We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The rooms are disgusting. Rooms are not cleaned properly even though the rooms are a bit run down there is no need for them to be dirty. We stayed at this hotel in February 2012 for four nights and we wish we hadn't! When we arrived we had booked the standard room, upon opening the door you could see that the room looked tired and needed a facelift. When we opened the bathroom door the state of the interior was shocking. The enamel was peeling off the bath tub, the taps were rusted and the sink was filthy. We complained and was upgraded to a delux room which was not much better. There were wall tiles missing in the bathroom and the walls in the room were flaking with paint work. Too much focus is on the gardens, swimming pool area and reception. It was such a shame we were really looking forward to our last four days in Phuket and it really put a dampner on it. Hotel is also full of Russians.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 120Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    303
    100
    51
    52
See reviews for
277
350
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

the service in the hotel was poor unless you are rusion, the pools are awsome but the pool bar service is slow, the two beach front restraunts have good and friendly service the food and entertainment were also good in these two restraunts, the free shuttle bus to patong beach and patong city were also good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Words cannot describe how bad. Actually they probably can. It started with the surly staff. Now, I have worked in hotels, and I understand that guests can be difficult, but maybe wait until you have had one interaction before acting pissed off; and as a general tip the first words out of your mouth shouldn't be "Passport". It's vacation though - brush it off and stay in the spirit - and what better way to do that than to freshen up than with a hot cold hot cold hot cold shower in a delaminating tub with a moldy curtain before stubbing your toe in the unlit hallway on the way to the beach that lies across a busy road. After a cool drink or two on the beach all seems right again, and why shouldn't it? Well, that would be because of the crap I trod in on my balcony - not sure if it was a giant mouse or an eagle, but it was not butterfly droppings. So why not sit on the lumpy bed to clean it off while watching the TV...oh wait that doesn't work. Breakfast the next day was adequate - usual hotel fare. The pools are decent, but this isn't the Four Seasons even though the prices at the pool restaurant and bar would lead you to believe otherwise. After two days that seemed implausibly long - much like the cracks in the bedroom walls, it was time to check out. Well, that was my rookie mistake. Instead it was time to spend 45 minutes telling the aforementioned surly front desk staff that I had not spent $180 on 2 bottles of bad wine. Would they believe me? Hell, no. That was until (at the fifth time of asking) they finally found the signed receipt with the name of another guest on it. They gushed apologies. NOT. Instead they levied a 7% service charge for the bottle of water from the minibar that I opened and poured mself and cooled with the ice that was also a line item. I nearly fell down the 4 concrete steps (with 2 giant chickens at the top that are stuck randomly in a grass lawn outside) with surprise. Oh and the fluffy bunny rabbits that are all over the lawns attack children. Well, OK that last sentence was not true. If you can't read between the lines: DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor to find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated. Also, please note We review the prices of our food and beverage items on a regular basis and these are competitive with other similar resorts in Karon Beach.We take feedback regarding the standard of our service very seriously and where necessary further training will be provided to our staff to ensure a high sandard of service for all our guests.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We're on our honeymoon and we told them that. We arrived to an OK check in, and were eventually taken to our room where we were greeted with a plate of fresh fruit which was lovely. However we had two single beds. We asked three times to have our bed made into a double before it was done. The next day housekeeping failed to give us our free bottles of water, and took all our towels away only replacing one bath towel. We asked to have this fixed but only the towels were fixed. The next the same thing happened. When we checked out they tried, and succeeded, to charge us for the bottle of water that we took from the mini bar. In all, I was very pleased to leave there due to the lack of service. The shower was terrible as well. They have lovely grounds and a beautiful orchid garden however this doesn't make up for bad service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwozzie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear that your stay at our resort was not as pleasant as you expected.

We take feedback regarding the standard of our service very seriously and where necessary further training will be provided to our staff to ensure a high sandard of service for all our guests.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

pool and gardens were great, the room was not nice, there were ants and very very old. bathroom was not pleasant. we stayed her for a couple nights as had a connecting flight so booked somewhere cheap. if looking for a cheap room with nice pool then this place is fine but otherwise I wouldn't bother again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the tropical gardens and pool areas in our spacious resort grounds, as we strive to create an atmosphere where guests can relax in peaceful, safe green open spaces.


Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

sawasdekha. returning after 1 year we found our home away from home was just as nice, yes it is getting dated and does need work on pipes etc but hey we don't go to sit in our room we go to venture out and about. The staff are just amazing, I read a comment earlier that someone had stuff stolen from their room, sorry but I find that hard to believe, we have left wallets, rings, watches there all day and they have not moved. As for the Russians, yes a lot are now staying there, but they are just humans like us and some are soooo friendly, others not that is their choice. The pools and grounds are magnificent, there is a free shuttle to Patong and Phuket Town the breakfast is to die for. The security and guards in particular at night are a comfort not that we have every felt scared there It would be good to have someone speaking a little more English on reception at times but then again maybe we "English" should take the time to learn basic Thai?It is only a short stroll to some very nice eating places and one should give them all a go as each is as good as the other. Do be careful on Karon beach, it is very rough out there. Walk round to Kata it is much calmer and both are a lot cleaner than Patong.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catgirl196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor and also for visiting our resort again. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Please be advised that as of Nov 2012, all 210 Rooms in our resort have been completely renovated so we hope you will like the changes on your next visit.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed the tropical gardens and pool areas in our spacious resort grounds as we strive to create an atmosphere where guests can relax in peaceful, safe green open spaces.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Karon Beach in the near future

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I traveled with my family and stayed here for 4 days. Though we had wait for some time for the check in but the free room upgrade was a nice surprise. The rooms very nice with large balconies overlooking the swimming pool and the sea visible at some distance

The pools were nice and clean and kids had loads of fun. The kids rooms was under repair which was a damper.

The food was good and breakfast sumptuous. With beach just across the road, hotel location is perfect.

Great value!!

Room Tip: choose the 4th floor deluxe rooms for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThavornPB, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Sawasdee kha……..

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you had the pleasure of a complimentary upgrade and enjoyed the views of the pool and sea from your room.

As you experienced our beachfront location close to all the shops and activity in Karon, the quality of food at our resort, and choice of 5 swimming pools makes Thavorn Palm Beach a great value for money accommodation option for families.

I am sorry to hear you did not get to experience the kids room this time round, as with any hotel we need to carry out renovation works from time to time, but we would love for your family to come and try it out, perhaps on a future visit to Phuket?

On behalf of the team here at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, thank you again for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Karon

Thanks and regards,
Melissa Ah-Sing
(Marketing & Comms Mgr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 133 in Karon
1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavorn Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavorn Palm Beach Resort

Property: Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
Address: 311 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 Family Hotel in Karon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thavorn Palm Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Karon Beach at an unrivalled beachfront location, Thavorn Palm Beach Resort offers colonial style rooms set amidst lush, tropical gardens, 45 mins from Phuket International Airport, 10 mins from Patong Beach and close to major attractions. Having dedicated most of the extensive grounds to green areas, the peaceful grounds feel secluded, yet with local bars, restaurants and amenities within easy walking distance, you are never isolated and enjoy the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thavorn Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavorn Palm Beach Hotel Karon
Thavorn Palm Beach Karon
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing