We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,715)
Filter reviews
1,715 results
Traveler rating
941
477
153
71
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
941
477
153
71
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old siam orchid garden ciao bistro coffee talk pool bar chai buffet breakfast restaurants and shops family holiday pool side tuk tuk pools resort phuket wan khun baht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,715 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The rooms are disgusting. Rooms are not cleaned properly even though the rooms are a bit run down there is no need for them to be dirty. We stayed at this hotel in February 2012 for four nights and we wish we hadn't! When we arrived we had booked the standard room, upon opening the door you could see that the room looked tired and needed a facelift. When we opened the bathroom door the state of the interior was shocking. The enamel was peeling off the bath tub, the taps were rusted and the sink was filthy. We complained and was upgraded to a delux room which was not much better. There were wall tiles missing in the bathroom and the walls in the room were flaking with paint work. Too much focus is on the gardens, swimming pool area and reception. It was such a shame we were really looking forward to our last four days in Phuket and it really put a dampner on it. Hotel is also full of Russians.

Room tip: There are no good rooms.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 120Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

the service in the hotel was poor unless you are rusion, the pools are awsome but the pool bar service is slow, the two beach front restraunts have good and friendly service the food and entertainment were also good in these two restraunts, the free shuttle bus to patong beach and patong city were also good.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Words cannot describe how bad. Actually they probably can. It started with the surly staff. Now, I have worked in hotels, and I understand that guests can be difficult, but maybe wait until you have had one interaction before acting pissed off; and as a general tip the first words out of your mouth shouldn't be "Passport". It's vacation though - brush it off and stay in the spirit - and what better way to do that than to freshen up than with a hot cold hot cold hot cold shower in a delaminating tub with a moldy curtain before stubbing your toe in the unlit hallway on the way to the beach that lies across a busy road. After a cool drink or two on the beach all seems right again, and why shouldn't it? Well, that would be because of the crap I trod in on my balcony - not sure if it was a giant mouse or an eagle, but it was not butterfly droppings. So why not sit on the lumpy bed to clean it off while watching the TV...oh wait that doesn't work. Breakfast the next day was adequate - usual hotel fare. The pools are decent, but this isn't the Four Seasons even though the prices at the pool restaurant and bar would lead you to believe otherwise. After two days that seemed implausibly long - much like the cracks in the bedroom walls, it was time to check out. Well, that was my rookie mistake. Instead it was time to spend 45 minutes telling the aforementioned surly front desk staff that I had not spent $180 on 2 bottles of bad wine. Would they believe me? Hell, no. That was until (at the fifth time of asking) they finally found the signed receipt with the name of another guest on it. They gushed apologies. NOT. Instead they levied a 7% service charge for the bottle of water from the minibar that I opened and poured mself and cooled with the ice that was also a line item. I nearly fell down the 4 concrete steps (with 2 giant chickens at the top that are stuck randomly in a grass lawn outside) with surprise. Oh and the fluffy bunny rabbits that are all over the lawns attack children. Well, OK that last sentence was not true. If you can't read between the lines: DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room tip: Use Tripadvisor to find a better hotel.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated. Also, please note We review the prices of our food and beverage items on a regular basis and these are competitive with other similar resorts in Karon Beach.We take feedback regarding the standard of our service very seriously and where necessary further training will be provided to our staff to ensure a high sandard of service for all our guests.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We're on our honeymoon and we told them that. We arrived to an OK check in, and were eventually taken to our room where we were greeted with a plate of fresh fruit which was lovely. However we had two single beds. We asked three times to have our bed made into a double before it was done. The next day housekeeping failed to give us our free bottles of water, and took all our towels away only replacing one bath towel. We asked to have this fixed but only the towels were fixed. The next the same thing happened. When we checked out they tried, and succeeded, to charge us for the bottle of water that we took from the mini bar. In all, I was very pleased to leave there due to the lack of service. The shower was terrible as well. They have lovely grounds and a beautiful orchid garden however this doesn't make up for bad service.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwozzie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear that your stay at our resort was not as pleasant as you expected.

We take feedback regarding the standard of our service very seriously and where necessary further training will be provided to our staff to ensure a high sandard of service for all our guests.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

pool and gardens were great, the room was not nice, there were ants and very very old. bathroom was not pleasant. we stayed her for a couple nights as had a connecting flight so booked somewhere cheap. if looking for a cheap room with nice pool then this place is fine but otherwise I wouldn't bother again

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the tropical gardens and pool areas in our spacious resort grounds, as we strive to create an atmosphere where guests can relax in peaceful, safe green open spaces.


Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews