed less than impressed that he had to process us at 1am in the morning, even though they were I formed of this beforehand, no information was given to us about anything after taking a copy of our passports, deposit for room & door key, no help with the rest of our luggage was offered, kind of dumped in our room & left to get on with it. However if it was not for the pleasant room we would have probably left there & then, rooms are clean & we'll furnished, bed is comfy, our main gripe being that there is a severe lack of plugs in the room, in this day & age when we have camera's, phones, iPods, iPads etc that need charging this is a real pain. Breakfast is pleasant enough & at least the staff here are more welcoming ! Poolside is clean but could do with a revamp etc as it's a bit dated now. A massive pain in the neck however is the Wi-Fi, each appliance you own needs it's own code, the site doesn't remember your log in details so the mixture of 12 letters & numbers has to be entered each time you open each appliance & close it, I've counted 11 times today so far & I've only been here one morning !! Pretty poor really ! Could definitely do better !!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tonymr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Tonymr2,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for your recent stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We also thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here.
It was regretful for us to know that you had an unpleasant check in experience. We do understand your feelings and sincerely apologize for the incompetency which have reflected on your very first encounter with us. We also regret for the certain inconveniences you came across due to infrastructural limitations but are glad to know that you were happy with our clean and tidy rooms with the furnishings, breakfast and restaurant service team.
We have taken a note of your experience and are working on them regarding the friendliness of staff and services. And about the infrastructural issues we might not be able to make a complete change but will surely provide such facilities which will make your stay a convenient one.
Look forward to welcome you back at our property, and wish you a 'Merry Christmas' and a 'Happy New Year'.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I recently travelled to Thailand in a party of 5. I had been to Phuket 3 years prior to this visit so had an idea of what to expect. For this reason I thought we might stay a little way from the hustle and bustle of Patong (7mins in a tuk tuk) just for the peace of the beach and surrounding eateries and drinking spots. The Ramada was perfect for our stay and nothing was a problem for these beautiful Thai people. On the first day I managed to sink my mobile phone in the pool - yep at the swim up bar - and the Manager was quick to try everything to dry it out (including totally encasing it in a bucket of rice overnight)! We travelled with my teenage daughter and our room, right on the pool, was ideal. All three of us were very comfortable. We also eat a vegetarian diet - breakfast and some menu items were perfect for us. Our check in was late, but again not a problem because reception is open 24/7. The beach located straight across the road was enjoyed by all as we were left alone by touts. On the whole a lovely experience and if I ever returned to Phuket I would be more than happy to stay again with Mr Yong and his lovely staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool are awesome. But be aware that other guests can prop themselves right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleinHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear MichelleinHobart,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We heartily appreciate your time taken to write such a great review about us here.
We are delighted to know that we have been able to make your stay a memorable one. It is nice to know that one of our Manager had been of commendable assistance to you on recovering your mobile back. I will certainly convey your appreciation to my entire team and specially Mr. Yong for creating a brilliant restaurant/bar experience for you.
Look forward to welcome you back at our property, and wish you a 'Merry Christmas' and a 'Happy New Year' in advance.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#61 of 136 in Karon
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Phuket Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Phuket Southsea

Address: 204 Karon Beach Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#48 Spa Hotel in Karon
#64 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $84 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Phuket Southsea 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Phuket South Sea, a beach front resort located at Karon Beach offers an idyllic destination for truly unforgettable vacations at one of the most tranquil beaches in Phuket. Experience an astonishing refinement with modern Thai design amidst exotic surroundings that defines true beach vacation. It’s a perfect retreat for those looking for beach holiday or romantic getaway to a luxurious tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Phuket Southsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Phuket South Sea Hotel Karon
South Sea Karon Hotel
Ramada Phuket Southsea Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing