We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great room but terrible service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Phuket Southsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ranked #100 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great room but terrible service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a 3 night stay and was extremely disappointed. Firstly I arranged a car to collect me from the airport but instead of a hotel car they use a local taxi firm and the service was shocking and the driver dangerous. Wifi was rubbish and was unable to work, the spa was closed, staff were rude including management and the breakfast was terrible. To top it off no outside food or drink is allowed yet when you try to order food nothing is available! Will never ever return. Avoid at all costs. It's a real shame as the rooms and swimming pool are great.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you for sharing your stay with us here in Tripadvisor
We are pleased that you found our rooms and pool great
However we feel sad knowing the issues that you have
raised as this does not in any way reflect the standards
of our resort. We assure that this will be taken seriously
so as not to be experienced by other guests of our resort.
We hope that we could have the chance of welcoming
you back so we could show you the changes.

I will be more than glad to offer assistance if you wish to
visit Karon Beach area on your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    122
    64
    29
    22
See reviews for
59
142
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you're looking for relaxing stay in Phuket (away from busy Patong), Karon and Kata are better options. Karon waters are rougher but perfect to chill out to if you're not the type to swim in the sea. Absolutely beautiful sunset views with the waves splashing up the shore. Kata has a longer stretch of beach with calmer waves. Personally I feel that Karon area has better food.

Good: Fast response for reservations. Clean roomy rooms, comfortable beds, swift housekeeping, friendly & accommodating receptionists and concierge. Ramada Phuket Southsea is one of the many hotels across the road from Karon beach. Great location; just 5 mins leisurely walk from good restaurants, street food, pubs, shopping. Pool is fantastic and inviting with a pool bar (yay!). Staff requests guests who choose to utilise the pool at late hour to use it in daytime, as their noise level affected other guests (yay!).

Average: Repetitive breakfast selection with a tad much MSG in noodles/rice, delicious croissants though. Lacking alcohol in cocktails at pool side bar. Room card didn't work a couple of times, just slightly annoying but not terribly so.

Bad: Nothing, are you kidding me?

Thanks for the complimentary birthday cake!

Room Tip: Pool-facing rooms while tempting, could be noisy as other guests go past this area to get to their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suanie_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us
We really appreciate your feedback and our team is glad
that we made your holiday a good one.

We hope to be of service to you again in Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here with our 2 young kids (1 and 3) for 5 nights. Totally enjoyable and relaxing experience. Fantastic staff were a highlight for me - always friendly, smiling and polite. A couple of technical issues with our room on arrival were promptly fixed. And the location....right across from the beautiful blue waters of Karon beach. Not too many better places to sit and have breakfast.
The only negative I could say was there were a few mosquitoes in the gardens on the ground floor.
I think this hotel is great value for money.

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be any lifts so if you struggle with a flight of stairs the ground may be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay in our resort
Our team is very delighted to know that we have made your
stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. We also apologize about your
concern with the mosquito in the garden and assure that
this has been immediately addressed.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled a lot through Asian countries and find this hotel one of the better smaller hotels.

It is relatively new therefore still fairly clean although the room service and table service left a lot to be desired.

The hotel is quiet and the staff reasonably friendly although like most of Phuket very little English.

The staff in the restaurant are friendly and kind thou quiet lazy.

The hotel is located next door to the sand bar which has great drinks and pizza, the beach is across the road and markets to either side.

All in all I would definitely stay here again but poolside is the only option I would choose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you for sharing your stay with us here in Tripadvisor
We have passed your kind message to our team
Please do accept our apologies about your experience
with some of the restaurant team members,
we have noted your concerns to ensure improvements are done

We hope to be of service to you again in Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked into a hotel in Patong but left as the resort is vile!

This hotel is on the beach at Karon, beautiful! It is set back from the road. The pool area is lovely and has a swim up bar. My only criticism is the pool bar closes too early.

The rooms are very modern, very comfortable and perfectly cleaned daily.

There was plenty to do locally! Can't wait to book to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keffardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you for taking time writing about your stay with us
Our team is very happy to know that you had a great experience
and you liked the location of our resort.

We hope to be of service to you again in Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The exterior and interior of the hotel is good, nice and clean pool, pool bar, comfortable sofas at the lobby, restaurant with live music in the evening. Aesthetically perfect.
Location is very nice; close to the beach and also to the bars at the corner, temple and taxi station.
The staff is ok, can speak good English, but refused to provide me a dental kit as they said it was not included in the price (oO)... Then messed up with the taxi to the airport; provided me the price I agreed and then declared about the taxi price increase right before night time. I needed to look for a taxi myself.
The service does not worth the money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and for
appreciating the whole design of Ramada Phuket Southsea.
As you have expressed, it's Aesthetically perfect.
On the other hand, we sincerely apologize about
the taxi reservation and your dental kit request.
The issues has been immediately addressed
by the relevant department.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you again in Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's a good resort hotel in Phuket. It is very close the beach. You can see the fantasitc sea when have breakfast. The rooms is big enough. My friend and I like the decretion style. But the breakfast is normal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaphuketsouthsea, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here in tripadvisor community.
Our team is very delighted to know that you are happy
with the location of our hotel as well as its design and room space.

We hope to be of service to you again in Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Salalima
Hotel Manager
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.1 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#110 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#90 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#82 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#98 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Phuket Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Phuket Southsea

Property: Ramada Phuket Southsea
Address: 204 Karon Beach Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#44 Spa Hotel in Karon
#55 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Phuket Southsea 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Phuket South Sea, a beach front resort located at Karon Beach offers an idyllic destination for truly unforgettable vacations at one of the most tranquil beaches in Phuket. Experience an astonishing refinement with modern Thai design amidst exotic surroundings that defines true beach vacation. It’s a perfect retreat for those looking for beach holiday or romantic getaway to a luxurious tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Phuket Southsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Phuket South Sea Hotel Karon
South Sea Karon Hotel
Ramada Phuket Southsea Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing